If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
Is there any way to trigger poly without MIDI
7 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Is there any way to trigger poly without MIDI
I want to play sound without using MIDI. Is this possible?
- Attachments
-
- this.fsm
- (22.04 KiB) Downloaded 879 times
- Youlean
- Posts: 176
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 2:49 pm
Re: Is there any way to trigger poly without MIDI
Youlean wrote:Is this possible?
No it is not. However, the source of the midi may be internal (for example from midi event prim or ruby) and although you will actually input pitch and velocity as note parameters, those two values are just numbers - you may use them to transmit various numeric data (maybe to make each channel unique in some way).
For example look at Multivoice chorus I've made some time ago. I've made ruby module that creates given number of voices (up to 128). Each voice receives signal via mono to poly module and applies some effects to the signal. The note number is used to uniquely identify the voices, so each voice uses different parameters (delay, modulation speed, depth,...) that are read from parameter arrays.
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: Is there any way to trigger poly without MIDI
Oh, thats really sad. I was looking for this as green triggers could be not precise enough...
Thanks anyway...
Thanks anyway...
- Youlean
- Posts: 176
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 2:49 pm
Re: Is there any way to trigger poly without MIDI
Youlean wrote:Oh, thats really sad. I was looking for this as green triggers could be not precise enough... Thanks anyway...
You may combine ruby frames input to detect some events on stream (like transition from 0 to 1 in mono stream) and send midi at will with sample rate precision, however mono to frame requires buffering, so it will add one buffer length latency to your schematic.
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: Is there any way to trigger poly without MIDI
KG_is_back wrote:Youlean wrote:Oh, thats really sad. I was looking for this as green triggers could be not precise enough... Thanks anyway...
You may combine ruby frames input to detect some events on stream (like transition from 0 to 1 in mono stream) and send midi at will with sample rate precision, however mono to frame requires buffering, so it will add one buffer length latency to your schematic.
OK, can you help me with that as I am total ruby noob?
- Youlean
- Posts: 176
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 2:49 pm
Re: Is there any way to trigger poly without MIDI
Here you go. The ruby module receives frame input. Checks all values in the frame and when value is 1 schedules a note to be played index/samplerate fraction of second later.
- Attachments
-
- monoToMidi-Ruby.fsm
- (31.12 KiB) Downloaded 891 times
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: Is there any way to trigger poly without MIDI
KG_is_back wrote:Here you go. The ruby module receives frame input. Checks all values in the frame and when value is 1 schedules a note to be played index/samplerate fraction of second later.
Wow, this is really insane! Thanks for helping me out!
- Youlean
- Posts: 176
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 2:49 pm
7 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 45 guests