Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright

empty-line indexes and items removal - ruby

For general discussion related FlowStone

empty-line indexes and items removal - ruby

Postby tester » Fri Jan 15, 2016 10:45 pm

Two arrays scenario.

array 1 contains some empty lines:

a1
b1
[empty line]
[empty line]
e1
f1

array 2 is full.

a2
b2
c2
d2
e2
f2

both arrays are identical in size.

in ruby:

1) How to get a list of indexes of empty lines in array 1?

2) How to use the list of (these) indexes, to remove corresponding lines in array 2?

p.s.: still on FS 3.8.
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet

Re: empty-line indexes and items removal - ruby

Postby tulamide » Fri Jan 15, 2016 11:04 pm

There is no such thing as an empty line in an array. Every entry in an array is an object. But you could use the nil-object.

Then this is doing what you ask for:
Code: Select all
a1 = 1, 2, nil, nil, 5, 6
a2 = "a", "b", "c", "d", "e", "f"

a1.each.with_index {|v, i| if v == nil then a2[i] = nil end}

a2.compact!
#a2 is now ["a", "b", "e", "f"]
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
tulamide
 
Posts: 2714
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
Location: Germany

Re: empty-line indexes and items removal - ruby

Postby tester » Mon Jan 18, 2016 8:13 pm

Thanks, will check it.

BTW, nil or empty - depends on layer of reference. On GUI layer it's empty line, for programming language - it's nil.
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 69 guests