If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
Ruby: require 'randomsecure' - Problem
3 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Ruby: require 'randomsecure' - Problem
When I run the Ruby “require 'randomsecure' “ instruction in the Flowstone Ruby interpreter it does what it is supposed to do, but when I export the code in the attached schematic as an *.exe file, then the *.exe file does not function at all. It appears then that the “ require ‘randomsecure’ “ instruction does not find the “randomsecure.rb” file only when the schematic is exported as an *.exe, but why? The *.fsm file and the *.exe exported file as well as the “randomsecure.rb” file (also attached for convenience only) all stays in the exact same folders, nothing changed. The code in the schematic is part of another larger schematic I am working on.
- Attachments
-
- Unique Random Code Generator.rar
- (4.34 KiB) Downloaded 836 times
-
tiffy - Posts: 400
- Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 12:14 pm
Re: Ruby: require 'randomsecure' - Problem
I quote the user guide, chapter 8, section "Ruby Limitations", page 232:
So, in order to use them in a VST, you'd need to place the code from SecureRandom (and all dependencies that are outsourced) in RubyEdits and take care that they are initialized in the correct order. They are then included in the exported dll and should work as any code you enter in RubyEdits.
Of course, that only works with extensions or Gems that are written in Ruby. Precompiled ones won't.
Currently VST plugins generated by FlowStone cannot make use of Ruby extensions or Gems.
So, in order to use them in a VST, you'd need to place the code from SecureRandom (and all dependencies that are outsourced) in RubyEdits and take care that they are initialized in the correct order. They are then included in the exported dll and should work as any code you enter in RubyEdits.
Of course, that only works with extensions or Gems that are written in Ruby. Precompiled ones won't.
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Ruby: require 'randomsecure' - Problem
tulamide wrote:I quote the user guide, chapter 8, section "Ruby Limitations", page 232:Currently VST plugins generated by FlowStone cannot make use of Ruby extensions or Gems.
Thanks again tulamide, I surely missed this one in the userguide.
-
tiffy - Posts: 400
- Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 12:14 pm
3 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 82 guests