If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
Add to int array with ruby; how?
6 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Add to int array with ruby; how?
Hi all. A ruby question:
Seems like we have to use ruby to add each int value in a int array with a fixed number, because there is no "add to int array" primitive. lets say I have A given array like
3
4
2
3
and I would like to add 2 to each value and end up with
5
6
4
5
How it done with ruby, by using 2 inputs (one input for the array and one for the int value that added to each value in the array) and one int array output for the results?
Seems like we have to use ruby to add each int value in a int array with a fixed number, because there is no "add to int array" primitive. lets say I have A given array like
3
4
2
3
and I would like to add 2 to each value and end up with
5
6
4
5
How it done with ruby, by using 2 inputs (one input for the array and one for the int value that added to each value in the array) and one int array output for the results?
-
kortezzzz - Posts: 763
- Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:21 pm
Re: Add to int array with ruby; how?
assuming first input is the array and second input is the integer
- Code: Select all
output @ins[0].map!{|v| v+@ins[1]}
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: Add to int array with ruby; how?
I wouldn't use the altering version. Just "map" without "!" will do. You're outputting an array anyway so why bothering with the slower alteration of the original array?
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Add to int array with ruby; how?
tulamide wrote:I wouldn't use the altering version. Just "map" without "!" will do. You're outputting an array anyway so why bothering with the slower alteration of the original array?
the ! is in fact faster, because it does not allocate a second array - it just modifies the existing one element by element. The inputs and outputs inside ruby actually aren't directly usable by flowstone - flowstone converts them to green connectors on the way out and vice versa for the inputs. Using the ! version ensures that internally, the same array is in the @ins array and @outs array, saving memory and CPU. Although very marginally...
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: Add to int array with ruby; how?
KG_is_back wrote:tulamide wrote:I wouldn't use the altering version. Just "map" without "!" will do. You're outputting an array anyway so why bothering with the slower alteration of the original array?
the ! is in fact faster, because it does not allocate a second array - it just modifies the existing one element by element. The inputs and outputs inside ruby actually aren't directly usable by flowstone - flowstone converts them to green connectors on the way out and vice versa for the inputs. Using the ! version ensures that internally, the same array is in the @ins array and @outs array, saving memory and CPU. Although very marginally...
You're right! Since Flowstone doesn't allow for long iterations, I looked on the internet instead. Here is one example, where "merge" is used in both forms (I just learned the ! ones are called the bang! versions). Time is in seconds, array length is 10000, ten consecutive runs
- Code: Select all
user system total real
merge! 0.010000 0.000000 0.010000 ( 0.011370)
merge 17.710000 0.000000 17.710000 ( 17.840856)
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Add to int array with ruby; how?
Thanks KJ, but this ime tula's "no !" worked as expected
For some reason, when you add the "!" to the code, it saves older values and then add them with the new ones.
For some reason, when you add the "!" to the code, it saves older values and then add them with the new ones.
-
kortezzzz - Posts: 763
- Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:21 pm
6 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 64 guests