If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
Ruby sring module always saves preset as -1
10 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Ruby sring module always saves preset as -1
Hi,
Tried to feed string arrays into 2 of Trog's superstring modules and noticed a very strange behavior of the preset
manager:
The first module gets values from a static text array. The second is controlled by the first, but gets values from
3 arrays that change (by a selector).
The first module (that fed by a static array) works ok with presets and save their index values, but the second one saves always (-1) as an index value, no matter what I do.
Its really driving me crazy! how that possible? and why?
attached a schematic. In the big circle you will see the loaded preset value whenever a preset is loaded.
Thanks
Tried to feed string arrays into 2 of Trog's superstring modules and noticed a very strange behavior of the preset
manager:
The first module gets values from a static text array. The second is controlled by the first, but gets values from
3 arrays that change (by a selector).
The first module (that fed by a static array) works ok with presets and save their index values, but the second one saves always (-1) as an index value, no matter what I do.
Its really driving me crazy! how that possible? and why?
attached a schematic. In the big circle you will see the loaded preset value whenever a preset is loaded.
Thanks
- Attachments
-
- a super string module preset issue.fsm
- (14.88 KiB) Downloaded 1006 times
-
kortezzzz - Posts: 763
- Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:21 pm
Re: Ruby sring module always saves preset as -1
Works if "lock" is selected in PM.
BV MUSIC SYDNEY AUSTRALIA..Songwriting and Software development
Headquartershttps://www.bvmusicsydneyaustralia.com/
Spotifyhttps://open.spotify.com/artist/7JO8QM40mVmHb7pAwKPJi0
Donatationhttps://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=HEUR8R7K8GZ4L
Headquartershttps://www.bvmusicsydneyaustralia.com/
Spotifyhttps://open.spotify.com/artist/7JO8QM40mVmHb7pAwKPJi0
Donatationhttps://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=HEUR8R7K8GZ4L
- billv
- Posts: 1157
- Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:34 pm
- Location: Australia
Re: Ruby sring module always saves preset as -1
Thanks Billv,
It does works in my example schematic, but unfortunately, not in my original schematic. In my original one, i'm feeding text file names in to it, so i use an array of names that comes out of the "find file" primitive. The first selector works just fine (maybe because its driven by a static array?...). the second one is driven by dynamic array that chosen in real time by the selector that controlled by the first module. and it's not works, although the string preset module has to save only a single integer... it's always -1!
saved the preset to a file and opened it, and saw that the "string" parameter that should be shown under the "value" title is too close to the preset name. and its happen only with that module's preset. Have no idea how to fix it. Tried almost any possible solution and nothing.
It does works in my example schematic, but unfortunately, not in my original schematic. In my original one, i'm feeding text file names in to it, so i use an array of names that comes out of the "find file" primitive. The first selector works just fine (maybe because its driven by a static array?...). the second one is driven by dynamic array that chosen in real time by the selector that controlled by the first module. and it's not works, although the string preset module has to save only a single integer... it's always -1!
saved the preset to a file and opened it, and saw that the "string" parameter that should be shown under the "value" title is too close to the preset name. and its happen only with that module's preset. Have no idea how to fix it. Tried almost any possible solution and nothing.
-
kortezzzz - Posts: 763
- Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:21 pm
Re: Ruby sring module always saves preset as -1
kortezzzz wrote:Thanks Billv,
It does works in my example schematic, but unfortunately, not in my original schematic. In my original one, i'm feeding text file names in to it, so i use an array of names that comes out of the "find file" primitive. The first selector works just fine (maybe because its driven by a static array?...). the second one is driven by dynamic array that chosen in real time by the selector that controlled by the first module. and it's not works, although the string preset module has to save only a single integer... it's always -1!
saved the preset to a file and opened it, and saw that the "string" parameter that should be shown under the "value" title is too close to the preset name. and its happen only with that module's preset. Have no idea how to fix it. Tried almost any possible solution and nothing.
If it is an issue in a specific schematic only, chances are that it's just a slip. So you might ask one of the gurus that you trust for help by sending that schematic via pm?
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Ruby sring module always saves preset as -1
So you might ask one of the gurus that you trust for help by sending that schematic via pm?
Of course. Would love to get some help. If any of you, Gurus, are available, please PM me.
-
kortezzzz - Posts: 763
- Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:21 pm
Re: Ruby sring module always saves preset as -1
after the input data of the second module changes with programchange you need to unselect 'new data unselects' in the properties of the second module, when 'new data unselects' it is selected it will be set to -1 always when the input data changes.
-
Nubeat7 - Posts: 1347
- Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
- Location: Vienna
Re: Ruby sring module always saves preset as -1
you need to unselect 'new data unselects' in the properties of the second module, when 'new data unselects' it is selected it will be set to -1 always when the input data changes.
@Nubeat,
It works. Everywhere, except in my own project... (damn murphy low, I guess )
Something like that never happened to me before. something in my schematics refuses to store the given value into preset. What reasons would prevent the preset manager to save a simple 2 digits index value into a preset and keep returning always (-1) ??
Also have no idea whose fault it is; the preset manager? the string preset primitive? the superstring module (maybe it hates to be fed by dynamic arrays)?
-
kortezzzz - Posts: 763
- Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:21 pm
Re: Ruby sring module always saves preset as -1
If every hint works in a simple schematic but just not in your project, then you made an error somewhere. Two heads (or three or four or...) are better than one. But if you can't share your schematic, try what most developers do in such a situation: Strip down your schematic bit by bit in order to locate the trouble part in your schematic.
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Ruby sring module always saves preset as -1
Strip down your schematic bit by bit in order to locate the trouble part in your schematic.
Already did it. I have only one problematic part there. other then that, everything works. The problematic part is that ruby string module that refuses to keep it's preset index value.The problems starts and ends there. maybe the ruby module itself should be tweaked, who knows...
-
kortezzzz - Posts: 763
- Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:21 pm
Re: Ruby sring module always saves preset as -1
Finally, the problem is solved.
conclusions:
If you ever want to connect dynamic arrays to this module and make it save presets correctly, you should make sure you connect to it's string array input only a string array type output. Never send to it an array in string format (using the text primitive) or this module doesn't functions correctly with presets saving. oh, and make sure you turn on the "lock" in the preset manager properties as well.
Thanks to billv and especially Nubeat7 for helping. A new generation of gurus is rising here
conclusions:
If you ever want to connect dynamic arrays to this module and make it save presets correctly, you should make sure you connect to it's string array input only a string array type output. Never send to it an array in string format (using the text primitive) or this module doesn't functions correctly with presets saving. oh, and make sure you turn on the "lock" in the preset manager properties as well.
Thanks to billv and especially Nubeat7 for helping. A new generation of gurus is rising here
-
kortezzzz - Posts: 763
- Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:21 pm
10 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 57 guests