If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
Trigger Switch Issue
23 posts
• Page 1 of 3 • 1, 2, 3
Trigger Switch Issue
Please have a look at those two pictures:
trigger issue.png
trigger issue2.png
In the first one, index is set to 1, the corresponding trigger switch opens and the values pass through. In the second one, index is set to 2, and again the corresponding trigger switch opens and the values pass through.
That's the behavior I wanted.
But what you can also see is that in the second picture the trigger switch for index 1 is correctly closed (set to false) - and that's producing a trigger! It is breaking the purpose of the trigger switch. In my example I now get two coord pairs being set (the previous one because of the to-false-trigger, and the correct actual one).
Does anybody have an idea how I could prevent the coords being sent when the trigger switch is set to false (Maybe blocking the trigger in a way, that it doesn't disturb the already working circuit)?
trigger issue.png
trigger issue2.png
In the first one, index is set to 1, the corresponding trigger switch opens and the values pass through. In the second one, index is set to 2, and again the corresponding trigger switch opens and the values pass through.
That's the behavior I wanted.
But what you can also see is that in the second picture the trigger switch for index 1 is correctly closed (set to false) - and that's producing a trigger! It is breaking the purpose of the trigger switch. In my example I now get two coord pairs being set (the previous one because of the to-false-trigger, and the correct actual one).
Does anybody have an idea how I could prevent the coords being sent when the trigger switch is set to false (Maybe blocking the trigger in a way, that it doesn't disturb the already working circuit)?
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Trigger Switch Issue
tulamide wrote:Maybe blocking the trigger
You should get a result with the "trigger blocker" prim.
Trog wrote a great tutorial about it all that explains it all real well.
http://www.dsprobotics.com/support/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=292#p765
BV MUSIC SYDNEY AUSTRALIA..Songwriting and Software development
Headquartershttps://www.bvmusicsydneyaustralia.com/
Spotifyhttps://open.spotify.com/artist/7JO8QM40mVmHb7pAwKPJi0
Donatationhttps://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=HEUR8R7K8GZ4L
Headquartershttps://www.bvmusicsydneyaustralia.com/
Spotifyhttps://open.spotify.com/artist/7JO8QM40mVmHb7pAwKPJi0
Donatationhttps://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=HEUR8R7K8GZ4L
- billv
- Posts: 1157
- Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:34 pm
- Location: Australia
Re: Trigger Switch Issue
billv wrote:tulamide wrote:Maybe blocking the trigger
You should get a result with the "trigger blocker" prim.
Trog wrote a great tutorial about it all that explains it all real well.
http://www.dsprobotics.com/support/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=292#p765
Yes, that's a bible for me!
But in this case it's a special case. That's why my sentence was longer as you quoted As you can see, I already did my job right, no unneccessary triggers arrive at the input. But an additional one is created when switching the trigger switch to false! So, although the prims bool is false a trigger is sent forward. How the heck should I correct that error? I can't differentiate between correct and false triggers after the trigger switch (that's the reason why I use them, to prevent false triggers). It's a nightmare I'm struggling with for a week now. Have tried totally different circuits, other prims, it just doesn't work. And the one prim that was designed to prevent false triggers generates a false trigger itself!
So, I'm really desperate. If anyone can create a module that takes an index input from 0-3 and outputs the input coords to the correct two of 8 outputs, with the rule that only one index may sent triggers at any time - then please help me
Or if somebody could give a specific hint - I listen
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Trigger Switch Issue
Trigger switch is actually almost the same thing as trigger blocker, it allows triggers to go "passively" (some folks call them backward triggers). Anything after - may "suck" triggers and data through them so to speak.
Try to use one of these two solutions (sorry - typo; fixed); inverting bools you can handle on your own .
And see how it works.
Try to use one of these two solutions (sorry - typo; fixed); inverting bools you can handle on your own .
And see how it works.
- Attachments
-
- antisuck.fsm
- (392 Bytes) Downloaded 885 times
-
- suck.fsm
- (265 Bytes) Downloaded 919 times
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
- tester
- Posts: 1786
- Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
- Location: Poland, internet
Re: Trigger Switch Issue
tester wrote:Trigger switch is actually almost the same thing as trigger blocker, it allows triggers to go "passively" (some folks call them backward triggers). Anything after - may "suck" triggers and data through them so to speak.
Try to use one of these two solutions (sorry - typo; fixed); inverting bools you can handle on your own .
And see how it works.
Thanks, tester.
The main problem is, the values that are outputted are used to draw points. There's nothing connected to the outputs that will ask via backward triggers. That's why I can't use trigger blocker here (no asking from forward = nothing gets through). So it's important that the values are triggered, when needed. The trigger switch does it just as wanted - with the one exception that it sends 1 trigger when switching from true to false. That's also the only trigger I need to prevent from propagating forward. Without this trigger the points are drawn correctly. But with that bool to false trigger sent, two points are drawn at the same position, where one of these points loses its correct position. And if you do this game a few times, finally all four points are drawn at exactly the same (always the fourth) position. And all of that just because of ONE trigger sent erroneously...
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Trigger Switch Issue
@tester
You've got a pm
You've got a pm
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Trigger Switch Issue
I admit - I did not understand (and still don't). But when it comes to true/false triggers, it is possible to generate triggers and boolean states separately. Then everything becomes a matter of trigger order in the rest of the design. You can decide what to trigger first by using sample and hold prim to cascade triggers.
Problems will emerge only in ambiguous designs.
Hope this times it helps a little bit, because I'm not able to consume long texts and large schematics today.
Is what you looking for: index should open (0 to 1) comparators before x,y data arrives, but should close comparators (1 to 0) after data arrived? (or in opposite manner?)
Problems will emerge only in ambiguous designs.
Hope this times it helps a little bit, because I'm not able to consume long texts and large schematics today.
Is what you looking for: index should open (0 to 1) comparators before x,y data arrives, but should close comparators (1 to 0) after data arrived? (or in opposite manner?)
- Attachments
-
- separate-boolean-from-triggers.fsm
- (359 Bytes) Downloaded 933 times
Last edited by tester on Tue Sep 16, 2014 9:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
- tester
- Posts: 1786
- Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
- Location: Poland, internet
Re: Trigger Switch Issue
S+hold the trigger blocker and trigger it via
bool to true. Should prevent that exception.
bool to true. Should prevent that exception.
BV MUSIC SYDNEY AUSTRALIA..Songwriting and Software development
Headquartershttps://www.bvmusicsydneyaustralia.com/
Spotifyhttps://open.spotify.com/artist/7JO8QM40mVmHb7pAwKPJi0
Donatationhttps://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=HEUR8R7K8GZ4L
Headquartershttps://www.bvmusicsydneyaustralia.com/
Spotifyhttps://open.spotify.com/artist/7JO8QM40mVmHb7pAwKPJi0
Donatationhttps://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=HEUR8R7K8GZ4L
- billv
- Posts: 1157
- Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:34 pm
- Location: Australia
Re: Trigger Switch Issue
tester wrote:Is what you looking for: index should open (0 to 1) comparators before x,y data arrives, but should close comparators (1 to 0) after data arrived? (or in opposite manner?)
index should open before data arrives and close the path before data arrives. That's what it's doing when using the trigger switch (except for ..., well you know )
billv wrote:S+hold the trigger blocker and trigger it via
bool to true. Should prevent that exception.
I tried that. Maybe I've built it wrong, but now even the true value doesn't get through
I'm close to giving up. So I will post the whole schematic (with the changes made that billv proposed). Don't bother downloading if you don't want to help. It isn't working yet, and as soon as it is working, I will post it on the forums anyway
- Attachments
-
- trigger issue.fsm
- (12.76 KiB) Downloaded 892 times
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Trigger Switch Issue
Not at my cpu...will check later...
BV MUSIC SYDNEY AUSTRALIA..Songwriting and Software development
Headquartershttps://www.bvmusicsydneyaustralia.com/
Spotifyhttps://open.spotify.com/artist/7JO8QM40mVmHb7pAwKPJi0
Donatationhttps://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=HEUR8R7K8GZ4L
Headquartershttps://www.bvmusicsydneyaustralia.com/
Spotifyhttps://open.spotify.com/artist/7JO8QM40mVmHb7pAwKPJi0
Donatationhttps://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=HEUR8R7K8GZ4L
- billv
- Posts: 1157
- Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:34 pm
- Location: Australia
23 posts
• Page 1 of 3 • 1, 2, 3
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 62 guests