If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
My VST Makes Click Noises inside the DAW...
5 posts
• Page 1 of 1
My VST Makes Click Noises inside the DAW...
Hi all.
I created a sort of plugin that changes the filter cutoff with every note(played in the melody).
For some reason it creates clicks when the vst affects the audio in real-time although if I bounce/freeze the track the vst works just fine with no clicks.
The clicks appear exactly with the beginning of each new note.
Tried with Sonar X2(that converts 32 to 64 by itself)
and also ableton after converting the .dll with jBridge
Does anyone know what might be causing this?
I created a sort of plugin that changes the filter cutoff with every note(played in the melody).
For some reason it creates clicks when the vst affects the audio in real-time although if I bounce/freeze the track the vst works just fine with no clicks.
The clicks appear exactly with the beginning of each new note.
Tried with Sonar X2(that converts 32 to 64 by itself)
and also ableton after converting the .dll with jBridge
Does anyone know what might be causing this?
- zoobooboozoo
- Posts: 32
- Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 12:14 pm
Re: My VST Makes Click Noises inside the DAW...
my bets are:
1.hight CPU load when new notes are played - check your CPU meter if it jumps drastically on new note.
2.green/mono sync problem. Do you calculate something based on midi notes in green? green and stream data happen on different threads - when you do calculations in green they will have an effect on mono/streams in next buffer. Offline calculations do not use buffers, so the effect may be instantaneous. ->problem only in real time
3. new midi note causes the schematic to recompile - do you use any "clear audio" or "selector" primitives?
1.hight CPU load when new notes are played - check your CPU meter if it jumps drastically on new note.
2.green/mono sync problem. Do you calculate something based on midi notes in green? green and stream data happen on different threads - when you do calculations in green they will have an effect on mono/streams in next buffer. Offline calculations do not use buffers, so the effect may be instantaneous. ->problem only in real time
3. new midi note causes the schematic to recompile - do you use any "clear audio" or "selector" primitives?
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: My VST Makes Click Noises inside the DAW...
Regarding 2:
There are 2 ruby modules doing calculations. one "translates" the midi notes to values for the filter and the other does some pre-calculations that the DSP code of the filter can't do. There's (obviously?) green routing but no green calculations.
what can I do to prevent this from happening assuming your 2 suggestion is true? what if I "1 sample delay" the floats coming out of the ruby modules?
EDIT:I should also mention that this doesn't really happen inside FS
There are 2 ruby modules doing calculations. one "translates" the midi notes to values for the filter and the other does some pre-calculations that the DSP code of the filter can't do. There's (obviously?) green routing but no green calculations.
what can I do to prevent this from happening assuming your 2 suggestion is true? what if I "1 sample delay" the floats coming out of the ruby modules?
EDIT:I should also mention that this doesn't really happen inside FS
- zoobooboozoo
- Posts: 32
- Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 12:14 pm
Re: My VST Makes Click Noises inside the DAW...
zoobooboozoo wrote:Regarding 2:
There are 2 ruby modules doing calculations. one "translates" the midi notes to values for the filter and the other does some pre-calculations that the DSP code of the filter can't do. There's (obviously?) green routing but no green calculations.
what can I do to prevent this from happening assuming your 2 suggestion is true? what if I "1 sample delay" the floats coming out of the ruby modules?
EDIT:I should also mention that this doesn't really happen inside FS
Route date between RUBY components via red value connector (using green conectors to connect ruby is inefficient, because FS has to convert form ruby to green and back for every connector you do that - ruby and green are on separate threads). To input ruby data into stream directly you may use frame to mono - it is a little more complicated.
The fact that it doesn't happen inside FS is weird. perhaps some fishy thread management is happening inside DAW.
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: My VST Makes Click Noises inside the DAW...
there's is one ruby module that is in the midi cc module that sends out values between 0-1 according to some calculations of the noes being played. the midi cc gets the last value of either the knob controlling the cutoff are the values of the ruby module(using a last switch).
later on in the code...
my filter is built so that there are 3 values streaming from a ruby module into the DSP with a de zipper for every connection.
what's the best way to go here?
also, it's a cascade filter. so I have 5 of this coneected in a row. should I put them all in one module and have one ruby module calc the 3 values for all the filters?
later on in the code...
my filter is built so that there are 3 values streaming from a ruby module into the DSP with a de zipper for every connection.
what's the best way to go here?
also, it's a cascade filter. so I have 5 of this coneected in a row. should I put them all in one module and have one ruby module calc the 3 values for all the filters?
- zoobooboozoo
- Posts: 32
- Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 12:14 pm
5 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 98 guests