If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
Transition between float values in Ruby
16 posts
• Page 1 of 2 • 1, 2
Transition between float values in Ruby
Hello everyone
Is there a way to make a cool transition (approximately 40 ms) between the float array values within the Ruby
I've used "Slide" to do that but the transition is not like what I want.
I have an array with 36 different values and each float will change with a menu.
Sincerely
Is there a way to make a cool transition (approximately 40 ms) between the float array values within the Ruby
I've used "Slide" to do that but the transition is not like what I want.
I have an array with 36 different values and each float will change with a menu.
Sincerely
-
remarkable - Posts: 26
- Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:52 pm
Re: Transition between float values in Ruby
Only a simple volume fade in effect can solve my problem.
An envelope that can be triggered with a menu (index). Everytime menu selects an item, it will trig the envelope's only attack parameter (that will give 30 ms fade in effect)
Can anyone help?
An envelope that can be triggered with a menu (index). Everytime menu selects an item, it will trig the envelope's only attack parameter (that will give 30 ms fade in effect)
Can anyone help?
-
remarkable - Posts: 26
- Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:52 pm
Re: Transition between float values in Ruby
if you need the stransition in stream just use the de-zipper...
to do it in green also use the dezipper and then the mono to float primitive to read out the stream...
to do it in green also use the dezipper and then the mono to float primitive to read out the stream...
-
Nubeat7 - Posts: 1347
- Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
- Location: Vienna
Re: Transition between float values in Ruby
I know de-zipper it's for float to stream transition.
Actually I've made a EQ curve menu. I pt an eq and each time menu selects an item, automatically eq is settled to the float values that I've defined. So eact time float values are changed, there is a disturbing CLICK sound. First I thought that I can get rid of this CLICK sound, with a transition with float to float (not de-zipper). But it didn't work.
I think I need an envelope. this click sound only happens when an item is selected, it makes click sound one time at the begining.
Actually I've made a EQ curve menu. I pt an eq and each time menu selects an item, automatically eq is settled to the float values that I've defined. So eact time float values are changed, there is a disturbing CLICK sound. First I thought that I can get rid of this CLICK sound, with a transition with float to float (not de-zipper). But it didn't work.
I think I need an envelope. this click sound only happens when an item is selected, it makes click sound one time at the begining.
-
remarkable - Posts: 26
- Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:52 pm
Re: Transition between float values in Ruby
remarkable wrote:... this click sound only happens when an item is selected, it makes click sound one time at the begining.
Hi remarkable
It would help if you could upload your schematic so we could maybe help better...
Cheers
Spogg
-
Spogg - Posts: 3358
- Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:24 pm
- Location: Birmingham, England
Re: Transition between float values in Ruby
Hello Spogg,
This is the schematic.
Thank you...
This is the schematic.
Thank you...
- Attachments
-
- EQ Floats.fsm
- (951.41 KiB) Downloaded 897 times
-
remarkable - Posts: 26
- Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:52 pm
Re: Transition between float values in Ruby
Well I’ve been able to sort something out for you!
I don’t really understand filters but I do know that when you change lots of parameters in green the timing is not well defined. This means that not all the filter parameters may be updated in one go. This in turn means that you may have illegal or unwanted states for your filters during the transition from one array to the next. In addition, just slowing the rate of change of green parameters will not help, as you discovered, because you will still get these undesired states at times. This unpredictability is why you say to keep trying because it doesn’t happen every time you switch arrays.
So, I removed your green de-zippers and created a smooth gating module. Also I put a delay on the index change for the selector so the output would drop before the array changed. This seems to work every time and you can tweak the settings as you wish.
If Martin is looking in he may be able to clarify the filter parameter issues better, or may even have a more elegant solution, but for now this at least works
.
Also I’ve included Martin’s output clipper which is always a good thing to include, especially for some sound cards.
BTW I like the idea behind this project so I hope it goes well.
Cheers
Spogg
I don’t really understand filters but I do know that when you change lots of parameters in green the timing is not well defined. This means that not all the filter parameters may be updated in one go. This in turn means that you may have illegal or unwanted states for your filters during the transition from one array to the next. In addition, just slowing the rate of change of green parameters will not help, as you discovered, because you will still get these undesired states at times. This unpredictability is why you say to keep trying because it doesn’t happen every time you switch arrays.
So, I removed your green de-zippers and created a smooth gating module. Also I put a delay on the index change for the selector so the output would drop before the array changed. This seems to work every time and you can tweak the settings as you wish.
If Martin is looking in he may be able to clarify the filter parameter issues better, or may even have a more elegant solution, but for now this at least works
.
Also I’ve included Martin’s output clipper which is always a good thing to include, especially for some sound cards.
BTW I like the idea behind this project so I hope it goes well.
Cheers
Spogg
- Attachments
-
- EQ Floats -Spogged.zip
- (949.72 KiB) Downloaded 1004 times
-
Spogg - Posts: 3358
- Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:24 pm
- Location: Birmingham, England
Re: Transition between float values in Ruby
Spogg,
Thak you very much, you are amazing. It solved my problem, thank you so much again...
Best regards
Thak you very much, you are amazing. It solved my problem, thank you so much again...
Best regards
-
remarkable - Posts: 26
- Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:52 pm
Re: Transition between float values in Ruby
Hi, I made a version where you do not have to modulate the amplitude, check it out!!
- Attachments
-
- EQ Floats (Wassaka Fix).fsm
- (950.33 KiB) Downloaded 881 times
- Wassaka
- Posts: 85
- Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 3:41 am
Re: Transition between float values in Ruby
Wassaka wrote:Hi, I made a version where you do not have to modulate the amplitude, check it out!!
Excellent alternative, using different filters
However I note that the original (with my fix) shows 1.2% CPU but yours shows 3.0 % CPU. So I guess that's the price needed to avoid the dip in volume and it'll be up to Mr. Remarkable to make his choice.
Cheers
Spogg
-
Spogg - Posts: 3358
- Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:24 pm
- Location: Birmingham, England
16 posts
• Page 1 of 2 • 1, 2
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 68 guests