If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
Audio click/pop using selector & filters
9 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Audio click/pop using selector & filters
Hey all, I have noticed a click in the audio when using a selector with a filter. The selector chooses the filters 'pole' which in my case is another filter. . . .
6dB = one filter
12dB = two filters (serial)
ect
so I understand that when the selector changes to either stream there will be a difference in the audio (naturally from the second filter) but how can I get around this?
I have thought about using a counter to trigger when the selectors index changes. This counter multiplys the stream from 0-1 so when you change the pole, it ramps up the audio from 0-1. but then the audio will drop when I ramp it up!
lol, I dont know if anyone has a work around? or if I have missed something?
Have a look at a quick fsm:
Has anyone used a pole select in their projects? Did you use a selector like this?
6dB = one filter
12dB = two filters (serial)
ect
so I understand that when the selector changes to either stream there will be a difference in the audio (naturally from the second filter) but how can I get around this?
I have thought about using a counter to trigger when the selectors index changes. This counter multiplys the stream from 0-1 so when you change the pole, it ramps up the audio from 0-1. but then the audio will drop when I ramp it up!
lol, I dont know if anyone has a work around? or if I have missed something?
Have a look at a quick fsm:
Has anyone used a pole select in their projects? Did you use a selector like this?
- Drnkhobo
- Posts: 312
- Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 7:13 pm
- Location: ZA
Re: Audio click/pop using selector & filters
Hi
The selector recompile the schematic on change, so use multiply instead should work.
If it still pop, use de-zip between green and stream.
The selector recompile the schematic on change, so use multiply instead should work.
If it still pop, use de-zip between green and stream.
- Morph
- Posts: 53
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 1:59 pm
Re: Audio click/pop using selector & filters
Nice work around Morph! Thanks mate
Dont know why I never thought to multiply the streams beforehand!
Just saw in the RBJ filter dsp module a line like this
Anyone know what the "|" is for???
Dont know why I never thought to multiply the streams beforehand!
Just saw in the RBJ filter dsp module a line like this
- Code: Select all
stage(0)
{
abs = 3.4e38|0.999999|0.1;
}
Anyone know what the "|" is for???
- Drnkhobo
- Posts: 312
- Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 7:13 pm
- Location: ZA
Re: Audio click/pop using selector & filters
Drnkhobo wrote:Anyone know what the "|" is for???
"Or".
- Morph
- Posts: 53
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 1:59 pm
Re: Audio click/pop using selector & filters
one of the things which is not to find in the user guide!
-
Nubeat7 - Posts: 1347
- Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
- Location: Vienna
Re: Audio click/pop using selector & filters
Guys, i dont understand that . . .
the code is telling me that abs is equal to: 3.4e38|0.999999|0.1
so where does the OR operator compare? And to what? BOOL?
I know that the purpose of this line is to assign abs a value of either one of those but i dont get how its doing it.
I have/had the understanding that the OR compares two values & outputs 0/1 depending on if any are true . . .
Hang on, is this actually saying that abs equals 1 if 3.4e38 or 0.999999 or 0.1 ????
the code is telling me that abs is equal to: 3.4e38|0.999999|0.1
so where does the OR operator compare? And to what? BOOL?
I know that the purpose of this line is to assign abs a value of either one of those but i dont get how its doing it.
I have/had the understanding that the OR compares two values & outputs 0/1 depending on if any are true . . .
Hang on, is this actually saying that abs equals 1 if 3.4e38 or 0.999999 or 0.1 ????
- Drnkhobo
- Posts: 312
- Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 7:13 pm
- Location: ZA
Re: Audio click/pop using selector & filters
It is float number voodoo black magic!
The result of the OR line is a special value used for creating an ABS function elsewhere in the code...
That's basically right, but in code (not 'green'), AND and OR work along the bits in each number, and'ing and or'ing things one bit at a time - so bit 0 of the output comes from bit 0 of each input value, and so on...
When you do a comparison in code, the result is a value with either ALL of the bits on (true), or ALL of the bits OFF false) - different than the simple 0/1 of 'green'. And that gives us the familiar behaviour of comparisons in code, where "TRUE & x = x" and "FALSE & x = 0".
However if you start AND'ing and OR'ing other number combinations, things get a little more, erm, "interesting"...
A float number has 32bits (well, not always, but it does in FS) - and the very last of them is the sign-bit that says whether a number is positive or negative - when that bit is ON, the number is negative.
So to get the ABS of a float number, you could just make sure that the sign bit is off - the other bits would stay the same, and abracadabra, we would always have a positive number. Hmm, but how?
Well, there is a way using a bitmask - you just need a number with all of the bits set to ON except for the sign-bit. You then do an AND (&) operation (which works one bit at a time), to get a result something like this...
0 1111111111111111111111111111111 (Special bitmask)
AND
1 xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx (A negative number because the sign bit is ON)
EQUALS
0 xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx (the same number but positive)
And somewhere in your code, i bet you will find exactly that... "answer = some_value & abs".
But there's a problem here; the bit 'pattern' in that special bitmask doesn't actually represent any particular float number that you could just write down in code - if you send 'abs' to a stream out and look at it with a readout, it will say "#.QNAN", the error message for "Not A Number".
However, like the AND '&' operator, the OR '|' also works one bit at a time - and by OR'ing those particular three numbers together, you can create exactly the bit pattern that you need for the ABS bitmask.
I first saw that very early on in my SM days, and I have no idea who worked it out - but it is a mighty fine bit of hacking, because doing "& abs" takes way less CPU than the usual ways of making an ABS() function.
The result of the OR line is a special value used for creating an ABS function elsewhere in the code...
Drnkhobo wrote:I have/had the understanding that the OR compares two values & outputs 0/1 depending on if any are true . . .
That's basically right, but in code (not 'green'), AND and OR work along the bits in each number, and'ing and or'ing things one bit at a time - so bit 0 of the output comes from bit 0 of each input value, and so on...
When you do a comparison in code, the result is a value with either ALL of the bits on (true), or ALL of the bits OFF false) - different than the simple 0/1 of 'green'. And that gives us the familiar behaviour of comparisons in code, where "TRUE & x = x" and "FALSE & x = 0".
However if you start AND'ing and OR'ing other number combinations, things get a little more, erm, "interesting"...
A float number has 32bits (well, not always, but it does in FS) - and the very last of them is the sign-bit that says whether a number is positive or negative - when that bit is ON, the number is negative.
So to get the ABS of a float number, you could just make sure that the sign bit is off - the other bits would stay the same, and abracadabra, we would always have a positive number. Hmm, but how?
Well, there is a way using a bitmask - you just need a number with all of the bits set to ON except for the sign-bit. You then do an AND (&) operation (which works one bit at a time), to get a result something like this...
0 1111111111111111111111111111111 (Special bitmask)
AND
1 xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx (A negative number because the sign bit is ON)
EQUALS
0 xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx (the same number but positive)
And somewhere in your code, i bet you will find exactly that... "answer = some_value & abs".
But there's a problem here; the bit 'pattern' in that special bitmask doesn't actually represent any particular float number that you could just write down in code - if you send 'abs' to a stream out and look at it with a readout, it will say "#.QNAN", the error message for "Not A Number".
However, like the AND '&' operator, the OR '|' also works one bit at a time - and by OR'ing those particular three numbers together, you can create exactly the bit pattern that you need for the ABS bitmask.
I first saw that very early on in my SM days, and I have no idea who worked it out - but it is a mighty fine bit of hacking, because doing "& abs" takes way less CPU than the usual ways of making an ABS() function.
All schematics/modules I post are free for all to use - but a credit is always polite!
Don't stagnate, mutate to create!
Don't stagnate, mutate to create!
-
trogluddite - Posts: 1730
- Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 12:46 am
- Location: Yorkshire, UK
Re: Audio click/pop using selector & filters
Thanks a million Trog, you do know your stuff! LOL experience I guess!
Its still quite tricky!
- Code: Select all
out = ((out&abs) > 1e-11)&out;
there's that & !!!!!
Its quite a clever trick
- Drnkhobo
- Posts: 312
- Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 7:13 pm
- Location: ZA
-
MyCo - Posts: 718
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:33 pm
- Location: Germany
9 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 85 guests