Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright

sample and hold - blue equivalent

For general discussion related FlowStone

sample and hold - blue equivalent

Postby tester » Fri Aug 23, 2013 11:36 am

Having little break from some areas of FS, I'm stuck with one thing. I need simple "sample and hold" module, but blue (stream based) equivalent, i.e. one that sends out a snapshot of incoming stream when "trigger" is received. As for triggering, I guess this latching should be reaction to simple boolean (i.e. between two values) switch (will this work for both - streamy and green switching?). Can someone help?
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet

Re: sample and hold - blue equivalent

Postby chackl » Fri Aug 23, 2013 11:40 am

I think there is not such a module - and it is not possible because streams are not trigger-based.

What about using the stream-to-float or stream to array module - and then puting this float falue back to stream.

Regards
100% accuracy is the guarantee to your success. The value alters if you combine it with musical creativity.
User avatar
chackl
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 8:46 pm
Location: Austria / Salzburg

Re: sample and hold - blue equivalent

Postby tester » Fri Aug 23, 2013 11:53 am

I'm sure @chackl you are wrong. It's doable in code/ASM, but my head is empty for codework (I'm stuck with green data right now) and this one is beyond my skills I guess. But from what I can tell - there will be probably some sort of conversion from a->b switch into 1-sample impulse, and during that impulse (short "on" so to speak) - input value would be copied and latched on the output. I guess MyCo should know such sort of stuff.

I don't want to convert blue to green and back, because this will require green tick, and these things don't work too well when rendering in DAW (besides they would create too much unnecessary triggers wandering around, and this would interfere with other green parts).
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet

Re: sample and hold - blue equivalent

Postby chackl » Fri Aug 23, 2013 12:08 pm

Well ok just tell :D
A Stream hase no trigger - you just are able to emulate a trigger by getting somethin from 0 to 1 or from ture to false or something other ;) (as you told)

But i also can write those codes :D - well it is some time ago that i have done it bit here we are :D
i would do that like that:
Code: Select all
streamin in;
streamin check;
streamout out;

out = in & (check==1) + out & (check==0);
check = 0;


If the value "check" is 1 it will take the aktual sample from "in" to "out"
check will get resetet after getting the sample - so you do not need to set it back manual.

Regards :D
100% accuracy is the guarantee to your success. The value alters if you combine it with musical creativity.
User avatar
chackl
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 8:46 pm
Location: Austria / Salzburg

Re: sample and hold - blue equivalent

Postby MyCo » Fri Aug 23, 2013 12:10 pm

But you shouldn't use it on accurate streams, especially don't use it for rendering.

Edit: wasn't fast enough
Attachments
Blue S&H (MyCo).fsm
(1.19 KiB) Downloaded 855 times
User avatar
MyCo
 
Posts: 718
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: sample and hold - blue equivalent

Postby tester » Fri Aug 23, 2013 12:34 pm

Thanks for quick responses. You were faster than my dinner :-)

Generally the concept here is not thought to be "sample accurate", but "just renderable" (plus live jamming on first place). From the past I remember, that DAWs don't render things if green triggers are involved in syncing, thus - a lot of modules (SM age) I had to convert into blue modes in order to make them work.

The old jamming module I used is attached below if someone needs it. You provide "offline" values (randomized or manual) and trigger the transition if needed. With blue S&H - it can be arranged in new ways.
Attachments
jamming-old.fsm
(505 Bytes) Downloaded 866 times
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 55 guests