Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright

Input names in Ruby code?

For general discussion related FlowStone

Input names in Ruby code?

Postby strangeChild » Sat Nov 16, 2013 6:23 pm

User Guide wrote:It's useful to be able to name connectors, not only for readability (so it's clear what the data represents)
but also because in the case of input connectors the label can be used within your Ruby code as a
variable or as a reference to an input.

That made perfect sense when I red it the first time... but now I'm trying to learn from existing code in stock modules and I've come across something perplexing.

Inside the toggle switch module is some code that stores/changes the Boolean state of the switch and displays part of a gif strip.

One of the connectors is labeled 'setState' and it is clearly the Boolean input where the switch gets set by the preset.

So looking in the code I expect to see it as '@setState' but instead a variable '@on' seems to be there in the role.

So I wonder what happens when you change input names and I found I could change all the input names and the code will still work. So I'm wondering what the actual mechanism for defining input names is.

Can anyone clear up my confusion on this?
strangeChild
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 8:04 pm

Re: Input names in Ruby code?

Postby Nubeat7 » Sat Nov 16, 2013 8:10 pm

it is only used in the event methode and compares the input with the @on variable
Code: Select all
def event i,v
   if i==2
      if @on != v
         @on = v
         output 0,@on
      end
   end
   redraw 0
end

it means if i==2 (input ==2)

then compare if @on is not v (value)
so if is not the value at i2
@on takes the value from i2(input 2)

you could also write
Code: Select all
def event i,v
   if i=='setState'
      if @on != v
         @on = v
         output 0,@on
      end
   end
   redraw 0
end

like this it is more clear...

i think the switch is a bit "old" and was done before this feature of using the input names like this (i think its since the last version or the one before)

but yes its a bit confusing you also could write
Code: Select all
def event i,v
  if i == 'setState'
    @on = @setState
    output @on
  end
  redraw
end

like this there is no extracomparing with the @on variable and it always sets @on to the @setState value when a trigger comes in..
i dont really know which difference this makes because the redraw is done anyway?
User avatar
Nubeat7
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Vienna

Re: Input names in Ruby code?

Postby strangeChild » Sun Nov 17, 2013 1:25 am

Thanks... while I still don't understand everything about what's going on at least I know where to look.
strangeChild
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 8:04 pm


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 63 guests