If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
Combining poly streams in parallel
6 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Combining poly streams in parallel
Repurposing thread.
I want to run data from a mono to poly component on it's own poly voice while also adding additional voices on top of it with MIDI notes. The problem is when I wire the mono to poly and the MIDI to poly in together, the values add together rather than existing independently. Is there some way I can get this to work? The data from the mono to poly changes over time, so I can't simply send a value through a MIDI event.
I know v. 3.0.5 brought accessible ID's for each poly stream, though I'm still on 3.0.4. Still, can that be used to filter for a specific ID and then have a certain behavior applied to that voice of the poly stream?
_______Original post:___________________________________
Is there any way to open a poly stream without sending actual MIDI notes?
For my latest project I had the crazy idea of making it function as an effect while also optionally being playable with MIDI notes. I can wire it up in blue, and I can wire it in poly, but not sure yet how I can make it switch between, or do both. I have a mono to poly module that someone made, which is pretty neat, but as you know it won't do anything unless there's an existing poly stream open, and the only way I know how to do that is via MIDI to Poly.
If there was some way I could open a single poly "voice" continuously and run converted mono stuff through it while also being able to "play" the other voices via MIDI notes at will, that would be amazing.
I want to run data from a mono to poly component on it's own poly voice while also adding additional voices on top of it with MIDI notes. The problem is when I wire the mono to poly and the MIDI to poly in together, the values add together rather than existing independently. Is there some way I can get this to work? The data from the mono to poly changes over time, so I can't simply send a value through a MIDI event.
I know v. 3.0.5 brought accessible ID's for each poly stream, though I'm still on 3.0.4. Still, can that be used to filter for a specific ID and then have a certain behavior applied to that voice of the poly stream?
_______Original post:___________________________________
Is there any way to open a poly stream without sending actual MIDI notes?
For my latest project I had the crazy idea of making it function as an effect while also optionally being playable with MIDI notes. I can wire it up in blue, and I can wire it in poly, but not sure yet how I can make it switch between, or do both. I have a mono to poly module that someone made, which is pretty neat, but as you know it won't do anything unless there's an existing poly stream open, and the only way I know how to do that is via MIDI to Poly.
If there was some way I could open a single poly "voice" continuously and run converted mono stuff through it while also being able to "play" the other voices via MIDI notes at will, that would be amazing.
Last edited by Perfect Human Interface on Mon Feb 23, 2015 8:16 am, edited 3 times in total.
- Perfect Human Interface
- Posts: 643
- Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm
Re: Poly without MIDI?
Is it possible? well, yes and no... Voices may only be initialized by midi-to-poly component. However, midi doesn't have to go from external source. Midi signal may also be send from "midi event" prim or from Ruby.
also check this post: http://dsprobotics.com/support/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2828
also check this post: http://dsprobotics.com/support/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2828
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: Poly without MIDI?
Oh, I should have searched! Thanks
- Perfect Human Interface
- Posts: 643
- Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm
Re: Combining poly streams in parallel
I've updated the original post with a different question. Thanks in advance
- Perfect Human Interface
- Posts: 643
- Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm
Re: Combining poly streams in parallel
So basically what you need is this?:
One (or more) channel is initiated internally (via midi event or ruby) and you what those voices to use the mono to poly input.
additional voices (initiated by midi input) should ignore the mono to poly input (and use some different processing or something).
The way you can do it is, to use such note pitch or velocity for the first channel, that will surely be never used by midi input. For example this code outputs "default" pitch when input pitch is 0 (which is very unlikely to be used by midi in from keyboard) and also switches between two "modulation sources".
One (or more) channel is initiated internally (via midi event or ruby) and you what those voices to use the mono to poly input.
additional voices (initiated by midi input) should ignore the mono to poly input (and use some different processing or something).
The way you can do it is, to use such note pitch or velocity for the first channel, that will surely be never used by midi input. For example this code outputs "default" pitch when input pitch is 0 (which is very unlikely to be used by midi in from keyboard) and also switches between two "modulation sources".
- Code: Select all
streamin pitch; //the pitch fom midi to poly component
streamin defaultPitch; //connect some default value to this
streamin mod1;
streamin mod2;
streamout outPitch;
streamout outMod;
float default,notDefault;
default=pitch==0;
notDefault=pitch!=0;
//note: for pitch variable "¬Default" is unnecessary since it is already 0 when notDefault is false;
outPitch=pitch¬Default + defaultPitch&default;
outMod=mod1¬Default + mod2&default;
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: Combining poly streams in parallel
Ah, great, I've got it now! I didn't need the "defaultPitch" input on your code block, just to check for pitch == 0 and then output one (frequency in Hz) signal or the other, then use MIDI Event to send note pitch 0 into the MIDI to Poly. Now I can send notes and another independent frequency value through poly on separate voices simultaneously (awesome!). I just wasn't wrapping my head around the poly logic; instead of trying to wire the signals together (which adds the values) I needed to run it through logic and have each stream figure out their response to that logic independently, then output "one or the other" (which actually outputs both, since again they're independent streams).
Huge thanks KG!
I modified the code to this:
Huge thanks KG!
I modified the code to this:
- Code: Select all
streamin pitch; //the pitch fom midi to poly component
streamin input1;
streamin input2;
streamout output;
output=input1&(pitch==0) + input2&(pitch!=0);
- Perfect Human Interface
- Posts: 643
- Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm
6 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 74 guests