If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
DUPLICATES - SAVE RAM???
3 posts
• Page 1 of 1
DUPLICATES - SAVE RAM???
Here I have a topic, which could be a VERY IMPORTANT question for EVERYONE here:
HOW can I create VST's the way that DAWs do recognize them as duplicates and don't create always NEW memory for a copied VST-instance???
So I made a plugIn with 30mb and I use it 60+ times (which happens really often in orchestral mixing) in Cubase then it takes +1800MB !!! of RAM.
With C++ -made PlugIns there isn't that problem: One has 28MB RAM and if I use many of it then Cubase stays at +28MB.
Is there any way to accomplish that important issue in Flowstone?
Thanks!!!
HOW can I create VST's the way that DAWs do recognize them as duplicates and don't create always NEW memory for a copied VST-instance???
So I made a plugIn with 30mb and I use it 60+ times (which happens really often in orchestral mixing) in Cubase then it takes +1800MB !!! of RAM.
With C++ -made PlugIns there isn't that problem: One has 28MB RAM and if I use many of it then Cubase stays at +28MB.
Is there any way to accomplish that important issue in Flowstone?
Thanks!!!
- Clemens W
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 2:11 pm
Re: DUPLICATES - SAVE RAM???
This is a very hard question. Most memory data is expected to be specific for each plugin (for example each delay plugin needs its own buffer to store audio). You could save certain data types in class variables or as constants in ruby and they should be shared among individual instances of the plugin. That may be harder to implement than it seems. For example you could store wavetables in frames in ruby, but it's hard to use them (I tried to make custom wave array module but it has proven to be very unstable).
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: DUPLICATES - SAVE RAM???
Ok I have an Idea now: EXTERNAL DLL's
If I separate those RAM-consuming segments into an external dll, then maybe it could work, that I save RAM while duplicating.
Bitmaps could be stored in a external flowstone-created dll which then could be accessed on demand (audioprocessing modules or bitmaps, whatever). I don't care if I would create a dozen dll's for that - performance wins.
Has anyone maybe tried that out?
If I separate those RAM-consuming segments into an external dll, then maybe it could work, that I save RAM while duplicating.
Bitmaps could be stored in a external flowstone-created dll which then could be accessed on demand (audioprocessing modules or bitmaps, whatever). I don't care if I would create a dozen dll's for that - performance wins.
Has anyone maybe tried that out?
- Clemens W
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 2:11 pm
3 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 52 guests