If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
Using OSC? Is it possible?
5 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Using OSC? Is it possible?
Hello there, everyone,
I am simply wondering, because I have a few controllers that send data through the Open Sound Control(OSC) protocol. Is there a way right now in FlowStone to catch and use these values?
I am simply wondering, because I have a few controllers that send data through the Open Sound Control(OSC) protocol. Is there a way right now in FlowStone to catch and use these values?
- qqwy
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 9:38 pm
Re: Using OSC? Is it possible?
most likely yes! the ruby inside flowstone should be able to do so!
here is a couple of implementations of osc stuff in ruby! https://github.com/aberant/osc-ruby
https://github.com/maca/ruby-osc ,
thats as much help i can give you m8 as i am clueless then it comes to ruby, but maybe some of the more learned ppl here might be able to point you in the right direction!
Our boffins from over at SM land are here as well and they are feverishly learning ruby as we speak
The Synthmaker Boffins yesterday.
hope that helps
Jay
here is a couple of implementations of osc stuff in ruby! https://github.com/aberant/osc-ruby
https://github.com/maca/ruby-osc ,
thats as much help i can give you m8 as i am clueless then it comes to ruby, but maybe some of the more learned ppl here might be able to point you in the right direction!
Our boffins from over at SM land are here as well and they are feverishly learning ruby as we speak
The Synthmaker Boffins yesterday.
hope that helps
Jay
- Jay
- Posts: 276
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 5:42 pm
Re: Using OSC? Is it possible?
Jay wrote:most likely yes! the ruby inside flowstone should be able to do so!
Yes, but not now, with external libraries, the reason can be found in this post.
But the support is working on it.
except if the extensions are written in pure ruby, then you will have no problems,
extensions in pure ruby usually are suffixed with name-pr.
-
digitalwhitebyte - Posts: 106
- Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:20 am
Re: Using OSC? Is it possible?
Technically speaking OSC is nothing more than simple UDP datagrams. So in theory the built-in primitives "Network Server" and "Network Client" should do the job (not tested yet)
- rlr
- Posts: 27
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 9:17 pm
Re: Using OSC? Is it possible?
Thanks for your replies. I haven't tried the built-in network server and client yet, but I will shortly. I'll keep you updated .
- qqwy
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 9:38 pm
5 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests