Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright

microtuning- is that possible on FS?

For general discussion related FlowStone

microtuning- is that possible on FS?

Postby kortezzzz » Sun Jan 12, 2014 10:36 pm

Hi everybody.

Tried to build a small midi schematic for microtunung. i believe someone thought about it already, but couldn't find any info about it on both SM and FS forums.AFAIK, its a midi manipulation, right?
Well, the problem is the "midi event" primitive's pitch input can only generate Integers and can not
handle nor Decode fractions. if i want to set the pitch (D1) to 62.5 for example (to get Quarter tones)
it's just impossible :(

my idea was to isolate every note from 24-84 with the "note equal" primitive and send it's data to it's own
"midi event" primitive, and by that to set with a knob the the "cents" (from -100 to 100 cents) and get some
different scales.
any idea's how to do that? maybe RUBY can?

THANKS!
User avatar
kortezzzz
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:21 pm

Re: microtuning- is that possible on FS?

Postby tester » Sun Jan 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Microtuning is possible, yes. But you have build your own custom "tuner" so to speak, so that you have on output pitch values for midi driving. The old SM way would be to use frequency arrays and if-then-else routines to set pitches.

Keep in mind that pitch values/integers are not frequencies (neither Hz nor 0-1 ranges). Pitch values indicate numbers of notes in midi-supported whole scale, while notes are associated with frequencies related to your tuning.

In fact - it should be simple to do and a lot of fun. You should be able to do both - cents and Hz. So - wherever you need the pitch - you will need to have translator that transforms your tuning into pitches, and wherever you get the pitch data into the tuner - you need to convert it into frequency using your tuner (because pitch-to-freq prims are equal temperament as far I can remember).
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet

Re: microtuning- is that possible on FS?

Postby kortezzzz » Sun Jan 12, 2014 11:59 pm

thank for the fast reply, tester. sorry, but I didn't understood the most of your reply. :oops:
i thought that manipulating the frequency with many sources at the same time is impossible... :shock:
tried to build a small schematic that simulates the pitchband's behavior (controled with a knob) and multiplied it's output with the frequency. its works, but for only one note. as you add more notes, it not works.
any chance you can demonstrate the idea with a very basic schematic please?
User avatar
kortezzzz
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:21 pm

Re: microtuning- is that possible on FS?

Postby tester » Mon Jan 13, 2014 1:01 am

You have to post your schematic, so I can tell where you need integrate your tuning. Because you will have to build the tuning from scratch.

In my own designs I use microtunings too, but a) I don't use midi and b) I use linear detuners in Hz. So I can only give you some clues on how to make it.
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet

Re: microtuning- is that possible on FS?

Postby kortezzzz » Mon Jan 13, 2014 8:15 am

thanks for your help, tester.
i'v attached a small schematics that describes my idea.
as you see inside, there are 2 "cents" knobs that isolate 2 notes, 60 and 61.
the "60" note works ok, but when connecting the 61to the frequency, its not working anymore.
is this method correct? what am i doing wrong?
Attachments
a_simple_microtuning_schemtic.fsm
(156.44 KiB) Downloaded 858 times
User avatar
kortezzzz
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:21 pm

Re: microtuning- is that possible on FS?

Postby tester » Mon Jan 13, 2014 8:43 pm

Ouch, it looks that someone else will have to say a waord here.
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet

Re: microtuning- is that possible on FS?

Postby trogluddite » Mon Jan 13, 2014 10:01 pm

Hi kortezzz,

I think this schematic is the technique you're looking for...
a_simple_microtuning_schemtic 002.fsm
(21.63 KiB) Downloaded 910 times

The reason that the first version doesn't work is the poly connections - the MIDI detuners are before the Mono to Poly, but have poly links to the other modules after it - don't know why, but the MIDI to Poly doesn't like that and can no longer assign the voices correctly.

In the new version, the MIDI note value is read polyphonically from the pitch output of the MtoV, and gets used as an index to read a float array - using the weird 'poly Integer' data type (these are the only primitives that use it).

The array is just a list of de-tune ratios, one for each MIDI note (you'll need to look inside the small module). To make things simple, I just made an array for each semi-tone of the lowest octave, and used the 'array appends' to duplicate it for the higher ranges - but you could, in principle, tune every one of the 128 MIDI notes differently with the right array. Doing it this way also makes it easy to use the "Preset Parameter Array" to store your detuning settings inside plugin presets.
All schematics/modules I post are free for all to use - but a credit is always polite!
Don't stagnate, mutate to create!
User avatar
trogluddite
 
Posts: 1730
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 12:46 am
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: microtuning- is that possible on FS?

Postby kortezzzz » Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:40 pm

WOW trog!!! just wowwww!!!
thank you so much, brother. amazing method. i have have no words.
so simple, so elegant. i'v spent the whole evening in with that Challenge before i saw your reply.
i found some other crappy solution and already started to live with the fact that there is nothing better, but, if trog is around, there is always something better :lol:
thanks for that gift.
and now comes the nubby question... :lol:

1)this schematic is editing a specific note, but in every octave. didn't understand how to make "per note edit".
i mean, what if i need to isolate only note 60 for example? i want to create a knob for every note from 28-83.
any solution?
User avatar
kortezzzz
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:21 pm


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 60 guests