Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright

Can someone tell me why this doesn't work?

For general discussion related FlowStone

Re: Can someone tell me why this doesn't work?

Postby RJHollins » Tue Mar 04, 2014 3:12 am

For some reason, this circuit caught my interest ... but I've not figured out what its' suppose to do :?

Will we ever learn more ? and the final circuit ?

:P
RJHollins
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm

Re: Can someone tell me why this doesn't work?

Postby Perfect Human Interface » Tue Mar 04, 2014 8:27 am

RJHollins wrote:and the final circuit ?


You asked for it... 8-)
Hold Decay.PNG
Hold Decay.PNG (85.94 KiB) Viewed 11764 times


All this just to learn how inaccurate the peak detection is when it's coming off a mono to float.
Perfect Human Interface
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm

Re: Can someone tell me why this doesn't work?

Postby RJHollins » Tue Mar 04, 2014 9:31 am

hmmm ...

well ... I was close on the 'peak' idea :lol:

Not good to hear about the inaccuracy, though :roll:

Thanks for posting the schematic pix. Would take some time to 'trace' it all though.

For whatever reasons, metering always seem a difficult project. I've must of demo dozens ... and purchased more than I really should have :|

Right now I've settle with the Klanghelm VU meters. They are about as close to hardware as I've been able to match.
Well worth the $10 purchase. It is a combination VU with PEAK readout.

Doesn't help us much in FS-land ... but it would be nice to match up to it from FS.

Nonetheless ... you did bring a bit of excitement and group participation ... those are fun to watch [and learn from]

Thanks!
8-)
RJHollins
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm

Re: Can someone tell me why this doesn't work?

Postby Perfect Human Interface » Tue Mar 04, 2014 9:44 am

That whole thing is just a mess to take a "max" peak value and hold it for a bit before gradually releasing it. It's probably garbage code so no sense trying to analyze it... though it works. The inaccuracy comes from a mono to float after the actual peak detection (not shown here) pulling it back into green.The mono to float only ticks off at 100 times a second, so it's naturally going to miss a lot of values when audio rate is going at 44,100 times a second. With normal visual meters this doesn't matter since your monitor is limited to 60 Hz anyways, but for what I'm trying to do here I'd need to go back into blue to do this accurately at sample rate. I just wish DSP code supported extra things like "ifs" so my simple mind could stick to simple things rather than having to look up how to do bitmasking and such. :P
Perfect Human Interface
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm

Re: Can someone tell me why this doesn't work?

Postby RJHollins » Tue Mar 04, 2014 10:28 am

I completely follow you.

I guess the proverbial question ... is RUBY capable of processing at samplerate ?

Just trying to learn more 8-)
RJHollins
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm

Re: Can someone tell me why this doesn't work?

Postby nix » Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:11 pm

You could go at 1000hz instead of tick100 with Ruby custom ticker if u wish.
User avatar
nix
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am

Re: Can someone tell me why this doesn't work?

Postby oddson » Wed Mar 05, 2014 7:31 pm

Perfect Human Interface wrote:That whole thing is just a mess to take a "max" peak value and hold it for a bit before gradually releasing it...

Code: Select all
streamin x; // signal
streamin t; // reset time in samples
streamout y; // max signal
float i,xMax;
xMax = xMax - (i>t & xMax); // reset peak after t cycles
i = i - (i>t & i) + 1; // increment counter with reset to 1 at t+1
xMax = max(x,xMax) ; // retains former peak unless new peak or at reset
y = xMax;
oddson
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 12:13 am

Re: Can someone tell me why this doesn't work?

Postby Perfect Human Interface » Thu Mar 06, 2014 9:49 am

Haha, thanks oddson. I could have sat down and figured it out myself but here you are making me look bad. :P The whole masking thing is just slightly abstract so I forget how to do it.
Perfect Human Interface
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm

Re: Can someone tell me why this doesn't work?

Postby oddson » Fri Mar 07, 2014 9:44 am

It came up before on SM Site but I couldn't find it as the Site was down. Replicating it took far longer than it should have as I'd forgotten how to use the code module.
oddson
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 12:13 am

Re: Can someone tell me why this doesn't work?

Postby RJHollins » Fri Mar 07, 2014 10:34 am

hmmm ... this might mean that we are not seeing enough of you here at the FS forum !!! :lol:

Seriously ... glad to see you here. Hope you find time to visit and post.

You always provide great insight with many helpful code examples and concepts [SM forum]. Wish I would have been there during the hay days. I missed a lot of learning opportunities :|

Always looked forward ! ;) Hope all is well for you !

Thanks oddson 8-)
RJHollins
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm

PreviousNext

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 68 guests