If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
2-way communication with FS VST plugins
7 posts
• Page 1 of 1
2-way communication with FS VST plugins
Putting on the thinking cap for a new project idea ... IF this is possible ...
There has been some discussion and examples of communicating data between 2 separate apps. These have focused on using 'Server/Client' design. I have tested the examples and have found them to work.
I would like to inquire if there are any OTHER ways/techniques that could be utilized with FS to 'share' data between 2 or more plugins.
The project goal ...
I'm looking to design a plugin that basically monitors audio levels, and can send data back to a central plugin that would be receiving this 'level' data from possibly several of these 'monitoring' pods [VST].
I realize that 'real-time' communication would depend on just how much data was being sent. I believe that there could be a strategy used to possibly reduce this data flow ... but we are at 1st stage of thinking this through.
One thought ...
Possible using a 'reserved' memory location that could be identified that the individual 'pods' could write to, and that the central hub would know how to locate and read this data. Is this possible with FS ??
What I do have working is a somewhat similar 'concept only' that is simply MIDI data controlling various 'pods'. These are more to control switches at the moment, but I have thought of possibly using MIDI to provide the communication link. This would require the 'audio level' data to be transposed/scaled to the MIDI standard [0-127]. This, of course, would only provide a rather crude approximation of the actual values. Another thought was to possible 'encode' the actual data into a SYSEX packet. This might allow a finer resolution to the true data value. Again just possible ideas ... however, none would match the ability to write and read from a 'reserved' memory location.
There was another method mentioned that would write data to a temp file. I guess this could be possible, but have no idea what can of worms that could entail
Like I say ... I'm at the concept stage with this. Before any design ideas could start, I first need to better understand what techniques are available to pursue.
I yield to the experienced GURUS to enlighten grasshopper
Thanks!
There has been some discussion and examples of communicating data between 2 separate apps. These have focused on using 'Server/Client' design. I have tested the examples and have found them to work.
I would like to inquire if there are any OTHER ways/techniques that could be utilized with FS to 'share' data between 2 or more plugins.
The project goal ...
I'm looking to design a plugin that basically monitors audio levels, and can send data back to a central plugin that would be receiving this 'level' data from possibly several of these 'monitoring' pods [VST].
I realize that 'real-time' communication would depend on just how much data was being sent. I believe that there could be a strategy used to possibly reduce this data flow ... but we are at 1st stage of thinking this through.
One thought ...
Possible using a 'reserved' memory location that could be identified that the individual 'pods' could write to, and that the central hub would know how to locate and read this data. Is this possible with FS ??
What I do have working is a somewhat similar 'concept only' that is simply MIDI data controlling various 'pods'. These are more to control switches at the moment, but I have thought of possibly using MIDI to provide the communication link. This would require the 'audio level' data to be transposed/scaled to the MIDI standard [0-127]. This, of course, would only provide a rather crude approximation of the actual values. Another thought was to possible 'encode' the actual data into a SYSEX packet. This might allow a finer resolution to the true data value. Again just possible ideas ... however, none would match the ability to write and read from a 'reserved' memory location.
There was another method mentioned that would write data to a temp file. I guess this could be possible, but have no idea what can of worms that could entail
Like I say ... I'm at the concept stage with this. Before any design ideas could start, I first need to better understand what techniques are available to pursue.
I yield to the experienced GURUS to enlighten grasshopper
Thanks!
- RJHollins
- Posts: 1571
- Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm
Re: 2-way communication with FS VST plugins
could be achieved with a shared memory through a DLL
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... 80%29.aspx
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... 80%29.aspx
- Tronic
- Posts: 539
- Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 12:59 pm
Re: 2-way communication with FS VST plugins
Windows SDK example
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... 86958.aspx
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... 86958.aspx
Last edited by Tronic on Fri Apr 18, 2014 5:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
- Tronic
- Posts: 539
- Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 12:59 pm
Re: 2-way communication with FS VST plugins
Tronic wrote:Windows SDK example
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... 58(v=vs.85).aspx
Hi Tronic,
This link isn't working ... my experiments all led to 'not found'
- RJHollins
- Posts: 1571
- Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm
Re: 2-way communication with FS VST plugins
fault link, now work
- Tronic
- Posts: 539
- Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 12:59 pm
Re: 2-way communication with FS VST plugins
Hey... Thanks for the link fix Tronic !!
Couple questions naturally arise from all this Would the example code be something that could be entered into FS's CODE BOX ??, or would this require a dedicated C++ program ??
Looking through the code, it seems to be documented well. For someone that has never touched C code ... is this even a possibility ?? I won't even ask the implementation questions, as I've no experience with this aspect.
Even just asking the level of difficulty would be tough for anyone to answer, I understand. Again, I'm asking out of ignorance to all this. Still .... very much appreciate getting direct links to things like this.
Thanks again !
Couple questions naturally arise from all this Would the example code be something that could be entered into FS's CODE BOX ??, or would this require a dedicated C++ program ??
Looking through the code, it seems to be documented well. For someone that has never touched C code ... is this even a possibility ?? I won't even ask the implementation questions, as I've no experience with this aspect.
Even just asking the level of difficulty would be tough for anyone to answer, I understand. Again, I'm asking out of ignorance to all this. Still .... very much appreciate getting direct links to things like this.
Thanks again !
- RJHollins
- Posts: 1571
- Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm
Re: 2-way communication with FS VST plugins
Fs now take the opportunity to use external DLLs.
You can use TemplateDLL and the example that DSPR provides.
Try to compile the DLL with a compiler for C/C++.
after more or less understand the concept of the DLL, try to integrate the system posted by Tronic.
You can use TemplateDLL and the example that DSPR provides.
Try to compile the DLL with a compiler for C/C++.
after more or less understand the concept of the DLL, try to integrate the system posted by Tronic.
-
digitalwhitebyte - Posts: 106
- Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:20 am
7 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 43 guests