Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright

Bypass On Silence

For general discussion related FlowStone

Bypass On Silence

Postby Father » Sun May 18, 2014 5:53 pm

Its nice to bypass the effects when there is no sound. So I've created something like this:
Bypass on Silence.fsm
(56.2 KiB) Downloaded 845 times

This nicely works when going to bypass but when the sound comes in again, there is a tiny click at the beginning.
How to get rid of that?
Do we need to delay the whole signal to kinda look ahead?
Father
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 5:48 pm

Re: Bypass On Silence

Postby RJHollins » Sun May 18, 2014 7:09 pm

Hi Father,

Just a guess on my part, but you may need to add a 'De-Zipper' module to deal with the on/off click.
RJHollins
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm

Re: Bypass On Silence

Postby Father » Sun May 18, 2014 8:22 pm

RJHollins wrote:Just a guess on my part, but you may need to add a 'De-Zipper' module to deal with the on/off click.

Hi. I don't think Its that kind of problem.
I used delay here:
Bypass on Silence_with delay.fsm
(58.05 KiB) Downloaded 806 times

But i don't like the delay on my plugin.
Father
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 5:48 pm

Re: Bypass On Silence

Postby KG_is_back » Sun May 18, 2014 9:40 pm

This has been discussed several times before. The selector works in green, while the streams are in blue.

Blue code gets executed when your daw is processing the audio buffer.
Green code gets executed when your daw has completed the buffer calculation and is waiting for the next buffer to fill.

Result is, that when your audio gets nonzero, the selector gets updated in next buffer and you loose some samples that were in the previous one.
Also the tick100 to check for nonzero samples is not very smart - if your daw has high cpu load it simply omits the green code (because it is set to lower priority than blue).
There is not really a way around unfortunately other than lookahead delay you used.

However There are relatively easy ways to smart-bypass individual code components. I've posted examples on forum somewhere, I cam post them again if you're interrested
KG_is_back
 
Posts: 1196
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Bypass On Silence

Postby KimSteff » Sun May 18, 2014 9:43 pm

The problem are that you only are testing on the signal every 10 mili secound and not for every sample.
When the sound are comming back the switch are happening at number of sampels into the sound.
This will always generate a klick.
My version will fade the sound ind and out.
Attachments
Bypass on Silence ks.fsm
(56.39 KiB) Downloaded 821 times
KimSteff
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:50 pm

Re: Bypass On Silence

Postby KG_is_back » Sun May 18, 2014 9:56 pm

Kim, your example doesn't actually bypass anything - even if the input is silence the code is still running, even though the input and output are both zero. I believe the point of this all is to save CPU when input is silence...
KG_is_back
 
Posts: 1196
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Bypass On Silence

Postby Father » Sun May 18, 2014 10:18 pm

KimSteff wrote:My version will fade the sound in and out.

Although you didn't do it right here, but fading in, like using delay, could be another desperate solution.
KG_is_back wrote:However There are relatively easy ways to smart-bypass individual code components. I've posted examples on forum somewhere, I cam post them again if you're interested

Tanks for the reply KG. Yes that would be great, if its related.
KG_is_back wrote:I believe the point of this all is to save CPU when input is silence...

Exactly. Saves a lot of CPU.
If we could just see a bit of future and pull it off from the host! :D
What does delay compensation do?
Father
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 5:48 pm

Re: Bypass On Silence

Postby KG_is_back » Sun May 18, 2014 11:27 pm

Father wrote:
KimSteff wrote:My version will fade the sound in and out.

Although you didn't do it right here, but fading in, like using delay, could be another desperate solution.
KG_is_back wrote:However There are relatively easy ways to smart-bypass individual code components. I've posted examples on forum somewhere, I cam post them again if you're interested

Tanks for the reply KG. Yes that would be great, if its related.
KG_is_back wrote:I believe the point of this all is to save CPU when input is silence...

Exactly. Saves a lot of CPU.
If we could just see a bit of future and pull it off from the host! :D
What does delay compensation do?


Delay compensation gives the DAW a number of samples the plugin is delaying the signal. Daw then simply delays all other tracks to keep things in sync. The plugin will work as if no delay was there in rendering mode, but in realtime mode it will simply delay everything.

Here I created a tutorial on how to smart-bypass code component on sample-precise basis. I hope is clear enough
Attachments
smart disable tutorial.fsm
(1.82 KiB) Downloaded 830 times
KG_is_back
 
Posts: 1196
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Bypass On Silence

Postby Father » Mon May 19, 2014 12:40 am

Took me a few minutes to figure it out, but i get it. Its useful to skip codes in defined conditions.
It checks nonzero for every sample, right?
I'm not sure how this could help in this case...
Loosing few samples is not important but not this much I'm loosing using tick100. Need to check more samples somehow...or do it another way or don't do it at all!
Father
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 5:48 pm

Re: Bypass On Silence

Postby Nubeat7 » Mon May 19, 2014 9:37 am

Father wrote:It checks nonzero for every sample, right?
I'm not sure how this could help in this case...


yes, isn`t it what you wanted? and it checks the bypass signal for zero not the stream so it depends what you do to generate the bypass signal - normally a noisegate like you use it in your own example (or you integrate some condition directly in the code like in example 3) - if you switch imediately in asm code you also need no vol slide because the crackles are coming from recompiling when using the selector so this is the perfect solution - like this you also can get rid of delaying the signal..
User avatar
Nubeat7
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Vienna

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 70 guests