If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
ClearAudio giving the CPU a Heart attack!
11 posts
• Page 1 of 2 • 1, 2
ClearAudio giving the CPU a Heart attack!
Yes that's right. I did put a ClearAudio module in my (not small) schematic to clear out the delays and stuff, every time it gets triggered causes a huge CPU spike. Whats wrong with it?!
- Father
- Posts: 177
- Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 5:48 pm
Re: ClearAudio giving the CPU a Heart attack!
Nothing is wrong probably... The clearAudio resets all code. That also means the code will have to reinitialize all variables, arrays and code in stage(0) is executed. This may take a lot of CPU (especially in big schematics).
You may observe that using Analyzer primitive. You set your code to it's input (you may have to force it by holding ctrl+shift while creating the link), select number of samples to process and trigger it. The output is the values of processed samples, the code and the number of cycles per sample that were used to process the code. You will see that first sample takes considerably more CPU than all others.
You may observe that using Analyzer primitive. You set your code to it's input (you may have to force it by holding ctrl+shift while creating the link), select number of samples to process and trigger it. The output is the values of processed samples, the code and the number of cycles per sample that were used to process the code. You will see that first sample takes considerably more CPU than all others.
- Attachments
-
- analyser example.fsm
- (65.42 KiB) Downloaded 779 times
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: ClearAudio giving the CPU a Heart attack!
I see, its too much. We don't need to clear everything. just delays and reverb in my case. Is there a way to do it just for individual modules perhaps?
- Father
- Posts: 177
- Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 5:48 pm
Re: ClearAudio giving the CPU a Heart attack!
Try selector - clicking it off and on
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: ClearAudio giving the CPU a Heart attack!
OK I'll work on that. but another maybe related question. In some plugins like the NI Kontakt, when you click on the stop button in the host program (FL) twice, it kills all the voices and clears out the audio, of course without any CPU over load. I'm wondering if its possible to do something similar here?
- Father
- Posts: 177
- Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 5:48 pm
Re: ClearAudio giving the CPU a Heart attack!
Father wrote:OK I'll work on that. but another maybe related question. In some plugins like the NI Kontakt, when you click on the stop button in the host program (FL) twice, it kills all the voices and clears out the audio, of course without any CPU over load. I'm wondering if its possible to do something similar here?
I always thought it is the same. Did you try that with your plugin too?
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: ClearAudio giving the CPU a Heart attack!
KG_is_back wrote:I always thought it is the same. Did you try that with your plugin too?
yes of course, not working. Its a nice feature to keep notes with long release or delay and reverb feed backs in control. when you press stop, it stops the playback, and if you press stop again, it kills the voices. Not all plugins react to it though. I guess there is access to host's play back controls in the vst SDK.
- Father
- Posts: 177
- Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 5:48 pm
Re: ClearAudio giving the CPU a Heart attack!
Well, Flowstone has "is playing" primitive which sends boolean based on host playback (true when is playing). However it sends triggers only when change happens - when the playback is stopped it doesn't detect stop button reclick. I'm also surprised this feature is not present in FS (since it actually is in FL studio).
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: ClearAudio giving the CPU a Heart attack!
you should find out when the 'is playing' is working (on one stop click or on double click on stop)
afaik vst sdk has only one playing flag -> http://www.gersic.com/vstsdk/ (look under flags, its the same in 2.4)
all other relevant things are position based parameters, so the question is what is triggered with the first and the second stop click, does other 3rd party vst`s work with this function or only imageline vst`s?
afaik vst sdk has only one playing flag -> http://www.gersic.com/vstsdk/ (look under flags, its the same in 2.4)
all other relevant things are position based parameters, so the question is what is triggered with the first and the second stop click, does other 3rd party vst`s work with this function or only imageline vst`s?
-
Nubeat7 - Posts: 1347
- Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
- Location: Vienna
Re: ClearAudio giving the CPU a Heart attack!
while if you for example use cockos vst extension, which is more or less widely used (afaik) you can use the
GetPlayState() function which returns an integer value representing the project play state. 1=play, 2=paused, 5=recording, 6=record paused.
or maybe better these:
OnPlayButton(), OnPauseButton(), OnStopButton()
void (*OnPlayButton)();
void (*OnStopButton)();
void (*OnPauseButton)();
These functions control the main transport for the host app. Only call these from the UI thread.
http://www.reaper.fm/sdk/vst/vst_ext.php
GetPlayState() function which returns an integer value representing the project play state. 1=play, 2=paused, 5=recording, 6=record paused.
or maybe better these:
OnPlayButton(), OnPauseButton(), OnStopButton()
void (*OnPlayButton)();
void (*OnStopButton)();
void (*OnPauseButton)();
These functions control the main transport for the host app. Only call these from the UI thread.
http://www.reaper.fm/sdk/vst/vst_ext.php
-
Nubeat7 - Posts: 1347
- Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
- Location: Vienna
11 posts
• Page 1 of 2 • 1, 2
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 83 guests