If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
Selector with an ENGAGE/Activate feature
10 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Selector with an ENGAGE/Activate feature
Struggling to pull this idea together ... trying to build an ENGAGE button logic.
There is a 'Radio' button selector that gives the user 5 selections to choose from.
Clicking through the radio indexes a 'preview' of the objects available for THAT selection. BUT ... they are NOT yet active [important].
Tied to the radio buttons is an ENGAGE button that activates that selection. A 'feature' of the ENGAGE button ... it will disappear after selection, and only reappear when a different radio button is hit. If the user goes back to the previously chosen button ... the ENGAGE button disappears [because it is active already].
The basics of this is working. The schematic 'logic' might be a bit goofy ... but it mirrors what I'm needing to do.
The problem:
When recalling settings via the PreSet Manager.
The radio buttons set to the stored value, but the ENGAGE button logic is not correct. I've played with this so much I can't see to a solution Maybe someone would please look ...
Maybe the current design logic is flawed ... I don't know, as I've gone in circles with this.
Here's a screen shot:
and the schematic
please help save me from myself Even wonder if a RUBY solution would be easier
There is a 'Radio' button selector that gives the user 5 selections to choose from.
Clicking through the radio indexes a 'preview' of the objects available for THAT selection. BUT ... they are NOT yet active [important].
Tied to the radio buttons is an ENGAGE button that activates that selection. A 'feature' of the ENGAGE button ... it will disappear after selection, and only reappear when a different radio button is hit. If the user goes back to the previously chosen button ... the ENGAGE button disappears [because it is active already].
The basics of this is working. The schematic 'logic' might be a bit goofy ... but it mirrors what I'm needing to do.
The problem:
When recalling settings via the PreSet Manager.
The radio buttons set to the stored value, but the ENGAGE button logic is not correct. I've played with this so much I can't see to a solution Maybe someone would please look ...
Maybe the current design logic is flawed ... I don't know, as I've gone in circles with this.
Here's a screen shot:
and the schematic
please help save me from myself Even wonder if a RUBY solution would be easier
- RJHollins
- Posts: 1571
- Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm
Re: Selector with an ENGAGE/Activate feature
1.When I click engage, it sends trigger and the engage boolean is set true.
2. when I click different option, engage boolean is set false and trigger output is not send.
3. when I click back the option that was engaged, engage boolean is set true again and trigger is send.
Is that how it should be? shouldn't the trigger be send only when new engage is clicked?
2. when I click different option, engage boolean is set false and trigger output is not send.
3. when I click back the option that was engaged, engage boolean is set true again and trigger is send.
Is that how it should be? shouldn't the trigger be send only when new engage is clicked?
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: Selector with an ENGAGE/Activate feature
KG_is_back wrote:3. when I click back the option that was engaged, engage boolean is set true again and trigger is send.
Is that how it should be? shouldn't the trigger be send only when new engage is clicked?
Hi KG !
Yes Sir, I do believe you are correct. [if I have everything behaving ]. However ... I was not sure that when everything fired up [at start], if the correct values would already be in place [something previously ENGAGED].
The 'issue' shows itself when switching banks with the PM.
Anyway ... to get to the bottom of it, I think you are right ... the 'trigger' should only happen with a 'new' engage.
BTW ... Thanks for looking in KG I'm following your other threads going on [trying to understand a little].
Sure appreciate !
- RJHollins
- Posts: 1571
- Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm
Re: Selector with an ENGAGE/Activate feature
Here... this one seems to work correctly. I have build it anew. Much smaller and simpler I think. Changed the Engage button from toggle to click trigger too. Feel free to ask any questions.
- Attachments
-
- Engage with Preset recall-2.fsm
- (18.94 KiB) Downloaded 812 times
Last edited by KG_is_back on Sat May 24, 2014 12:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: Selector with an ENGAGE/Activate feature
Hi KG,
mmm ... a dramatic reduction for sure.
Doing some early testing. The 'engaged' selection seems to be working fine [picking a different index activates the engage display, while returning to to original index value clears it]. That makes good GUI sense
I'm seeing a problem cycling through the Preset Manager. The indexes are recalled correctly, however, the ENGAGE button displays [?!?]
Selecting a preset ... if I change the radio selection and THEN go to the 'saved' index, THEN the ENGAGE button disappears. [as it should do].
The PM does not trigger the engage button display logic correctly.
I need to study the example you've posted to better understand the circuit.
mmm ... a dramatic reduction for sure.
Doing some early testing. The 'engaged' selection seems to be working fine [picking a different index activates the engage display, while returning to to original index value clears it]. That makes good GUI sense
I'm seeing a problem cycling through the Preset Manager. The indexes are recalled correctly, however, the ENGAGE button displays [?!?]
Selecting a preset ... if I change the radio selection and THEN go to the 'saved' index, THEN the ENGAGE button disappears. [as it should do].
The PM does not trigger the engage button display logic correctly.
I need to study the example you've posted to better understand the circuit.
- RJHollins
- Posts: 1571
- Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm
Re: Selector with an ENGAGE/Activate feature
Fixed... added "after preset change" trigger that is send from preset manager, to update stuff.
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: Selector with an ENGAGE/Activate feature
early results are lookin' mighty fine, KG
I need to test this from the full schematic that I pulled the original from to see how everyone plays together ...
Also ... due to the complexities of the project, I've been using NuBeats' special 'Multi Preset' module ... actually, I'm not sure if that is needed within the 'Engage' module ... these are things for me to learn still.
Hopefully, this will be a good, working fit ... will report back. Thanks KG !!!
I need to test this from the full schematic that I pulled the original from to see how everyone plays together ...
Also ... due to the complexities of the project, I've been using NuBeats' special 'Multi Preset' module ... actually, I'm not sure if that is needed within the 'Engage' module ... these are things for me to learn still.
Hopefully, this will be a good, working fit ... will report back. Thanks KG !!!
- RJHollins
- Posts: 1571
- Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm
Re: Selector with an ENGAGE/Activate feature
so far we got smiles happening here !
Replaced all the original modules with the new KG 'Engage' module in my test project. Things workin' good. Then burned off a VST version and loaded into Reaper.
Of course, all the parameter changes/differences played havoc with the test project ... but I deleted the original and then re-added the new VST. Doing that means I have to re-set the new VST with the old values [but I'm getting use to that with every change or mod to the VST.
Early testing the new VST seems to be working without a hitch ! YEAH !
This is a critical component, so much more testing on my part to do yet.
The 'question' still remains ..... I've left in the PreSet module that KG had put in ...
The first question ... this is not a function that I would want to automated, or preset active ... this is an ENGAGE function that says YES to activate a specific index choice. The radio button has PresetManage built in ...
This is where confusion, on my part, can happen
KG ... I read that the v2 fix involved adding a 'preset' trigger ... so it appears that this is crucial to the operation [that's fine with me ] I would have guessed that the radio buttons preset recall would have trigger the events to follow ... but then ... the inner workings of the PM still has its mysteries
OK ... just wanted to report back on things looking good. Now for some heavy testing
THANKS !!!
Replaced all the original modules with the new KG 'Engage' module in my test project. Things workin' good. Then burned off a VST version and loaded into Reaper.
Of course, all the parameter changes/differences played havoc with the test project ... but I deleted the original and then re-added the new VST. Doing that means I have to re-set the new VST with the old values [but I'm getting use to that with every change or mod to the VST.
Early testing the new VST seems to be working without a hitch ! YEAH !
This is a critical component, so much more testing on my part to do yet.
The 'question' still remains ..... I've left in the PreSet module that KG had put in ...
The first question ... this is not a function that I would want to automated, or preset active ... this is an ENGAGE function that says YES to activate a specific index choice. The radio button has PresetManage built in ...
This is where confusion, on my part, can happen
KG ... I read that the v2 fix involved adding a 'preset' trigger ... so it appears that this is crucial to the operation [that's fine with me ] I would have guessed that the radio buttons preset recall would have trigger the events to follow ... but then ... the inner workings of the PM still has its mysteries
OK ... just wanted to report back on things looking good. Now for some heavy testing
THANKS !!!
- RJHollins
- Posts: 1571
- Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm
Re: Selector with an ENGAGE/Activate feature
RJHollins wrote:KG ... I read that the v2 fix involved adding a 'preset' trigger ... so it appears that this is crucial to the operation [that's fine with me ] I would have guessed that the radio buttons preset recall would have trigger the events to follow ... but then ... the inner workings of the PM still has its mysteries
I was just patching holes, without knowing where they came from . PM is an seamless endless mountain of unexpected behavior. It's like a landmine... once you load preset it shoots trigger into random directions like shrapnels (hitting stuff you'd never expect and vice versa).
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: Selector with an ENGAGE/Activate feature
KG_is_back wrote:I was just patching holes, without knowing where they came from . PM is an seamless endless mountain of unexpected behavior. It's like a landmine... once you load preset it shoots trigger into random directions like shrapnels (hitting stuff you'd never expect and vice versa).
oh my ... this is not encouraging to hear for us 'rookies'.
Testing has continued with this new 'Engage' routine ... seems you nailed it KG !
I thank you ... and my battered brain thanks you !
More testing, as I push the envelope, continues.
- RJHollins
- Posts: 1571
- Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm
10 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 62 guests