If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
Mono to Poly question
8 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Mono to Poly question
Question re the mono to poly prim.
I presume that it takes the signal on blue channel 0 and applies it to every poly channel. Correct?
I wondered if there's a way of directing mono4 blue channels individually?
This is not exactly what I have in mind but describes the idea anyway ... say I have 4 free-phase LFOs - 'LFO1, 2, 3 & 4' - on blue chans 0, 1, 2, & 3. Can they be applied to a poly section such that notes 1, 5, 9 etc would use LFO 1; notes 2, 6, 10 etc would use LFO 2; notes 3, 7, 11 etc. would use LFO 3; and notes 4, 8, 12 etc. would use LFO 4.
Or is this delving into forbidden polyphony-handling world ...
H
I presume that it takes the signal on blue channel 0 and applies it to every poly channel. Correct?
I wondered if there's a way of directing mono4 blue channels individually?
This is not exactly what I have in mind but describes the idea anyway ... say I have 4 free-phase LFOs - 'LFO1, 2, 3 & 4' - on blue chans 0, 1, 2, & 3. Can they be applied to a poly section such that notes 1, 5, 9 etc would use LFO 1; notes 2, 6, 10 etc would use LFO 2; notes 3, 7, 11 etc. would use LFO 3; and notes 4, 8, 12 etc. would use LFO 4.
Or is this delving into forbidden polyphony-handling world ...
H
-
HughBanton - Posts: 265
- Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 3:10 pm
- Location: Evesham, Worcestershire
Re: Mono to Poly question
You can do similar things with the alpha version, that has some new mono to poly primitives
- adamszabo
- Posts: 667
- Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 7:21 am
Re: Mono to Poly question
.
Last edited by MichaelBenjamin on Mon Sep 21, 2020 10:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
- MichaelBenjamin
- Posts: 275
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 1:32 pm
Re: Mono to Poly question
Thanks Adam & Michael,
Using two variations on the 'poly2mono4 combiner' module I've managed to do exactly what I proposed above with 4x independant LFOs, (which I emphasise is not my ultimate aim ..) but I couldn't get it to work in 3.0.6 .. sorry FS3 fans!
Obviously generating multi-LFOs is not very original, but I don't recall having seen a method of injecting any 4 blue 'objects' into chans 0, 1, 2 & 3 of a poly stream.
So I'll post the demo in Slack later.
H
Using two variations on the 'poly2mono4 combiner' module I've managed to do exactly what I proposed above with 4x independant LFOs, (which I emphasise is not my ultimate aim ..) but I couldn't get it to work in 3.0.6 .. sorry FS3 fans!
Obviously generating multi-LFOs is not very original, but I don't recall having seen a method of injecting any 4 blue 'objects' into chans 0, 1, 2 & 3 of a poly stream.
So I'll post the demo in Slack later.
H
-
HughBanton - Posts: 265
- Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 3:10 pm
- Location: Evesham, Worcestershire
Re: Mono to Poly question
Mono to Poly's been around since SM days.
Website for the plugins : http://kbrownsynthplugins.weebly.com/
- k brown
- Posts: 1198
- Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:10 pm
- Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Re: Mono to Poly question
yeah, that one writes and reads the stream,
in an early hack
Alpha made that a prim iirc
this implementation is more sophisticated it seems,
involving tagging the streams
in an early hack
Alpha made that a prim iirc
this implementation is more sophisticated it seems,
involving tagging the streams
-
nix - Posts: 817
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am
Re: Mono to Poly question
Adam pointed out (in Slack) that my LFOs, although having blue connectors, still behave like regular stream components, and reset to phase-zero when keyed.
I've posted a revision over there with mono2poly prims inserted, which seems to fix it. For those with an electronic background, they behave a bit like 'blue diodes', holding back any poly-stream influence from beyond!
Does that make the 'trigger blocker' a green diode? Beginning to sound like material for one of @Spogg's Flowstone dream sequences .... . .
H
I've posted a revision over there with mono2poly prims inserted, which seems to fix it. For those with an electronic background, they behave a bit like 'blue diodes', holding back any poly-stream influence from beyond!
Does that make the 'trigger blocker' a green diode? Beginning to sound like material for one of @Spogg's Flowstone dream sequences .... . .
H
-
HughBanton - Posts: 265
- Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 3:10 pm
- Location: Evesham, Worcestershire
Re: Mono to Poly question
Also worth drawing attention to - since I've been using the facility myself all day today - is that FS4_64 now incorporates the DSP function 'var{n}' and indeed 'var{n,n,n,n}'.
'n' will always be 0 to 3, to select one of the SSE channels.
What you can do with this is, e.g ..
.. which inserts the values at the four inputs into the four SSE channels of the single variable 'freq'. The assembler code so produced is very similar to that in my previous examples.
'var{n,n,n,n}' might be for when you want to insert the same input value into more than one channel, e.g.
The inputs might be a static float value, or a mono or poly stream.
It's marvalush
H
'n' will always be 0 to 3, to select one of the SSE channels.
What you can do with this is, e.g ..
- Code: Select all
streamin inA, inB, inC, inD;
float freq;
freq{0} = inA; freq{1} = inB; freq{2} = inC; freq{3} = inD;
.. which inserts the values at the four inputs into the four SSE channels of the single variable 'freq'. The assembler code so produced is very similar to that in my previous examples.
'var{n,n,n,n}' might be for when you want to insert the same input value into more than one channel, e.g.
- Code: Select all
streamin inA;
float freq;
freq{0,1,3} = inA;
The inputs might be a static float value, or a mono or poly stream.
It's marvalush
H
-
HughBanton - Posts: 265
- Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 3:10 pm
- Location: Evesham, Worcestershire
8 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 50 guests