If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
VST plugin host?
19 posts
• Page 2 of 2 • 1, 2
Re: VST plugin host?
Your idea would help a little, but distributing someone else's work with out their permission is not something Outsim wants to be a part of I'm sure.tor wrote:this could easily be avoided if FS/SM did not hide the original gui. when you open a plugin or an exe file containing another VST the other VST would open in its own window
You CAN write a VST that controls another VST though via MIDI
- infuzion
- Posts: 109
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 11:55 am
- Location: Kansas City, USA, Earth, Sol
Re: VST plugin host?
If the implemented vst is visible it would be no worse than any other vst host would it? You cant sell a product containing another without a proper deal with the owner.
- tor
- Posts: 114
- Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 5:54 pm
Re: VST plugin host?
Yes, fact is you should try and make for yourself whatever the vst does you want to place inside. As I mentioned earlier, you can do convolution in SM/FS but it IS limited. Ruby is not an option for this code either, at least not to its entirety because of its garbage collection. In fact, I am beginning to wonder if anyone has ran into problems with this. I mean for example, say you have a machine moving and all of a sudden Ruby decides it needs to do some garbage collection. What happens in that regard, does the machine stop while Ruby does it's thing? Please excuse my ignorance as I have yet to really dig into FS and Ruby because there is very little for me to do with it. It does not export VST plugins yet..
- MyDogRamsey
- Posts: 12
- Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 7:29 am
Re: VST plugin host?
Darn, this prog looked really useful but a modular DSP environment without VST hosting (or OSC) isn't generally useful today. There are too many good options that provide both and signal processing simply requires VST to build anything with any sophistication. I'll be hoping for an eventual email announcing it and then I'll be back for another look.
FWIW, licensing issues are moot. We wouldn't have licensed DLL's in Windows without there being a legal framework already in place to deal with that.
Thanks y'all
FWIW, licensing issues are moot. We wouldn't have licensed DLL's in Windows without there being a legal framework already in place to deal with that.
Thanks y'all
- BobCain
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 12:47 am
Re: VST plugin host?
I don't know why you are saying that; most of AcmeBarGigs are sophisticated convolution (licensed by a guy who worked for a CPU manufacturer). Ken's issues have been mostly with the preset system, not convolution.MyDogRamsey wrote:...you can do convolution in SM/FS but it IS limited..
- infuzion
- Posts: 109
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 11:55 am
- Location: Kansas City, USA, Earth, Sol
Re: VST plugin host?
infuzion wrote:I don't know why you are saying that; most of AcmeBarGigs are sophisticated convolution (licensed by a guy who worked for a CPU manufacturer). Ken's issues have been mostly with the preset system, not convolution.MyDogRamsey wrote:...you can do convolution in SM/FS but it IS limited..
So,are you saying its NOT limited? Can you load a 300 k stereo wave file of a room and have it work properly? If you can, then I'm all ears?
- MyDogRamsey
- Posts: 12
- Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 7:29 am
Re: VST plugin host?
you could also use a program like LiveProfessor to chain up your own creations with what ever other plugins you desire.
http://ifoundasound.com/?page_id=8
http://ifoundasound.com/?page_id=8
- tor
- Posts: 114
- Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 5:54 pm
Re: VST plugin host?
Sorry BobCain, as you've no doubt found there's no hosting of VSTs currently. There's always something else you can add and it always seems to be something that you can argue should be there. I think it's fair to say that we'll never be short of ideas for what to do next
I don't know if this will help you but In FS3 you'll be able to farm out Mono processing to your own custom built dlls.If you're using third party stuff in a VST then perhaps this is no use (hmm, unless you could host the VST in the custom dll?)
I just wanted to clear up some things about Ruby in FS. We're using Ruby in FS to provide a nice easy scripting interface. That's the primary aim. It expands the capabilities massively when it comes to GUI work or triggered data processing. It's not intended for cpu intensive audio processing.
Ruby isn't full of bugs. We use the same version of Ruby that's in use in many large web sites. I doubt they would be using it if it was full of bugs.
The timing precision that people have been asking about is solved - it's sample accurate and works really well. The only thing missing is the main thing that people have wanted precise timing for and that's sample precise handling of MIDI events which is coming in FS3.
Ruby gems would be a nice bonus but they were not our main aim. Gems written in pure Ruby should work just fine. The problem comes when the gem has compiled code. Then it depends on what was used to compile that code. If it's gcc (the most common compiler for Ruby gems) there there's likely to be compatibility problems. To work with FS a gem needs to have been compiled using Visual Studio.
Python is nice but it's not as elegant a language. For non-coders we think Ruby is the better option because it's so easy to read and pick up. Not sure if Ruby/Python will work. If it does work (and it may not) then you'll find the same problems with Python libraries as with Ruby gems - if they aren't compiled with Visual Studio then there will be compatibility issues.
Hope this helps to clarify things. Sorry if this doesn't do everything you want.
I don't know if this will help you but In FS3 you'll be able to farm out Mono processing to your own custom built dlls.If you're using third party stuff in a VST then perhaps this is no use (hmm, unless you could host the VST in the custom dll?)
I just wanted to clear up some things about Ruby in FS. We're using Ruby in FS to provide a nice easy scripting interface. That's the primary aim. It expands the capabilities massively when it comes to GUI work or triggered data processing. It's not intended for cpu intensive audio processing.
Ruby isn't full of bugs. We use the same version of Ruby that's in use in many large web sites. I doubt they would be using it if it was full of bugs.
The timing precision that people have been asking about is solved - it's sample accurate and works really well. The only thing missing is the main thing that people have wanted precise timing for and that's sample precise handling of MIDI events which is coming in FS3.
Ruby gems would be a nice bonus but they were not our main aim. Gems written in pure Ruby should work just fine. The problem comes when the gem has compiled code. Then it depends on what was used to compile that code. If it's gcc (the most common compiler for Ruby gems) there there's likely to be compatibility problems. To work with FS a gem needs to have been compiled using Visual Studio.
Python is nice but it's not as elegant a language. For non-coders we think Ruby is the better option because it's so easy to read and pick up. Not sure if Ruby/Python will work. If it does work (and it may not) then you'll find the same problems with Python libraries as with Ruby gems - if they aren't compiled with Visual Studio then there will be compatibility issues.
Hope this helps to clarify things. Sorry if this doesn't do everything you want.
-
support - Posts: 151
- Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 2:10 pm
Re: VST plugin host?
edwardmaya wrote:I'm trying to get a analysis on the attempt stage engaged in developing a barebones exclusive program administrator in C++ or C# but I haven't been able to get any complicated details. Does anybody know any amazing beginning applications, exercising, on the internet alternatives for this kind of thing?
If it issues, the objective would be to a) agree to inbound MIDI activities and b) submission them to the exclusive program. In C++ or C#, if possible.
nutrition in education
Has sense?
go straigth to c++
Need my support for app development, website or custom scripts?
PM me if you are interested.
Experienced Java, J2EE, PHP, Javascript, Angular, Cloud Solutions developer.
PM me if you are interested.
Experienced Java, J2EE, PHP, Javascript, Angular, Cloud Solutions developer.
-
CoreStylerz - Posts: 327
- Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 2:19 am
- Location: italy
19 posts
• Page 2 of 2 • 1, 2
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 93 guests