Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright

A "listview" type module (editing tables)

For general discussion related FlowStone

A "listview" type module (editing tables)

Postby Quentin » Fri Dec 19, 2014 11:50 pm

Hi, I am looking at making an editable list of times that is more friendly then the edit module.
I got started doing it hybrid ruby and flowstone where a ruby hash provides values to each cell in the table using a wireless ruby connection. Each cell is just a modified label module. Each cell sends it position when it is lft clicked, wirelessly, which is the first step to incrementing/editing the value of that cell. This is where it got awkward, sending "position" wireless is additive. I worked around it by in the ruby code by sending 2 triggers
output 0, @position
output 0, nil
and filtering every other on the receiving side.
This seems like a very awkward way of doing a simple thing.
Generally I am interested in better ways to approach editing tables.
Maybe doing the whole table in a single chunk of ruby makes the most sense.
I am novice enough with ruby that I find that without line numbers for errors: development of long chunks of pure ruby UI is painful.
I attached the .fsm example
Any advice on this
Thanks,
Quentin
Attachments
listview.fsm
(2.96 KiB) Downloaded 672 times
Quentin
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 5:35 am

Re: A "listview" type module (editing tables)

Postby KG_is_back » Sat Dec 20, 2014 12:03 am

In your ruby module, you can put:
Code: Select all
if @in!=nil
#your code
end


This way you do not have to filter every second trigger, because the code will run only if actual value is passed in.
KG_is_back
 
Posts: 1196
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: A "listview" type module (editing tables)

Postby billv » Sat Dec 20, 2014 1:48 am

Quentin wrote:Generally I am interested in better ways to approach editing tables.

Trogs "Super Text Box" may be usefull ...its in examples somewhere.. (cant find link ATM)..
billv
 
Posts: 1157
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:34 pm
Location: Australia

Re: A "listview" type module (editing tables)

Postby Quentin » Sat Dec 20, 2014 2:03 am

Good point, that is an improvement. Sending two triggers still seems awkward but with your suggestion, I can live with it.
Thanks
Quentin
Quentin
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 5:35 am

Re: A "listview" type module (editing tables)

Postby Quentin » Tue Dec 23, 2014 8:29 pm

The "super edit box" is an excellent jumping off point, and very well organized, documented.
It took me a second to find it in examples but it's a huge help.
Thanks,
QUentin
Quentin
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 5:35 am

Re: A "listview" type module (editing tables)

Postby billv » Wed Dec 24, 2014 2:06 am

Quentin wrote:It took me a second to find it in examples

Did you use the crappy FS search engine first..???
If yes...
Try using Google next time..
Type in whatever you want followed by "dsp robotics" as the tag..
EG: super text box dsp robotics
Works great for me....havn't used FS search for a while... :D
billv
 
Posts: 1157
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:34 pm
Location: Australia


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 78 guests