If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
Process MIDI data?
13 posts
• Page 1 of 2 • 1, 2
Process MIDI data?
Hi,
is it possible to craete a Plugin (vst instrument) which i can load on a instruemnt track in studio one which
limits the incoming velocity values eg by 80 to 100? and outputs it to another instrument track, please?
Or is therer maybe something ready like this?
is it possible to craete a Plugin (vst instrument) which i can load on a instruemnt track in studio one which
limits the incoming velocity values eg by 80 to 100? and outputs it to another instrument track, please?
Or is therer maybe something ready like this?
- daslicht
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 2:11 pm
Re: Process MIDI data?
Midi can easily be processed with ruby component. Following code will do the job:
3 inputs are required: midi in, integer for min, integer for max and midi output.
In order for it to work, you just create module with this ruby component inside and put midi input and output to it. VST plugin must also have one or two mono inputs and outputs in order to be valid VST.
Your DAW should have a way to route midi into the effect and out of it. I'm not familiar with Studio One, but it's possible in FL studio and Cubase as far as I know.
3 inputs are required: midi in, integer for min, integer for max and midi output.
- Code: Select all
def event i,v,t
note=@ins[0].to_array
if note[0]==144 #if note-on massage
note[3]=[[@ins[1],note[3]].max,@ins[2]].min
end
note=Midi.new(note[0],note[1],note[2],note[3])
output 0,note,t
end
In order for it to work, you just create module with this ruby component inside and put midi input and output to it. VST plugin must also have one or two mono inputs and outputs in order to be valid VST.
Your DAW should have a way to route midi into the effect and out of it. I'm not familiar with Studio One, but it's possible in FL studio and Cubase as far as I know.
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: Process MIDI data?
Thank you ,
I set it up as you described, but the forwared notes seam not to have a note off ?
I just get hung notes.?
I set it up as you described, but the forwared notes seam not to have a note off ?
I just get hung notes.?
- daslicht
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 2:11 pm
Re: Process MIDI data?
I added a fader as int source, but now when i move teh fade it will also send notes:) Thats teh source of teh hung note
I keep fiddeling
I keep fiddeling
- daslicht
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 2:11 pm
Re: Process MIDI data?
How do I just craete notes when the input came from teh midi in and not when something is coming in the 2 other inputs, please?
- daslicht
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 2:11 pm
Re: Process MIDI data?
daslicht wrote:...I just get hung notes.?
If you limit the minimum value you will get hung notes if your keyboard uses note-on with velocity=0 in place of note-off messages (which many seem to do).
Do you mean physical inputs form the external device you're filtering with Flowstone - you'd have to make sure they're coming in on different MIDI channels and make the code sensitive to that.daslicht wrote:How do I just create notes when the input came from the midi in and not when something is coming in the 2 other inputs, please?
Before Ruby, Flowstone (and it predecessor SynthMaker) could do this sort of processing with a MIDI splitter and MIDI event primitives and in conjunction with math and logic components without having to code.
While these can be easy to understand when simple they can get pretty messy once you start including complex behaviour.
This module would pass everything except channel 2 note-on messages unaffected and limit velocity on channel 2 note-on messages to 100.
- Attachments
-
- capture.png (39.38 KiB) Viewed 17493 times
- oddson
- Posts: 36
- Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 12:13 am
Re: Process MIDI data?
oddson wrote:If you limit the minimum value you will get hung notes if your keyboard uses note-on with velocity=0 in place of note-off messages (which many seem to do).
Yeh looks like my controler do not send NoteOff values
I am using Abpletonb Push + PXT General via MIDI Loop
oddson wrote:eDo you mean physical inputs form the external device you're filtering with Flowstone - you'd have to make sure they're coming in on different MIDI channels and make the code sensitive to that.
?
By inputs i was refering to the script above wihc has 3 inputs: midi, int1, int2
- Code: Select all
def event i,v,t
note=@ins[0].to_array
if note[0]==144 #if note-on massage
note[3]=[[@ins[1],note[3]].max,@ins[2]].min
note=Midi.new(note[0],note[1],note[2],note[3])
output 0,note,t
end
end
- daslicht
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 2:11 pm
Re: Process MIDI data?
Ok hung notes are solved at least when playing, but when I move slider 1 the else branch is fired.
so essential I am looking for something like :
idea?
seeL: http://i.imgur.com/2pKcVlR.png
so essential I am looking for something like :
- Code: Select all
if some value comes from input 1 or 2 (0 is the midi input) do not fire any midi event
idea?
seeL: http://i.imgur.com/2pKcVlR.png
- Code: Select all
def event i,v,t
note=@ins[0].to_array
min = 50
max = 100
watch @ins[1]
if note[0]==144 && note[3] > 0 #if note-on massage
#note[3]=[[@ins[1],note[3]].max,@ins[2]].min
note=Midi.new(144,note[1],note[2],100)
output 0,note,t
else
note=Midi.new(128,note[1],note[2],100)
output 0,note,t
end
end
- daslicht
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 2:11 pm
Re: Process MIDI data?
- Code: Select all
def event i,v,t
if i != 1 && i != 2 ### i tells either the name or the index of the input ###
### that fired the event. Alternatively you could set ###
### 'if i == 0', but I followed exactly what you wrote ###
note = v.to_array if v != nil
if note[0] == 144
if note[3] > 0
note=Midi.new(144,note[1],note[2],100)
else
note=Midi.new(128,note[1],note[2],100)
end
output 0,note,t
end
end
end
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Process MIDI data?
oddson wrote:This module would pass everything except channel 2 note-on messages unaffected and limit velocity on channel 2 note-on messages to 100.
Clean and easy-to-follow green solution. Good job!
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
13 posts
• Page 1 of 2 • 1, 2
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 96 guests