Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright

Graphing Data

For general discussion related FlowStone

Graphing Data

Postby Eugene529 » Fri Oct 19, 2012 10:33 pm

Is there a way to create x,y data graphs (Floating point numbers)?
Eugene529
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:15 pm

Re: Graphing Data

Postby support » Sat Oct 20, 2012 9:34 am

There is a Graph Module in FlowStone that takes an array of floats and draws a graph. If you look at the FFT Module you will see how it is done.

eg.
Graph clip.png
Graph clip.png (92.82 KiB) Viewed 16148 times
Attachments
Graph.fsm
(3.41 KiB) Downloaded 971 times
User avatar
support
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 2:10 pm

Re: Graphing Data

Postby Eugene529 » Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:37 pm

These displays appear to output a graph of a floating point variable and time. Is there a way to graph two independent variables?
Eugene529
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:15 pm

Re: Graphing Data

Postby Eugene529 » Mon Oct 22, 2012 5:08 pm

I would guess that the function I need to experiment with is the Point Array Lines. I this correct?
Eugene529
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:15 pm

Re: Graphing Data

Postby support » Mon Oct 22, 2012 8:22 pm

Yes correct but now we have Ruby there is a better way:

Ruby Graph clip.png
Ruby Graph clip.png (55.1 KiB) Viewed 16149 times
Attachments
Ruby Graph.fsm
(1.08 KiB) Downloaded 1018 times
User avatar
support
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 2:10 pm

Re: Graphing Data

Postby aronb » Fri Feb 28, 2014 11:04 pm

I need to graph the output of 2 oscillators (think lissajous)...

I could use the Point Array Lines but it auto scales the graph... :evil:

Please, how do you stop it from auto scaling?

I want the graph to be scaled at -1 to 1 on both axis regardless of what I input... as may signal (pattern) gets small I want to see it get small NOT have the graph automatically "gain up".

Very frustrating.

Aron
Attachments
XY_Scope.fsm
XY_Scope Schematic
(833 Bytes) Downloaded 892 times
User avatar
aronb
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 3:08 am
Location: Florida, USA

Re: Graphing Data

Postby Jay » Sat Mar 01, 2014 5:47 am

Do you want it to be scaled in size comparible to the volume/level of the signals?

like this?
XY_Scope-1.fsm
(32.04 KiB) Downloaded 888 times
Jay
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 5:42 pm

Re: Graphing Data

Postby aronb » Mon Mar 03, 2014 4:40 am

Well I guess... this works to some extent.

The use of the envelope to calculate the area based on the x signal (or y or both) makes it work for some frequency. As the frequency is lowered the scope becomes jittery.

Thanks for the fix, it is quite ingenious!

I was hoping that a version existed that did not "autoscale" and did not need to be "tricked".

I included an offset to show the remaining issue...

We just need a good XY Display with color capability... like an old Vector Monitor - think old school arcade vector games. Or again the Point Array Lines module WITHOUT "autoscale"... I can't even think why you would want a module to falsely add gain to something you want to display in the first place.

Thanks for the help,

Aron
Attachments
XY_Scope_2.fsm
(39.96 KiB) Downloaded 897 times
User avatar
aronb
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 3:08 am
Location: Florida, USA


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 58 guests