Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright

How do synced modules manage parameter values?

For general discussion related FlowStone

How do synced modules manage parameter values?

Postby Perfect Human Interface » Thu Mar 12, 2015 10:40 pm

This is something I've never really thought about because I've never had to. But how do synced modules manage parameter values between them? For example, if you add float value of 2 to one module, all modules will get that 2. If you change the value it changes for all modules. But if you link a knob to it, those knob values change independently. If you change a preset name in a knob, those values change independently. This is great because it lets you develop with synced modules while being able to adjust GUI parameters independently as you should. But how does Flowstone know what to sync and not to sync?

I currently am trying to set a string value to set an inherited preset name in a module but the linked modules always get identical values. I didn't want to un-sync them for such a little thing.

Also apparently syncing modules inside of synced modules breaks. I have two sync modules, then put two new modules inside one of the original modules and synced the two new modules, and the new modules in the other original module did not sync, neither did they receive any of the changes inside the new modules from the other synced original module. :P That doesn't seem unusual but it's good to know you can't nest synced modules.

In theory I guess I could use that to disassociate the string value I'm trying to change. :lol:
Perfect Human Interface
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm

Re: How do synced modules manage parameter values?

Postby KG_is_back » Thu Mar 12, 2015 11:17 pm

The way I believe syncing works in Flowstone is, that when you have synced modules Flowstone instantly repeats every editing you make in any of them. Some actions are considered editing the module and other don't.

Editing the module is: adding/moving/removing modules and prims inside the module. Changing links in any way. Manually changing contents of some prims (namely int/float/bool/string/text prim and Code/Ruby/ASM component). Changing names of prims/modules/inputs/outputs and marking them as properties.

Actions that are not considered editing the module (and therefore do not trigger syncing) are:
Receiving inputs (including wireless inputs and mouse interaction with GUI) and editing Properties of the module (including child modules).
KG_is_back
 
Posts: 1196
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: How do synced modules manage parameter values?

Postby Perfect Human Interface » Thu Mar 12, 2015 11:18 pm

That's a perfect explanation!
Perfect Human Interface
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm

Re: How do synced modules manage parameter values?

Postby RJHollins » Fri Mar 13, 2015 1:23 am

Thanks for the skoolin' KG ;)

8-)
RJHollins
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm

Re: How do synced modules manage parameter values?

Postby Spogg » Sat May 14, 2016 10:14 am

I've read the stuff above but I found an "issue" not mentioned here and I suspect a bug.

-I have 6 synced modules.
-I create a new sub-module with its own small front panel and copy it into one of the synced modules and connect it.
-It correctly appears instantly and functions as intended in all 6 parent modules.

The problem:
if I re-arrange (even slightly) the front panel arrangement in the new child module the child module in the other 5 don't track it correctly. The position of the labels and controls do move but to slightly different positions to the one I'm re-arranging. In this way it's not possible to set the parent front panel up correctly unless I un-sync and edit each of the six parents independently. Which is a pain, especially in my current project.

I've tried to paste in the new child module itself synced, but with the 6 parent modules not synced, and I still have the same issue when organising the child's front panel.
I've tried to paste into the synced parent with synced child modules (sync nesting) but I see from this topic that's not allowed but it does sync but with the same layout problem.
I've tried to start the pasting with the controls and labels set to snap-in grid positions but still the same issue.
I've restarted flowstone but it's reproducible.

It seems to me that front panel layout sync is broken, because it tries to sync (stuff all moves around) so it appears that it's intended to work.

So, any ideas or help? I hope it's me and I'm breaking some unwritten rule (no mention in the user guide).

If this isn't clear I can make something to upload but I thought I'd just ask first...

Cheers

Spogg
User avatar
Spogg
 
Posts: 3358
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:24 pm
Location: Birmingham, England

Re: How do synced modules manage parameter values?

Postby tulamide » Sat May 14, 2016 11:40 am

Spogg wrote:If this isn't clear I can make something to upload but I thought I'd just ask first...

Maybe an example would help.
If I understood correctly, I couldn't reproduce it. My test:
I copied "Knob - Static With Gauge" 6x from the toolbox and synchronized them. Then I created a module from "Switch" and "Switch - LED" and copied this module into the first Gauge. Then, inside of that module, I changed the layout of the new module by moving "Switch - LED" a bit to the right. It was absolutely synchronous to all the other 5 modules.
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
tulamide
 
Posts: 2714
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
Location: Germany

Re: How do synced modules manage parameter values?

Postby Spogg » Sat May 14, 2016 12:45 pm

OK I think you have understood me correctly tulamide.
I'll sort something out when I have a bit of time (busy today!). Maybe it's a specific schematic corruption (had this before) so I'll try making a test one from scratch...

Cheers

Spogg
User avatar
Spogg
 
Posts: 3358
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:24 pm
Location: Birmingham, England

Re: How do synced modules manage parameter values?

Postby Spogg » Sun May 15, 2016 3:22 pm

Well it's reproducible for me :o

Here's a simple schematic I knocked up with a similar architecture to the project where I first encountered this issue.
I've not really taken advantage of syncing before but I thought it would be useful for my current project but this is a deal breaker, for layout anyway.

I've put a note inside the schematic but it's pretty obvious. Can this be corrected without deleting and re-doing anything?
I feel certain this isn't as it should be...
This is in version 3.08.1

Any help or comments would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers

Spogg
Attachments
front panel layout doesn't synchronise properly.fsm
This is ONLY to illustrate a problem!
(387.27 KiB) Downloaded 947 times
User avatar
Spogg
 
Posts: 3358
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:24 pm
Location: Birmingham, England

Re: How do synced modules manage parameter values?

Postby Nubeat7 » Sun May 15, 2016 3:52 pm

works as it should do here on 3.06
User avatar
Nubeat7
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Vienna

Re: How do synced modules manage parameter values?

Postby tulamide » Sun May 15, 2016 3:56 pm

Works here as well.

Nothing was changed on the sync system, so I doubt it has to do with it. But maybe someone with 3.0.8.1 can confirm?

EDIT: Added a fsm for you to play with. Go into the first adsr, look for "meter-db" and inside the view select the meter. Ctrl-drag to finetune the position and look what's displayed in the higher layers.
Attachments
sync_test_spogg.fsm
(79.33 KiB) Downloaded 902 times
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
tulamide
 
Posts: 2714
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
Location: Germany

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 55 guests