Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright

Ring Mod gives a diffrent octave?

For general discussion related FlowStone

Ring Mod gives a diffrent octave?

Postby djbrynte » Fri Mar 13, 2015 4:30 pm

streamin in1;
streamin in2;
streamin mix;
streamout out;
out = mix*(in1*in2 - in1) + in1;

I have this code for ring mod. And when i use ring mod on another osc so i use 2 ring mods then this oscilator gets another pitch.
djbrynte
 
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:51 am

Re: Ring Mod gives a diffrent octave?

Postby djbrynte » Fri Mar 13, 2015 5:06 pm

the error can also be in this code.

streamin in;
streamin volctl;
streamin vol3;
streamin vol1234;
streamout out;
float F1=1;
float F0=0;
float FP5=0.5;

movaps xmm0,vol3;
addps xmm0,vol1234;
mulps xmm0,FP5;
minps xmm0,F1;
maxps xmm0,F0;
mulps xmm0,in;
mulps xmm0,volctl;
movaps out,xmm0;
djbrynte
 
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:51 am

Re: Ring Mod gives a diffrent octave?

Postby Perfect Human Interface » Fri Mar 13, 2015 7:05 pm

That's what ring mod does. The original frequency content, including the fundamental, is gone in ring modulation.

In ring modulation, the resulting signal frequencies are the sum and difference of the source signal frequencies. The original frequencies are not preserved. If you want them to be preserved, that's amplitude modulation.

Ring modulation is simply Signal A * Signal B. Amplitude modulation is Signal A * (Signal B + 1) <--(all values are positive)
Perfect Human Interface
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm

Re: Ring Mod gives a diffrent octave?

Postby djbrynte » Fri Mar 13, 2015 7:15 pm

Mybe u can help me have a look. I have ring mod on osc 1 osc3 and osc 6. But the normal octave is diffrent on osc 3 and 6. The rest is the same tune. There is strange problem. So the tune is changed on osc3 and Osc6 when ring mod is off.
djbrynte
 
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:51 am

Re: Ring Mod gives a diffrent octave?

Postby djbrynte » Sat Mar 14, 2015 8:57 pm

i fixed it.
djbrynte
 
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:51 am


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 75 guests