If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
Bad Font Alignment
7 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Bad Font Alignment
I created a pixel font, but found FS can't seem to render it correctly. It should be pixel-perfect, but it's blurry. Font size is set to 1, no alignment setting, style is "regular." It simply doesn't line up to pixels.
Not only is the placement of the text off but the spacing is too. So no hope of fixing it by setting x/y with area to float.
It should be exactly 1 pixel between each character. You can see it's a little wider.
This font renders perfectly in Photoshop, no problem.
Not expecting a fix for this, but I thought I would at least point it out. I'm not sure if this has any real effect on most other fonts. It is kind of a bummer though as it means I can't do what I was hoping to without rendering out all the characters and then writing a code to draw them all out.
Not only is the placement of the text off but the spacing is too. So no hope of fixing it by setting x/y with area to float.
It should be exactly 1 pixel between each character. You can see it's a little wider.
This font renders perfectly in Photoshop, no problem.
Not expecting a fix for this, but I thought I would at least point it out. I'm not sure if this has any real effect on most other fonts. It is kind of a bummer though as it means I can't do what I was hoping to without rendering out all the characters and then writing a code to draw them all out.
- Perfect Human Interface
- Posts: 643
- Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm
Re: Bad Font Alignment
In Ruby you can change the Font Rendering Method.
Use the method setTextRenderingHint with one of the follwing arguments:
"off"
"singleBitPerPixelGridFit" -try this
"singleBitPerPixel" -or this one for your font
"antiAliasGridFit" -I like this one for small font sizes and transparent background when using normal fonts
"antiAlias" -this is the default setting and looks very blurry
"clearTypeGridFit" -this usually looks best with normal fonts but doesn't work if the background is transparent
Here's also an advanced label for quick testing and comparing of these options.
Use the method setTextRenderingHint with one of the follwing arguments:
"off"
"singleBitPerPixelGridFit" -try this
"singleBitPerPixel" -or this one for your font
"antiAliasGridFit" -I like this one for small font sizes and transparent background when using normal fonts
"antiAlias" -this is the default setting and looks very blurry
"clearTypeGridFit" -this usually looks best with normal fonts but doesn't work if the background is transparent
Here's also an advanced label for quick testing and comparing of these options.
- Attachments
-
- label.fsm
- (1.08 KiB) Downloaded 805 times
- TheOm
- Posts: 103
- Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 7:35 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Bad Font Alignment
Hey mate do this save the fonts. So for example if another guy open my synth if i used font BLABLA. and he doesent have it. Does it still show this font blabla?
- djbrynte
- Posts: 613
- Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:51 am
Re: Bad Font Alignment
TheOm wrote:In Ruby you can change the Font Rendering Method.
http://38.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lvr97 ... r1_500.png
djbrynte wrote:Hey mate do this save the fonts. So for example if another guy open my synth if i used font BLABLA. and he doesent have it. Does it still show this font blabla?
It'll have to be installed on the machine in order for it to be used in the plugin.
...unless there's a magic Ruby function to load fonts from a folder or stored in a schematic as well.
Actually if you could just install a font from within ruby that might at least let you avoid creating an exe installer.
- Perfect Human Interface
- Posts: 643
- Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm
Re: Bad Font Alignment
Hi, bumping the old thread here. I've been putting TheOm's ruby label above to good use. There's an issue though that, consistently, the label will "forget" the vertical alignment setting when the project is reloaded, and ONLY the vertical alignment (even though both vertical and horizontal alignment are being combined into one string format connector). Of course it rights itself if you send it a trigger.
Anyone know how to fix this? Continue to be baffled by Ruby load issues. :S
Anyone know how to fix this? Continue to be baffled by Ruby load issues. :S
- Perfect Human Interface
- Posts: 643
- Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm
Re: Bad Font Alignment
Perfect Human Interface wrote:Continue to be baffled by Ruby load issues. :S
Sigh.. Indeed, it's really annoying
This can be fixed by adding After Load and After Duplicate.
- Attachments
-
- Advanced Label.fsm
- (1.05 KiB) Downloaded 769 times
Last edited by TheOm on Wed Mar 18, 2015 3:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- TheOm
- Posts: 103
- Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 7:35 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Bad Font Alignment
TheOm wrote:This can be fixed it by adding After Load and After Duplicate.
Yeah, I was hoping for a more "proper" solution. I'll stick with that until then. Thanks
- Perfect Human Interface
- Posts: 643
- Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm
7 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 39 guests