Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright

MouseOver bug

For general discussion related FlowStone

Re: MouseOver bug

Postby tulamide » Tue Mar 24, 2015 12:50 am

Perfect Human Interface wrote:(I'm assuming, though I don't know, that mouse moves will use more CPU depending on the size of the gui area)
That's not the case. The only thing that affects CPU load is the amount of the mouse messages. If your mouse sends 500 signals per second, Flowstone gets 500 mouse messages. Also, this is a one time factor. Once it is enabled somewhere, all system's move messages are evaluated. It doesn't change with the number of modules (where it is activated) nor the size of a panel.

Perfect Human Interface wrote:But why? Might as well enable it for the entire project if you're going to force that. And as I mentioned, the odd thing is that it works fine if you enable front panel without placing an actual MGUI object, so why can't it work with the MGUI?
It does. It just makes it an option, while without a mgui it is always on and send through.

Perfect Human Interface wrote:I would hope it doesn't affect performance... I agree it can be bothersome at times, but others it makes things far simpler. If I have 10 different elements in one small chunk of interface, and I want to move all of that together on the top-level GUI, it's far easier to just click and drag it as one object. Also I have two big chunks of my GUI synced, which makes things much easier since I don't have to make every single change twice and make sure they're exactly the same. Also there's purportedly a feature added in the latest release that lets you move individual elements wrapped in another MGUI from the top level.
It shouldn't affect performance. Technically, everything you see on your monitor is one big bitmap, composed of other bitmaps from running applications, widgets, etc.. The same is true for Flowstone. Everything you see on the top front panel is one bitmap. The difference from having no layer and drawing everything to the topmost panel, or having, say, 4 different modules is just the creation of additional 4 bitmaps, which is done at a speed that is neglectable (keyword "bit blit").

But thanks to Exo we know that modules itself, no matter their content, affect performance. So it is still advisable to not nest them too deep. Keep it at 2 or 3 layers and you're safe.
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
tulamide
 
Posts: 2714
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
Location: Germany

Re: MouseOver bug

Postby Perfect Human Interface » Tue Mar 24, 2015 1:39 am

tulamide wrote:
Perfect Human Interface wrote:(I'm assuming, though I don't know, that mouse moves will use more CPU depending on the size of the gui area)
That's not the case. The only thing that affects CPU load is the amount of the mouse messages. If your mouse sends 500 signals per second, Flowstone gets 500 mouse messages. Also, this is a one time factor. Once it is enabled somewhere, all system's move messages are evaluated. It doesn't change with the number of modules (where it is activated) nor the size of a panel.


OK, this is the key here! I need to understand this correctly though. From the way you're describing it, it would seem I really could just enable mouse moves on the top level for the whole project and it would be no difference in performance compared to just enabling it for one knob or something. Is that true? My assumption was that, at least, it would only eat CPU when the mouse was over the given area, meaning it would do so less if it was only a small section compared to the entire GUI.

But thanks to Exo we know that modules itself, no matter their content, affect performance. So it is still advisable to not nest them too deep. Keep it at 2 or 3 layers and you're safe.


Haha, unfortunately, my knobs alone are like 7 deep, nevermind everything else. It's definitely good to keep in mind, but I'm not ready to create entire projects out of Ruby (which isn't exactly fast itself).
Perfect Human Interface
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm

Re: MouseOver bug

Postby RJHollins » Tue Mar 24, 2015 1:43 am

Good stuff Guys !

It's an education just following along and getting insights on the 'nature of the beast' ... particularly when optimization for smooth performance is part of the goal.

8-)
RJHollins
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm

Re: MouseOver bug

Postby tulamide » Tue Mar 24, 2015 6:14 pm

Perfect Human Interface wrote:OK, this is the key here! I need to understand this correctly though. From the way you're describing it, it would seem I really could just enable mouse moves on the top level for the whole project and it would be no difference in performance compared to just enabling it for one knob or something. Is that true?
Basically, yes.

Perfect Human Interface wrote:My assumption was that, at least, it would only eat CPU when the mouse was over the given area, meaning it would do so less if it was only a small section compared to the entire GUI.
That's wrong. A mouse over is just a simple rectangle check. Where humans do just see that the mouse is over some spot, computers have to use math to evaluate that. So with the incoming mouse message, Flowstone has to calculate a position anyway. The size of the rectangle for that check doesn't matter (it's the same procedure, just other values)

Perfect Human Interface wrote:Ruby (which isn't exactly fast itself).
It is as at least as fast as green. In some situations, better structuring in Ruby makes it faster than green.
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
tulamide
 
Posts: 2714
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
Location: Germany

Re: MouseOver bug

Postby RJHollins » Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:58 pm

I wonder if some of the CPU use/speed is related to 'screen redraws' :?:

What I've read, here, is that sometimes minimizing the re-draw area can improve response. This is not much related to mouse STATUS as it is to updating sections of the GUI.

Again ... just a wonder :roll:
RJHollins
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm

Re: MouseOver bug

Postby Perfect Human Interface » Sun Mar 29, 2015 3:14 am

tulamide wrote:Basically, yes.


Thanks Tulamide

It is as at least as fast as green. In some situations, better structuring in Ruby makes it faster than green.


How did you come to this understanding? I can understand how it could be faster, but never slower?
Perfect Human Interface
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm

Re: MouseOver bug

Postby tulamide » Sun Mar 29, 2015 11:00 am

Perfect Human Interface wrote:How did you come to this understanding? I can understand how it could be faster, but never slower?

Both Flowstone and Ruby are interpreters. Both have optimized C/C++ Code under the hood. Ruby in Version 1.9.3 (which is used here) is, for example, 2x as fast as Python (another interpreter). Ruby runs independantly from Flowstone. They just met when Flowstone passes data to the Ruby editor, takes them from the editor, or when Ruby requests access to Flowstone data (e.g. the front panel). Given all that I can't imagine any situation where Ruby could be slower.

Besides that it's also more versatile. The IO class alone is worth using Ruby, not mentioning the most advanced arrays I've seen so far. Green is good. If you want to realize more complex things, Ruby is at least just as good :)
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
tulamide
 
Posts: 2714
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
Location: Germany

Re: MouseOver bug

Postby Perfect Human Interface » Sun Mar 29, 2015 11:26 am

Thanks for taking the time to answer all my questions.
Perfect Human Interface
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm

Previous

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 85 guests