If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
xy to control 4 source levels
8 posts
• Page 1 of 1
xy to control 4 source levels
Hi Guys,
I'm having a bit of a mental melt down as I am trying to do something that seems simple but for some reason is frying my brain, I'm trying to create a control interface that controls and mixes between 4 separate audio sources. The idea is that each corner effectively selects a source but when the position of the cursor is moved it mixes evenly between them, I have a kind of working version of this but the mix is not even between the sources. If anyone could help me getting this working that would be great or suggest a better technique to do what I am trying to achieve. Here is a basic template.
Many thanks In advance.
- blatantleesly
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 2:46 pm
Re: xy to control 4 source levels
Here you are
Let's assume top-left stands for source 1, top-right for source 2, bottom-right for source 3, and bottom-left for source 4.
Since you use a rectangular pad and not a circular, the longest distance are the diagonals. So, if source 1 = level 1.0 then source 3 = level 0.0, etc. That also means, source 1 is not at level 0.0 when source 4 is at level 1.0
In the center they are evenly leveled. At a scale of 1 they sum up to a total level of 2.0 (4 times 0.5). If you prefer a lower total level, just look for this line
and change the number to whatever seems reasonable to you. (Example: @scale = 0.5 means the max level is 0.5, so they sum up to 1.0 when centered = 4 times 0.25)
Let's assume top-left stands for source 1, top-right for source 2, bottom-right for source 3, and bottom-left for source 4.
Since you use a rectangular pad and not a circular, the longest distance are the diagonals. So, if source 1 = level 1.0 then source 3 = level 0.0, etc. That also means, source 1 is not at level 0.0 when source 4 is at level 1.0
In the center they are evenly leveled. At a scale of 1 they sum up to a total level of 2.0 (4 times 0.5). If you prefer a lower total level, just look for this line
- Code: Select all
@scale = 1.0
and change the number to whatever seems reasonable to you. (Example: @scale = 0.5 means the max level is 0.5, so they sum up to 1.0 when centered = 4 times 0.25)
- Attachments
-
- xY to control 4 source levels (tula).fsm
- (3.03 KiB) Downloaded 875 times
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: xy to control 4 source levels
Hi tulamide
This looks potentially very useful for Lissajou stuff and more. Unfortunately I get an error in the Ruby Component, see below.
The hex code at the end of the error line changes with the x/y position on the 'joystick' but all the 4 float output values stay at 0.25.
I'm on the latest FS 3.08.1 and I wish I knew some Ruby to fix this because it looks great!
Cheers
Spogg
This looks potentially very useful for Lissajou stuff and more. Unfortunately I get an error in the Ruby Component, see below.
The hex code at the end of the error line changes with the x/y position on the 'joystick' but all the 4 float output values stay at 0.25.
I'm on the latest FS 3.08.1 and I wish I knew some Ruby to fix this because it looks great!
Cheers
Spogg
-
Spogg - Posts: 3358
- Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:24 pm
- Location: Birmingham, England
Re: xy to control 4 source levels
I got the same error. If you rename x by z (both input and code) it disappears. Ugly FS bug that is!
-
martinvicanek - Posts: 1328
- Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 8:28 pm
Re: xy to control 4 source levels
As Martin says, we just determined '@x' being the cause. It is not the automatically generated variable that belongs to the input named 'x', but seems to be overriden by something internal. It is a bug from my point of view, since this was never before an issue and only happens under 3.0.8.1 (3.0.8 also?)
Until this is fixed, avoid naming any input 'x'
EDIT: Also, if you wish to use the RubyEdit-Code without the x/y-pad, keep in mind that this was made for that special pad, which means, it will only work correctly, if the bottom/highest y refers to 0, and the top/lowest to 1. It has to be mentioned because most of Computer graphics work the other way round (top = 0, bottom = 1)
Until this is fixed, avoid naming any input 'x'
EDIT: Also, if you wish to use the RubyEdit-Code without the x/y-pad, keep in mind that this was made for that special pad, which means, it will only work correctly, if the bottom/highest y refers to 0, and the top/lowest to 1. It has to be mentioned because most of Computer graphics work the other way round (top = 0, bottom = 1)
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
ab (was xy) to control 4 source levels
Now that we have this sorted out let me offer a simple alternative based on bilinear interpolation.
- Attachments
-
- xY to control 4 source levels MV.fsm
- (2.79 KiB) Downloaded 814 times
-
martinvicanek - Posts: 1328
- Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 8:28 pm
Re: xy to control 4 source levels
Thanks for that Martin. Works fine for me
Cheers
Spogg
Cheers
Spogg
-
Spogg - Posts: 3358
- Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:24 pm
- Location: Birmingham, England
Re: xy to control 4 source levels
Thanks guys, You are lifesavers!!!!
- blatantleesly
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 2:46 pm
8 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 84 guests