Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright

DUPLICATES - SAVE RAM???

For general discussion related FlowStone

DUPLICATES - SAVE RAM???

Postby Clemens W » Thu Sep 03, 2015 4:28 pm

Here I have a topic, which could be a VERY IMPORTANT question for EVERYONE here:

HOW can I create VST's the way that DAWs do recognize them as duplicates and don't create always NEW memory for a copied VST-instance???

So I made a plugIn with 30mb and I use it 60+ times (which happens really often in orchestral mixing) in Cubase then it takes +1800MB !!! of RAM. :?

With C++ -made PlugIns there isn't that problem: One has 28MB RAM and if I use many of it then Cubase stays at +28MB.

Is there any way to accomplish that important issue in Flowstone?

Thanks!!!
Clemens W
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 2:11 pm

Re: DUPLICATES - SAVE RAM???

Postby KG_is_back » Thu Sep 03, 2015 5:56 pm

This is a very hard question. Most memory data is expected to be specific for each plugin (for example each delay plugin needs its own buffer to store audio). You could save certain data types in class variables or as constants in ruby and they should be shared among individual instances of the plugin. That may be harder to implement than it seems. For example you could store wavetables in frames in ruby, but it's hard to use them (I tried to make custom wave array module but it has proven to be very unstable).
KG_is_back
 
Posts: 1196
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: DUPLICATES - SAVE RAM???

Postby Clemens W » Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:59 am

Ok I have an Idea now: EXTERNAL DLL's

If I separate those RAM-consuming segments into an external dll, then maybe it could work, that I save RAM while duplicating.
Bitmaps could be stored in a external flowstone-created dll which then could be accessed on demand (audioprocessing modules or bitmaps, whatever). I don't care if I would create a dozen dll's for that - performance wins.

Has anyone maybe tried that out?
Clemens W
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 2:11 pm


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 64 guests