If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
Render a View to a Bitmap - Some questions
Re: Render a View to a Bitmap - Some questions
I've been following this thread, not in detail, but you might find this tutorial useful.
Cheers
Spogg
Cheers
Spogg
- Attachments
-
- Trigger Tutorial 003.zip
- Old but good! By Trogluddite.
- (595.19 KiB) Downloaded 861 times
-
Spogg - Posts: 3358
- Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:24 pm
- Location: Birmingham, England
Re: Render a View to a Bitmap - Some questions
Nowhk wrote:(But you can't check the arrays if you don't know the origin of them)
you don't need to know the origin, just check if they are empty or nil, or they have the same lenght or what ever you need...
and to repeat myself again, you can also input the whole wave as one array and draw the waveform from that, so you avoid the problem completely...
just wait till the channel info has arrived and then process the wavecoordinates..
Nowhk wrote:there isn't any sequence on how triggers are invoked
YOU define how the triggers are invoked, sure when you load something huge, there is always the question when it is done, thats tricky sometimes, in situations like this you need to find a way to check if it is done or not...
i really recommend to read the trigger tutorial spogg have postet, thank you spogg for sharing it here! ..
-
Nubeat7 - Posts: 1347
- Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
- Location: Vienna
Re: Render a View to a Bitmap - Some questions
Spogg wrote:I've been following this thread, not in detail, but you might find this tutorial useful.
Thanks. I've got some new tips and functions in general, but unfortunatly this can't fix my actual problem right now (which is related to Loading/Sync from Preset at the end, more or less).
Nubeat7 wrote:YOU define how the triggers are invoked
I'm not really sure you can always define the triggers and how they need to be invoked in FlowStone. Look at this:
Preset String load the S from preset after the "After Load" (so when I load the VST, it will never refresh to the new value from preset, but always the one from schematic).
Even if I sync the array of coordinates and channels in Ruby before calculate its coordinates, I need first to hold and sync the loading of "path" from preset. And I'm not really sure I can do it here, since, as I said, there is no timing/sequence/trace of parents here.
Maybe there is path/string from preset, maybe not. And I don't know when this trigger happens and if happen from schematic or from Preset (so decide which is the last one, i.e. the more updated value), and when to trigger it.
- Nowhk
- Posts: 275
- Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:45 pm
Re: Render a View to a Bitmap - Some questions
here is a good example how it should work fine..
http://flowstone.guru/downloads/sample-looperplayer/
and here a workaround for long paths, in case that the path is to long to get saved correctly with the string preset primitive...
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3855&p=21274&hilit=sampler+example#p21274
http://flowstone.guru/downloads/sample-looperplayer/
and here a workaround for long paths, in case that the path is to long to get saved correctly with the string preset primitive...
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3855&p=21274&hilit=sampler+example#p21274
-
Nubeat7 - Posts: 1347
- Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
- Location: Vienna
Re: Render a View to a Bitmap - Some questions
Nowhk wrote:I'm not really sure you can always define the triggers and how they need to be invoked in FlowStone. Look at this:
Preset String load the S from preset after the "After Load" (so when I load the VST, it will never refresh to the new value from preset, but always the one from schematic).
Why do you use a s&h? The purpose of it is to not ask back to the preset string, but keep its value until the preset string sends a trigger! That's the complete opposite of what you want to achieve.
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Render a View to a Bitmap - Some questions
tulamide wrote:Nowhk wrote:I'm not really sure you can always define the triggers and how they need to be invoked in FlowStone. Look at this:
Preset String load the S from preset after the "After Load" (so when I load the VST, it will never refresh to the new value from preset, but always the one from schematic).
Why do you use a s&h? The purpose of it is to not ask back to the preset string, but keep its value until the preset string sends a trigger! That's the complete opposite of what you want to achieve.
When you load the schematic, it loads [F]s from mem, than from preset string (or the opposite, as you say is unpredictable). Since triggers are not sequenced, it could (in order) load/trigger part of different mem. Let say mem is linked to Min/max prim (which output 4 array at different timing), Left min array is sent to ruby from the mem of schematic. Then preset string trigger before other arrays come to ruby, and I could have at the same time [F]s from two different mem (the one loaded by schematic and the one generated by WaveFile prim after it got new path from Preset string).
Thats why I thought to s&h: dont load anything till the last (more updated) wavefile need to be processed. I can't see any other way to use the most updated (splitted) arrays all together. But seems I cant since I can't know when Preset string acts. (note: If preset string is empty, the data that need to be processed is just the one from schematic, of course).
Maybe I'm really so stupid to not get this; but after what you say, there could be panic everywhere if triggers works this way (this is a case for example). Or I'm missing some important chapters that I don't see...
- Nowhk
- Posts: 275
- Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:45 pm
Re: Render a View to a Bitmap - Some questions
Nowhk wrote:Or I'm missing some important chapters that I don't see...
I told you exactly that days (or was it weeks?) ago. Let's take all theorizing aside:
Flowstone (and its predecessor Synthmaker) have a long tradition. Existing for so many years, hundreds, if not thousands of plugins were created, all with working presets and of course working schematics. If triggers were as you think they are, would a sampler plugin be possible (there are romplers out there)? Would plugins like these (for the record, those are from Nubeat7) be possible at all?
Nobody ever had such problems understanding triggers. What do you think, is it you or Flowstone? You don't listen to me, you don't listen to Nubeat7. Just work on your projects! The core of programming is to find solutions, but you spend your time trying to find possible issues. You will face more than enough issues without creating your own ones!
Stop thinking, start doing. And if you can't get used to how things work without exactly knowing how, Flowstone might not be the right tool for you. No, I'm not rude. To work with Flowstone you need quite a bit confidence in it.
I just look at Spogg right now. Came here without knowing Flowstone, had some fun, and was able to produce working synths within a quarter of the time you spent on finding possible issues.
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Render a View to a Bitmap - Some questions
tulamide wrote:within a quarter of the time you spent on finding possible issues.
But man, I've actually found a issue on my project I'm not "dreaming" possible issues. Say that 99/100 times it works doesn't mean it always work. That's not my habit of programming (and nobody should live with it).
FlowStone is stronger than what I've thought about it, and of course I don't want to do wrong things with it since it has many potentiality.
Nubeat7 wrote:here is a good example how it should work fine..
http://flowstone.guru/downloads/sample-looperplayer/
It suffers my same problem. Even if it will works (as for my example) with a ratio of 99,999/100.
For the theory of Triggers (even if I need to read with more accuracy the Spogg pdf suggestion) it could fail.
See this example below. If this happens (I see it is "hard", but it could since Triggers acts asap without any sequence, as you said):
when Ruby reaches both Array (step 3 and 8) and check them with the tulamide code counter method, it will process one array from the wave stored in mem and the other one from wave stored in the preset. This is a ISSUE. Not a possible issue. Its real. And I don't see how to fix it since I've no control on Preset String prim.
I don't want use a single array and a single M2F as I did before: your method is faster, clearer and lighter; since, when I save the schematic it save to it 4 array of 200/300 points, not one of 700.000 (it often freeze the application itself).
Nubeat7 wrote:and here a workaround for long paths, in case that the path is to long to get saved correctly with the string preset primitive...
Thanks. Very useful.
- Nowhk
- Posts: 275
- Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:45 pm
Re: Render a View to a Bitmap - Some questions
Nowhk wrote:But man, I've actually found a issue on my project I'm not "dreaming" possible issues.
Nowhk wrote:For the theory of Triggers (even if I need to read with more accuracy the Spogg pdf suggestion) it could fail.
I see. No possible issues, but real ones. Yeah, right. And again ignoring what I said. It's still not you, who does something wrong. You can make nice pictures of things that might or might not happen, so obviously you are right, and all the hundreds of people that deal with the triggers without any issues are certainly wrong. That was irony, in case someone's wondering.
There's a word for this behaviour in the web. It's called trolling.
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Render a View to a Bitmap - Some questions
tulamide wrote:You can make nice pictures of things that might or might not happen
But that might or might not happen? Why instead of debate my way of thinking you can't just help to me to figure this out (or just ignore me)? I've just made an example of an issue that can happen follow your learning (because you said this about Triggers).
tulamide wrote:so obviously you are right, and all the hundreds of people that deal with the triggers without any issues are certainly wrong.
But who said this?
tulamide wrote:There's a word for this behaviour in the web. It's called trolling.
Bah... no words.
- Nowhk
- Posts: 275
- Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:45 pm
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 44 guests