If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
Using Assembler code outside Flowstone
9 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Using Assembler code outside Flowstone
Hi all. If one were to go about recreating a Flowstone plugin in another programming language, say C++, how feasible would it be to copy assembly language code right out of FS to reuse it?
- Perfect Human Interface
- Posts: 643
- Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm
Re: Using Assembler code outside Flowstone
It will be very easy to do this, but there is chance that it woudnt work on x64...
- Youlean
- Posts: 176
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 2:49 pm
Re: Using Assembler code outside Flowstone
Youlean wrote:It will be very easy to do this, but there is chance that it woudnt work on x64...
Do you mean that the assembly code may potentially need to be modified for compatibility?
- Perfect Human Interface
- Posts: 643
- Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm
Re: Using Assembler code outside Flowstone
Assembler is very close to machine language, which means you need different codes for each platform you're exporting to (32bit Windows, 64bit Windows, Mac, Android, etc.)
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Using Assembler code outside Flowstone
tulamide wrote:Assembler is very close to machine language, which means you need different codes for each platform you're exporting to (32bit Windows, 64bit Windows, Mac, Android, etc.)
I see. Are we talking generally just replacing a few bits or a significant rewrite, or impossible to say?
- Perfect Human Interface
- Posts: 643
- Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm
Re: Using Assembler code outside Flowstone
This may be answered by Martin, Exo, Myco and the like.
What I can say is that it the opcodes vary, as well as memory addressing and bit-depth of value types.
What I can say is that it the opcodes vary, as well as memory addressing and bit-depth of value types.
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Using Assembler code outside Flowstone
depending on how you are doing it in c++, i would work with crossplattform enviroment, like juce or WDL, additionally you will maybe use specialized libraries for dsp..
these are optimized frameworks and libraries, so normally you don't need any assembler, all in all it will be easier to rewrite the codes, better to write clean and optimized c++ code then coding around corners to fit in existing assembler code.. anyways when you wrote your plugins in assembler you will have the dsp codes for it too which is really easy to rewrite in c++
these are optimized frameworks and libraries, so normally you don't need any assembler, all in all it will be easier to rewrite the codes, better to write clean and optimized c++ code then coding around corners to fit in existing assembler code.. anyways when you wrote your plugins in assembler you will have the dsp codes for it too which is really easy to rewrite in c++
-
Nubeat7 - Posts: 1347
- Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
- Location: Vienna
Re: Using Assembler code outside Flowstone
Thanks for all the responses!
- Perfect Human Interface
- Posts: 643
- Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm
Re: Using Assembler code outside Flowstone
I would recommend to rewrite your assembler into intrinsics.
This should usually be a very straighforward conversion.
Intrinsics are compiler-specific though.
This should usually be a very straighforward conversion.
Intrinsics are compiler-specific though.
- TheOm
- Posts: 103
- Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 7:35 pm
- Location: Germany
9 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 68 guests