If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
About value inaccuracy
22 posts
• Page 2 of 3 • 1, 2, 3
Re: About value inaccuracy
Oh, I see, the manual says it can only store floats, float arrays or strings. Hm, you could use strings to encode integers. Or use floats that have an exact machine representation so you can convert them to integers. If you can get away with integers in a range 0...127 (as your example seems to indicate) it should be doable.
-
martinvicanek - Posts: 1328
- Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 8:28 pm
Re: About value inaccuracy
example:
@in_float.round(8)
output 100.10212/127.0
(@ins[0].round(8)*127.0).round(5) # >> 100.10212
@in_float.round(8)
output 100.10212/127.0
(@ins[0].round(8)*127.0).round(5) # >> 100.10212
- Tronic
- Posts: 539
- Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 12:59 pm
Re: About value inaccuracy
Divide by 128 instead?
-
martinvicanek - Posts: 1328
- Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 8:28 pm
Re: About value inaccuracy
Hey Martin,
yes, 128 was one of the "low_bit_count"-dividers I used and it worked like a charme. But, as I said, for 128 values that results in a range of 0.0078125 - 1.0.
These normalized float values are used later on, and they need to be in the range 0.0-1.0, and using another normalizing brings up the "too-many-bits-for-single-precision" issue again.
Hey tronic,
I'm not sure if it will work, but I will give it a try!
EDIT: No, it doesn't work. It just leads to certain integer values not recognized at all. They are just left out. For example 32, 47, 49, 58, etc.
yes, 128 was one of the "low_bit_count"-dividers I used and it worked like a charme. But, as I said, for 128 values that results in a range of 0.0078125 - 1.0.
These normalized float values are used later on, and they need to be in the range 0.0-1.0, and using another normalizing brings up the "too-many-bits-for-single-precision" issue again.
Hey tronic,
I'm not sure if it will work, but I will give it a try!
EDIT: No, it doesn't work. It just leads to certain integer values not recognized at all. They are just left out. For example 32, 47, 49, 58, etc.
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: About value inaccuracy
This method allows you to store up to 29bit unsigned integer as a float value in 0-1 range. Values lower than 2^24 will be stored as denormals, so it is a thing to consider. It may not be optimal solution, but it works...
In case you need to store more tan 29bits you have to split them into 29bit segments.
EDIT: the highest value actually isn't 1 but 0.9999999403953552
In case you need to store more tan 29bits you have to split them into 29bit segments.
- Code: Select all
def i_to_f01(n)
a=(n&(2**29-1)).to_s(2)
a.insert(-24,"0")
watch "bin",a+" "+a.length.to_s
a=a.to_i(2)
[a].pack("L").unpack("f")[0]
end
def f01_to_i(n)
a=[n].pack("f").unpack("L")[0]
a=a.to_s(2)
a[-24]=""
a.to_i(2)
end
EDIT: the highest value actually isn't 1 but 0.9999999403953552
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: About value inaccuracy
tulamide wrote:Hey tronic,
I'm not sure if it will work, but I will give it a try!
EDIT: No, it doesn't work. It just leads to certain integer values not recognized at all. They are just left out. For example 32, 47, 49, 58, etc.
my solution not work for you?
- Tronic
- Posts: 539
- Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 12:59 pm
Re: About value inaccuracy
@Tronic
Unfortunately it didn't work. As I described, some integers are simply not calculated.
@KG
That's a very interesting bitpacker. I will see if I can implement it.
@all
Many thanks for all your ideas so far! Don't hesitate to post if you came up with another!
Unfortunately it didn't work. As I described, some integers are simply not calculated.
@KG
That's a very interesting bitpacker. I will see if I can implement it.
@all
Many thanks for all your ideas so far! Don't hesitate to post if you came up with another!
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: About value inaccuracy
tulamide wrote:@Tronic
Unfortunately it didn't work. As I described, some integers are simply not calculated.
mmm
Please, can you show me an not working example?
EDIT: OK, got it, not need anymore, sorry.
- Tronic
- Posts: 539
- Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 12:59 pm
Re: About value inaccuracy
You can just directly store an unsigned integer in the range [0, 1065353216] as a float and it will be between 0.0 and 1.0.
Conveniently, this is also the maximum possible number of values that you can store in a single precision float from 0.0 to 1.0 ((2^7 - 1) * 2^23 + 1).
Here is a ruby implementation for signed(range [-532676608, 532676608]) and unsigned ints:
I have also tested the correctness of this approach for all possible values.
Conveniently, this is also the maximum possible number of values that you can store in a single precision float from 0.0 to 1.0 ((2^7 - 1) * 2^23 + 1).
Here is a ruby implementation for signed(range [-532676608, 532676608]) and unsigned ints:
I have also tested the correctness of this approach for all possible values.
- TheOm
- Posts: 103
- Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 7:35 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: About value inaccuracy
I decided to go with the solution provided by KG and TheOm. It does not fulfill all criteria (the range 0.0-1.0 is fixed to 0-1065353216, but I need a smaller integer range), but at least the integers will keep intact and can be saved via preset, and calculating a new float range from integers is not too cpu heavy and can be done on request.
Thanks for all the help! I hope this also showed the issue and that it is more complex than thought.
Thanks for all the help! I hope this also showed the issue and that it is more complex than thought.
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
22 posts
• Page 2 of 3 • 1, 2, 3
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 66 guests