If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
knob tooltips
Re: knob tooltips
but it would be better if the cursor is not shown while dragging and stays at the same position, so after dragging the label keeps on the same place, i think there were posted some ruby/windows solutions somewhere
-
Nubeat7 - Posts: 1347
- Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
- Location: Vienna
Re: knob tooltips
yes, I have already tried this, but if you drag an release too fast,
sometime you have an annoying flash redraw before it is cleared,
I've tried other solutions, but I think better than that for now it is not possible.
sometime you have an annoying flash redraw before it is cleared,
I've tried other solutions, but I think better than that for now it is not possible.
- Tronic
- Posts: 539
- Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 12:59 pm
Re: knob tooltips
another thing which should be changed are the redrawing conditions in the "isInMousePoint" methode of the label
to this:
if (@erase_rect != (@rect = [x+2,y] + @area)) && @show
it should include the @show bool too, other wise it is permanently redrawing when moving the mouse on the surface..
just fixed it in my last version..
to this:
if (@erase_rect != (@rect = [x+2,y] + @area)) && @show
it should include the @show bool too, other wise it is permanently redrawing when moving the mouse on the surface..
just fixed it in my last version..
-
Nubeat7 - Posts: 1347
- Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
- Location: Vienna
Re: knob tooltips
ok how about that, the curser is hidden while interacting with knobs and holds the position, so also the label stays after interacting
- Attachments
-
- tooltip_hold_pos_while_drag.fsm
- (583.17 KiB) Downloaded 867 times
-
Nubeat7 - Posts: 1347
- Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
- Location: Vienna
Re: knob tooltips
Still not seeing any text being displayed
But I do see the black box ... and the overall response seems better with this latest version NuBeat.
But why no text display ?? is this a 3.04 issue ? [any working substitute]?
thx
But I do see the black box ... and the overall response seems better with this latest version NuBeat.
But why no text display ?? is this a 3.04 issue ? [any working substitute]?
thx
- RJHollins
- Posts: 1571
- Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm
Re: knob tooltips
is the box black, because it should be grey?
maybe it lies in the fact that the string and background brushes for the label are generated in the init methode, try to move it into the draw methode or make a blankline in the init methode to reinitialise...
maybe it lies in the fact that the string and background brushes for the label are generated in the init methode, try to move it into the draw methode or make a blankline in the init methode to reinitialise...
-
Nubeat7 - Posts: 1347
- Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
- Location: Vienna
Re: knob tooltips
great work people! very interesting developments
this was a very busy week for me.
so i now have a lot of catching up to do in the filed of knob tooltips
this was a very busy week for me.
so i now have a lot of catching up to do in the filed of knob tooltips
-
aombk - Posts: 34
- Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 2:44 pm
- Location: athens, greece
Re: knob tooltips
i find it hard to follow these latest changes. the new knob confuses me. also the color and dimension changes in the tooltip and the knob do not get applied, probably because of what Nubeat7 said, that they get generated in the init method.
also in the last two files i noticed that if you get a tooltip to appear and then quickly move the mouse, sometimes, tooltip "leftovers" remain.
but again, my main problem is that this whole thing has gotten quite complicated. i need time to understand what is going on.
also in the last two files i noticed that if you get a tooltip to appear and then quickly move the mouse, sometimes, tooltip "leftovers" remain.
but again, my main problem is that this whole thing has gotten quite complicated. i need time to understand what is going on.
-
aombk - Posts: 34
- Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 2:44 pm
- Location: athens, greece
Re: knob tooltips
aombk wrote:i find it hard to follow these latest changes. the new knob confuses me. also the color and dimension changes in the tooltip and the knob do not get applied, probably because of what Nubeat7 said, that they get generated in the init method.
the knob itself didn't change a lot, the only thing which is new is the hit path,
it creates an ellipse graphicspath so you can use .isVisible in the isInMousePoint methode which avoids the areacalculating there, i simplyfied this a little more for you below.. and there is a connection from the mOver output to the mousemove on input all the rest is the same as before ..
color and dimension of the label itself is easy to change, just change the area array values( i changed thhe name to labelsize for better understanding) which is width and height of the label
the rest is set inside the font properties ...
what you mean with knobs do not get applied? you don't see them when you open the schematic?
btw if you change something in the knob code sometimes you need to recall the rectangles methode that it is shown on the frontpanel, just click on the radius input to do that..
i also commented the code, hope it helps..
about the artefacts which happens sometimes maybe there can be done a whole area redrawing when @show is set to false, this will be not too often and would clear the whole area not only tha last shown label area, while i need to say that this doesn't happen here..
- Attachments
-
- tooltip_hold_pos_while_drag.fsm
- (582.36 KiB) Downloaded 882 times
-
Nubeat7 - Posts: 1347
- Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
- Location: Vienna
Re: knob tooltips
For me to get the tooltip to display values, I had to temporarily bypass
using #
I could immediately see values in the now greyed box.
I then cleared the 2 # from the code. Still worked.
Question ... I'm not finding a way to set knob to DEFAULT with [Cntrl-Click] ... can this be added ?
thx
#create brushes (can be done in the drawmethode too)
@b1 = Brush.new @c1
@b2 = Brush.new @c2
using #
I could immediately see values in the now greyed box.
I then cleared the 2 # from the code. Still worked.
Question ... I'm not finding a way to set knob to DEFAULT with [Cntrl-Click] ... can this be added ?
thx
- RJHollins
- Posts: 1571
- Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 85 guests