Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright

how to get rid of ruby error for nil class on start

For general discussion related FlowStone

how to get rid of ruby error for nil class on start

Postby tester » Sun Jul 24, 2016 10:16 am

On several occasions, my ruby modules have nil inputs when starting, which produces some errors (see on load and when clicking). See on attached example. My question - how to get rid of this problem from within ruby module?
Attachments
rubyerror.fsm
(594 Bytes) Downloaded 869 times
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet

Re: how to get rid of ruby error for nil class on start

Postby adamszabo » Sun Jul 24, 2016 1:23 pm

Maybe connect an afterload trigger there?
adamszabo
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 7:21 am

Re: how to get rid of ruby error for nil class on start

Postby tester » Sun Jul 24, 2016 1:38 pm

It's not the matter of afterload trigger.

What I attached - is an exmple schematic of what happens when such ruby module receives nil value.

What I need, is to avoid such problems from within ruby module/code.
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet

Re: how to get rid of ruby error for nil class on start

Postby Nubeat7 » Sun Jul 24, 2016 1:53 pm

just call methodes when no of the required parameters are nil,
avoid nil values to happen,
or set nils to valid values
User avatar
Nubeat7
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Vienna

Re: how to get rid of ruby error for nil class on start

Postby tulamide » Sun Jul 24, 2016 5:06 pm

What Nubeat says, esp. the last one. NIL informs you that you try to work with a non-existing value. It's an essential tool to avoid errors. So test for nil, before proceeding. Typical examples:

Code: Select all
def mysquare(value)
    return value**2 unless value.nil?
end

def count_existing(value)
    mycounter += 1 if value
end

def accessing_an_input
    return if @ins[0].nil?
    ##safely use first input from here on##
end


Adam has a point though. If you have inputs that can be nil, but you don't want them to be nil (because your code doesn't even recognize nil), you should indeed set them to values after start/duplicating, etc.
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
tulamide
 
Posts: 2714
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
Location: Germany

Re: how to get rid of ruby error for nil class on start

Postby tester » Sun Jul 24, 2016 8:54 pm

Nubeat7 wrote:just call methodes when no of the required parameters are nil,
avoid nil values to happen,
or set nils to valid values


It's not that simple. On several occasions, some things are reset, and nil out with trigger passes through. It's one of these monster-bigbig projects...

Right now I'm using something like this:

--------------------------------
def event(in_id, val)
if in_id == "trigger"

anything else

end
end
--------------------------------

where trigger comes from a separate input.

What I need to add is just something, that detects if inputs are nil - and instead of producing error code - just sends nil (with trigger or without it - passive way) through/to associated outputs.
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet

Re: how to get rid of ruby error for nil class on start

Postby Nubeat7 » Sun Jul 24, 2016 9:55 pm

in general i mostly avoid nil, except for sending some triggersignals to an output...
the handling of nils can be very different, so its not that easy to give an "always working solution"

but mostly its some asking if its nil then react like tulamides examples

but you can also work the other way and only do something if a value is a specific value, so instead of asking for nil you can ask for string or float before doing something

btw. sometimes its also important to make a difference between empty and nil..
User avatar
Nubeat7
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Vienna

Re: how to get rid of ruby error for nil class on start

Postby billv » Mon Jul 25, 2016 10:23 am

Nil errors were always the most annoying part of FSRuby.
To fix this issue in all major Ruby jobs, i came up with this method a few
years ago, to silence any threat from a nil error 'stealth attack'.
Create the following code block after the 'def init' section.

def nil errors
Insert your condoms and devices of protection here
end

Then just write " nil errors " at the start of every code block.

Works great for me.But thats just me, and therefore has no real meaning. :D :lol:

Have a nice day!
billv
 
Posts: 1157
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:34 pm
Location: Australia


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 68 guests