Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright

MIDI IN to knob and OUT

For general discussion related FlowStone

MIDI IN to knob and OUT

Postby RowinGrunder » Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:52 pm

I'm very very new at using Flowstone. Checked some tutorials, read the guide.pdf ten times, tried some but couldnt get further then getting midi out of an knob.

My question is. How can i make an patch with does as follows?

MIDI IN ----- animated knob* ------- MIDI OUT

* = 1) how to make your own knob skin?
2) how to change the input and output value of the knobs (0-127 midi)

Thanks in advance! :)
RowinGrunder
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:48 pm

Re: MIDI IN to knob and OUT

Postby trogluddite » Mon Dec 03, 2012 10:30 pm

Welcome to the forum.

RowinGrunder wrote:1) how to make your own knob skin?

First, the easy way! Download yourself a free little app' called 'KnobMan'. This is an indispensable little tool tailor made for creating the kind of 'animation strips' used by the "Knob - animated" (and a whole load of other GUI app's).
You could also use any other image editor to create a long strip of square 'frames' each showing the knob in a different position - but Knobman really does make it a whole lot easier.
Then simply load this bitmap into the knob from the 'properties' page (click the little 'P' in the corner of the knob GUI). Then set the 'cell size' property to the size of one square "animation frames" from the bitmap strip, and the inner workings of the module will take care of everything else.
There are other ways too - such as taking a simple bitmap and rotating it, or using FlowStone's vector graphics - but those are trickier to program, and don't have ready made modules when you first install FlowStone (worth a forum search though - there are a few examples floating around).

RowinGrunder wrote:2) how to change the input and output value of the knobs (0-127 midi)

The same 'Knob - animated' is already set up to receive MIDI messages (also set up in the 'properties' page of the module). But the MIDI input is 'hidden' by using a wireless link - so you need a wireless transmitter connected to your MIDI input device to send the messages in.

The MIDI output part is easiest done with a couple of extra parts...

1) In the knob properties, set the knob to have a min, max of 0...127
2) Grab yourself a 'MIDI Event' primitive
3) Connect the value '176' to the 'Status' input of the MIDI event - this is the code for "Controller Message"
4) Connect whatever value 1...16 to the channel input to set the MIDI channel to send on.
5) The 'Data1' input takes the number of the controller that you want to send
6) Connect 'Data2' to the knob for setting the controller value.
7) Connect the knob also to the 'Send event' input to tell the primitive when to make a new output. You must connect this AFTER connecting data2, or things will happen in the wrong order when the knob is moved!

A "Changed" module set to use integers, between the knob and 'MIDI Event' will also be useful - it will help to prevent too many MIDI messages being sent out faster than your synth can handle.

Here's all of that put together in a simple example...
MIDI Rx Tx.fsm
(126.22 KiB) Downloaded 1418 times

There are other ways to do this too, for example writing the equivalent of the 'MIDI Event' into the Ruby code of the knob - but the method above is easiest if you want quick results before you get stuck into Ruby programming etc.
All schematics/modules I post are free for all to use - but a credit is always polite!
Don't stagnate, mutate to create!
User avatar
trogluddite
 
Posts: 1730
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 12:46 am
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: MIDI IN to knob and OUT

Postby RowinGrunder » Tue Dec 04, 2012 12:00 am

First of all! Huge thanks for pointing out some interesting idea's, also the fact you're sharing an .fms is great! Thanks. Nevertheless i have a problem? Why do i get to see my midi stuff when using MIDI In --> Split .. but not in your demo?

Image
http://i.imgur.com/6PBQI.png

*update.

Its controlling my Akai APC40 knob but the knob in FlowStone won't turn when i use my APC40 knob.

*update2.

nvm. works. just needed to give input CC16 at 'properties panel' of the Knob - animated object haha. cool.
RowinGrunder
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:48 pm

Re: MIDI IN to knob and OUT

Postby RowinGrunder » Tue Dec 04, 2012 12:29 am

what do i need to make an .vst? the option .exe works, but in the tutorial i saw this.
Image
can u post me the .fsm so that i can use it as a plugin? now i getting used to work with the midi stuff. thanks again!
RowinGrunder
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:48 pm

Re: MIDI IN to knob and OUT

Postby nix » Tue Dec 04, 2012 1:00 am

I think you found the answer with that snippet from the manual.
The VST option will show on a module,
if it has the right ins and outs,
ie. blue audio and MIDI
Welcome!!
User avatar
nix
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am

Re: MIDI IN to knob and OUT

Postby Jay » Tue Dec 04, 2012 1:24 am

Hello Rowan

If it is a midi controller you are making and wish to export it in a vst effect, all you need to do is add two dummy audio outs as well as your midi in\outs!

here is an updated schematic
dummy outs.fsm
(125.61 KiB) Downloaded 1293 times



hope that helps ;)
Jay
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 5:42 pm

Re: MIDI IN to knob and OUT

Postby trogluddite » Tue Dec 04, 2012 9:57 am

RowinGrunder wrote:Why do i get to see my midi stuff when using MIDI In --> Split .. but not in your demo?

Aah, sorry - there is a small bug in the current version of FC that prevents MIDI->text from working just at the moment.I I completely forgot about that because I've just been Beta testing a little patch for it - so it will definitely be fixed in the next release!!
All schematics/modules I post are free for all to use - but a credit is always polite!
Don't stagnate, mutate to create!
User avatar
trogluddite
 
Posts: 1730
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 12:46 am
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: MIDI IN to knob and OUT

Postby skull » Tue Apr 02, 2013 5:00 pm

Hi, I'm new at this too, I want to control a external FX unit with midi commands.
It supports NRPN commands, but I don't know how to make knobs and switchs to send this kind o commands.
I'm reading the manual and trying, but I have no clue, a little help point me on basics will be great!

How I make a button that sends one state when (true) and other when (false)? So I can turn on a button or turn it of.

The knob example is great! I'm trying to understand all yet heheh.

I have to send RNPN messages like this

$B0 $62 $4A
$B0 $63 $03
$B0 $06 $40
$B0 $38 $00

I see that I have to leave at least a tick between each one, too many things and I'm a completely noob! Where to start! I'm a designer and newbie into programming..help ;)
User avatar
skull
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:30 pm

Re: MIDI IN to knob and OUT

Postby nix » Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:24 pm

string switch.fsm
(3.73 KiB) Downloaded 1290 times

Here is a 2 state switch.
You can put whatever text in the text boxes,
and switch between them.
Hope helps, Nick
Welcome to our corner of the internet!
User avatar
nix
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am

Re: MIDI IN to knob and OUT

Postby skull » Wed Apr 03, 2013 1:28 am

Thanks Nix for your reply and welcome!, I'm lost in the part where I take this true'false variable and shoot a trigger to send a midi nrpn message. I saw some examples of nrpn, but I'm too new, I need a switch that triggers a midi CC, but the fx unit I have uses more controllers if I use NRPN.
User avatar
skull
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:30 pm

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 68 guests