If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
A couple of questions on How to do it
12 posts
• Page 1 of 2 • 1, 2
A couple of questions on How to do it
Hello,
I am brand new to Flowstone and I am getting to like it, but like every neophyte I tried learning by doing but did not get very far in accomplishing what I wanted to do. I did go over the tutorials and many of the examples but never really found an answer for both of my question. I am sure that that what I am trying to do is probably very trivial to most on this forum, so here are my questions:
I am trying to make a very simple TCP terminal that sends out ascii commands via a push button and receives data back into a gui text-box
Question#1 My reply data coming back to me has a series of strings formatted using a printf() so the last two bytes are a '\n' and '\r' (new-line and carriage return) but my text-view box does not seem to respond to new-line or carriage returns it just keeps overwriting the new text from left to right on the same place of the text-view box. How do you get to show multiple incoming lines like in a terminal???? I tried many things but nothing works.
Question#2. I need to be able to send via TCP 10 different string commands using 10 different gui buttons, so when I press one button, I send one string command and when I press another button I send another string command,and so on.
The problem is that the TCP module only has a single string input. So I guess I would need to enable 1 of ten strings into one input via 10 buttons.......Have not figured that one out yet!
Any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated!!........Thank you all.
I am brand new to Flowstone and I am getting to like it, but like every neophyte I tried learning by doing but did not get very far in accomplishing what I wanted to do. I did go over the tutorials and many of the examples but never really found an answer for both of my question. I am sure that that what I am trying to do is probably very trivial to most on this forum, so here are my questions:
I am trying to make a very simple TCP terminal that sends out ascii commands via a push button and receives data back into a gui text-box
Question#1 My reply data coming back to me has a series of strings formatted using a printf() so the last two bytes are a '\n' and '\r' (new-line and carriage return) but my text-view box does not seem to respond to new-line or carriage returns it just keeps overwriting the new text from left to right on the same place of the text-view box. How do you get to show multiple incoming lines like in a terminal???? I tried many things but nothing works.
Question#2. I need to be able to send via TCP 10 different string commands using 10 different gui buttons, so when I press one button, I send one string command and when I press another button I send another string command,and so on.
The problem is that the TCP module only has a single string input. So I guess I would need to enable 1 of ten strings into one input via 10 buttons.......Have not figured that one out yet!
Any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated!!........Thank you all.
- cbarberis
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:08 pm
Re: A couple of questions on How to do it
Here is a demonstration how you could do it. There are propably a dozen other ways, but that are the simplest.
- Attachments
-
- cbarberis.fsm
- (4.63 KiB) Downloaded 1115 times
-
MyCo - Posts: 718
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:33 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: A couple of questions on How to do it
Thank You SO MUCH!!!!!
I will try not to take advantage and keep asking for help, but I do have two more questions:
I find it extremely complicated to make a GUI front panel, tried to put borders around objects and background colors, when I tried using background colors they seem to take over the fore ground and hide all my controls on the panel. The other thing I find extremely frustrating that when I use an GUI EDIT BOX when I make an executable and run it it appears that any entries on that edit box go away until I click on another edit box, tried changing the preferences to no avail. Is there a reason as to why guy components don't have frames around them that can be adjusted and be visible when used on an executable? I have uploaded my first program. All I wanted to do was to put a border around all my text boxes and not have my edited text boxes loose their visibility when I click outside of them.
I will try not to take advantage and keep asking for help, but I do have two more questions:
I find it extremely complicated to make a GUI front panel, tried to put borders around objects and background colors, when I tried using background colors they seem to take over the fore ground and hide all my controls on the panel. The other thing I find extremely frustrating that when I use an GUI EDIT BOX when I make an executable and run it it appears that any entries on that edit box go away until I click on another edit box, tried changing the preferences to no avail. Is there a reason as to why guy components don't have frames around them that can be adjusted and be visible when used on an executable? I have uploaded my first program. All I wanted to do was to put a border around all my text boxes and not have my edited text boxes loose their visibility when I click outside of them.
- Attachments
-
- IIO-TCP1.fsm
- My first attempt at something useful
- (31.56 KiB) Downloaded 1016 times
- cbarberis
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:08 pm
Re: A couple of questions on How to do it
Hi there!
Well i thought it was a Ruby error that was causing this weird switching effect with your txt vanishing from the edit boxes so i imported the old edit box from Synthmaker which does not have Ruby into flowstone and it still happens but, if i export the very same setup out of Synthmaker the effect is gone!
i have exported the two exe's so you can see that SM edit Boxes work in an SM export but not from a flowstone exe proving that it is not you it is a bug in flowstone itself
now you can post a msg for the devs and do your first bug report!
hope this helps
Well i thought it was a Ruby error that was causing this weird switching effect with your txt vanishing from the edit boxes so i imported the old edit box from Synthmaker which does not have Ruby into flowstone and it still happens but, if i export the very same setup out of Synthmaker the effect is gone!
i have exported the two exe's so you can see that SM edit Boxes work in an SM export but not from a flowstone exe proving that it is not you it is a bug in flowstone itself
now you can post a msg for the devs and do your first bug report!
hope this helps
- Jay
- Posts: 276
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 5:42 pm
Re: A couple of questions on How to do it
The editbox thing looks weird... can't say anything about it yet. But here is a step by step "optimzation" for your schematic.
1. step: Triggers don't need "or" or "xor". They don't carry any data! You can connect all triggers directly to the final input. In the attached schematic you see, I've removed all of the "or" and "xor" and connected the triggers directly to "send"
1. step: Triggers don't need "or" or "xor". They don't carry any data! You can connect all triggers directly to the final input. In the attached schematic you see, I've removed all of the "or" and "xor" and connected the triggers directly to "send"
- Attachments
-
- IIO-TCP1 (MyCo Step1).fsm
- (31.48 KiB) Downloaded 1024 times
-
MyCo - Posts: 718
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:33 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: A couple of questions on How to do it
2. Step: All green connections are triggered. So if you change something you automatically get a trigger with it (unless you block it). So instead of connecting all triggers to "send" you can connect the string that changes to the send trigger input. But you have to be carefull, the trigger connection has to be made AFTER the string connection. See attachment
- Attachments
-
- IIO-TCP1 (MyCo Step2).fsm
- (31.45 KiB) Downloaded 1050 times
-
MyCo - Posts: 718
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:33 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: A couple of questions on How to do it
3.Step: Make Modules! You don't need to have everything on the top level. Group elements that do the same, to a group (In FS, that are modules). That's how to do it: Select all items you like to group, right click -> Make Module
- Attachments
-
- IIO-TCP1 (MyCo Step3).fsm
- (31.49 KiB) Downloaded 1100 times
-
MyCo - Posts: 718
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:33 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: A couple of questions on How to do it
4.Step: A simple solid background can be made with only a few primitives. I've added it, with unscaled dimensions.
- Attachments
-
- IIO-TCP1 (MyCo Step4).fsm
- (31.56 KiB) Downloaded 1065 times
-
MyCo - Posts: 718
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:33 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: A couple of questions on How to do it
5.Step: Scale the Background. To do that, go to the front panel, when it's selected, click the "lock" icon, to unlock the panel editor, and scale the background image.
- Attachments
-
- IIO-TCP1 (MyCo Step5).fsm
- (31.57 KiB) Downloaded 1079 times
-
MyCo - Posts: 718
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:33 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: A couple of questions on How to do it
6.Step: When the front panel editor is unlocked, right click on the background module and then click "send to back". And inside the module you can select the background module and then click the "two rectangles" icon, to minimize the front panel, so you don't waste space
- Attachments
-
- IIO-TCP1 (MyCo Step6).fsm
- (31.57 KiB) Downloaded 1032 times
-
MyCo - Posts: 718
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:33 pm
- Location: Germany
12 posts
• Page 1 of 2 • 1, 2
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 60 guests