If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
Measuring frame rate/re-draws...
11 posts
• Page 1 of 2 • 1, 2
Measuring frame rate/re-draws...
Hi to all!
Does anyone have a tool or technique for measuring the frame rate (or re-draw rate) of a project in Flowstone or a VST plugin? Preferably for the whole schematic but it would still be helpful if it could be per module with an MGUI.
The reason I ask is that I have a complex project on the go and I’m not happy with the re-draw behaviour. It’s much better in the VSTi export but I’d like it even better.
I’ve read and applied Trogg’s Trigger tutorial info but some actions produce no change that I can perceive, so it would be nice to know the effect of any change more precisely, since every little helps.
Thanks in advance for any advice!
Cheers
Spogg
Does anyone have a tool or technique for measuring the frame rate (or re-draw rate) of a project in Flowstone or a VST plugin? Preferably for the whole schematic but it would still be helpful if it could be per module with an MGUI.
The reason I ask is that I have a complex project on the go and I’m not happy with the re-draw behaviour. It’s much better in the VSTi export but I’d like it even better.
I’ve read and applied Trogg’s Trigger tutorial info but some actions produce no change that I can perceive, so it would be nice to know the effect of any change more precisely, since every little helps.
Thanks in advance for any advice!
Cheers
Spogg
-
Spogg - Posts: 3358
- Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:24 pm
- Location: Birmingham, England
Re: Measuring frame rate/re-draws...
Here's an example for a single RubyEdit. To test it, just activate the view by clicking on it, then move the mouse over it and back out. The rate is shown as fps, but as a peak value. I don't think it makes much sense to use the average over time.
If you want to use it in your RubyEdits, you would need to add everything to them that doesn't exist yet from my example (code and outputs)
Basically, drawing in Flowstone is a triggered event. So, each trigger somehow leading to a module with a view has the potential to trigger a redraw (depending on how the data is used). Counting the draw orders (as in my example) is the only way to exactly tell the number of draws that are occurring.
If you want to use it in your RubyEdits, you would need to add everything to them that doesn't exist yet from my example (code and outputs)
Basically, drawing in Flowstone is a triggered event. So, each trigger somehow leading to a module with a view has the potential to trigger a redraw (depending on how the data is used). Counting the draw orders (as in my example) is the only way to exactly tell the number of draws that are occurring.
- Attachments
-
- rate-redraw-ruby.fsm
- (528 Bytes) Downloaded 879 times
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Measuring frame rate/re-draws...
WOW!!!
Thank you so much for that, really appreciated.
I know I'm pushing it now, but is there a way I could reset the re-draw counter. I would find that useful but not essential.
Thanks again
Spogg
Thank you so much for that, really appreciated.
I know I'm pushing it now, but is there a way I could reset the re-draw counter. I would find that useful but not essential.
Thanks again
Spogg
-
Spogg - Posts: 3358
- Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:24 pm
- Location: Birmingham, England
Re: Measuring frame rate/re-draws...
Here is an advanced module. It is more comfortable (you don't need to copy any code or place any outputs), but it needs you to pay attention how to set it up.
The module shows rate and redraws of whatever view is connected wireless, and a button to reset the redraw count. I have added a knob for you to see it in action. Just turn the knob and the inspector module should react.
The wireless input is named "redraw_inspector". Any wireless output you want to connect must have the same name and the "view" type.
If you use a standard wireless output, remember that it only transfers to inputs on lower layers. In that case the inspector module needs to be at the layer of the wireless output or lower.
If you use a module wireless output, the module itself is "sending" the signal. In that case the inspector module must be on the same layer as the module you want to inspect, or lower.
Just look at how I connected the knob's MGUI to the wireless input of the inspector module as an example.
EDIT: This one should work with everything that outputs a view connection (not just Ruby)
The module shows rate and redraws of whatever view is connected wireless, and a button to reset the redraw count. I have added a knob for you to see it in action. Just turn the knob and the inspector module should react.
The wireless input is named "redraw_inspector". Any wireless output you want to connect must have the same name and the "view" type.
If you use a standard wireless output, remember that it only transfers to inputs on lower layers. In that case the inspector module needs to be at the layer of the wireless output or lower.
If you use a module wireless output, the module itself is "sending" the signal. In that case the inspector module must be on the same layer as the module you want to inspect, or lower.
Just look at how I connected the knob's MGUI to the wireless input of the inspector module as an example.
EDIT: This one should work with everything that outputs a view connection (not just Ruby)
- Attachments
-
- rate-redraw-ruby-v2.fsm
- (255.91 KiB) Downloaded 927 times
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Measuring frame rate/re-draws...
That is absolutely fantastic tulamide
It can record bursts of redraws which I think will be useful for checking out automation and stuff like pitchbend and modwheel overheads too.
This is going to be a useful tool for me, and others I suspect!
I do have a question and please pardon my ignorance on this. When it just sits there it records a redraw rate of 20 and the counter increments accordingly. Is this like a minimum refresh rate that's showing up?
I need to say, that thanks to your previous version, I found the main culprit. For some ungodly reason I'd used a Tick 25 on a redraw prim, instead of drawing when a float value changed.
You made a very old Vulcan very happy today
Cheers!!
Spogg
It can record bursts of redraws which I think will be useful for checking out automation and stuff like pitchbend and modwheel overheads too.
This is going to be a useful tool for me, and others I suspect!
I do have a question and please pardon my ignorance on this. When it just sits there it records a redraw rate of 20 and the counter increments accordingly. Is this like a minimum refresh rate that's showing up?
I need to say, that thanks to your previous version, I found the main culprit. For some ungodly reason I'd used a Tick 25 on a redraw prim, instead of drawing when a float value changed.
You made a very old Vulcan very happy today
Cheers!!
Spogg
-
Spogg - Posts: 3358
- Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:24 pm
- Location: Birmingham, England
Re: Measuring frame rate/re-draws...
No, that sounds like a serious issue. On my pc the rate goes down to 0 as it should when no drawing occurs, and as high as 60 (which is the maximum for green, IIRC) if I'm really fast moving knobs.Spogg wrote:I do have a question and please pardon my ignorance on this. When it just sits there it records a redraw rate of 20 and the counter increments accordingly. Is this like a minimum refresh rate that's showing up?
The module you connected seems to have an issue. Do you have access to 3.0.6? You could test if the inspector works correctly there (I'm on 3.0.6)
That's pretty much the worst case scenario! I'm glad the tool could help you tracking it down!Spogg wrote:I need to say, that thanks to your previous version, I found the main culprit. For some ungodly reason I'd used a Tick 25 on a redraw prim, instead of drawing when a float value changed.
You're welcome!Spogg wrote:You made a very old Vulcan very happy today
And here's the definition of "cool".
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Measuring frame rate/re-draws...
tulamide wrote:The module you connected seems to have an issue. Do you have access to 3.0.6? You could test if the inspector works correctly there (I'm on 3.0.6)
Hey thanks for the picture of my 2nd cousin. Takes me back (actually forwards I guess ).
No I don't have 3.06 but it's an issue with 3.081. I know this because I just tested it with the latest alpha and it works fine. Reads zero with no activity.
So we've uncovered another issue with 3.081 then. I wonder what else is broken...
Many thanks again. You are my hero!
Spogg
-
Spogg - Posts: 3358
- Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:24 pm
- Location: Birmingham, England
Re: Measuring frame rate/re-draws...
This is really cool !
Thanks T
Thanks T
- RJHollins
- Posts: 1571
- Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm
Re: Measuring frame rate/re-draws...
Awesome work - just check my project gui module with 16 pads, 20 buttons, a touch field and a led levelmeter:
detected 3 sources for steady triggering
I had a flasher bool switched by an add prim: this is now correctly replaced with a trigger switch prim
I use v3.081 skylark...
Cheers
Walter
P.S.: Never ever had found this w/o ur tool!
detected 3 sources for steady triggering
I had a flasher bool switched by an add prim: this is now correctly replaced with a trigger switch prim
I use v3.081 skylark...
Cheers
Walter
P.S.: Never ever had found this w/o ur tool!
-
Walter Sommerfeld - Posts: 249
- Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 6:00 pm
- Location: HH - Made in Germany
Re: Measuring frame rate/re-draws...
Great StarTeck
- FlowStoner
- Posts: 24
- Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2017 2:03 pm
11 posts
• Page 1 of 2 • 1, 2
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 41 guests