If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
Bitmap dropdown list ?
26 posts
• Page 2 of 3 • 1, 2, 3
Re: Bitmap dropdown list ?
tulamide wrote:It's actually not that difficult.
The basis is Flowstone's ability to move a view within another view. Just move the "menu" view out of sight, then when the user clicks to open the menu, move it to that coordinates. The code for the menu itself would be much like a listbox, so my Ruby listbox module might be a good starting point:
http://www.dsprobotics.com/support/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=3928
Interesting points tulamide.
I knocked up a quick demo using your excellent Ruby listbox instead of the standard Windows one. Was this the sort of thing you had in mind?
Of course it’s not actually a bitmap-based selector but maybe it could be adapted somehow…?
Cheers
Spogg
- Attachments
-
- listbox selector dev 3 .fsm
- (26.15 KiB) Downloaded 870 times
-
Spogg - Posts: 3358
- Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:24 pm
- Location: Birmingham, England
Re: Bitmap dropdown list ?
Spogg wrote:tulamide wrote:It's actually not that difficult.
The basis is Flowstone's ability to move a view within another view. Just move the "menu" view out of sight, then when the user clicks to open the menu, move it to that coordinates. The code for the menu itself would be much like a listbox, so my Ruby listbox module might be a good starting point:
http://www.dsprobotics.com/support/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=3928
Interesting points tulamide.
I knocked up a quick demo using your excellent Ruby listbox instead of the standard Windows one. Was this the sort of thing you had in mind?
Of course it’s not actually a bitmap-based selector but maybe it could be adapted somehow…?
Cheers
Spogg
Yes, that's exactly what I had in mind. The use of the selector is even better than moving the view, in this case. Regarding Bitmap, I didn't really notice this bit. But if you're working with names (file names, patch names, etc) a bitmap version would be very difficult. Adding a bitmap (for example an icon) to a line in the listbox is not so difficult. Just use the same mechanics as for bitmap knobs (a bitmap strip of possible icons, and an index-based copy of the part of the strip you need), and draw it within the coordinates of the line in question.
I know it isn't much help, but I currently can't do an example.
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Bitmap dropdown list ?
I had something like this in mind , a dropdown with PNg images , just looks so much better.
Let me see if I can hack something together from that example, although my skills are super limited
EDIT: I quickly realize that this is outside my knowledge by far. hehe
I can use the index to switch Png´s and then I make the dropdown in a custom color and font , then this might work.
If I can make the initial selector invisible and just sit on top of the PNG
Sweet
Let me see if I can hack something together from that example, although my skills are super limited
EDIT: I quickly realize that this is outside my knowledge by far. hehe
I can use the index to switch Png´s and then I make the dropdown in a custom color and font , then this might work.
If I can make the initial selector invisible and just sit on top of the PNG
Sweet
-
lalalandsynth - Posts: 600
- Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 12:48 pm
Re: Bitmap dropdown list ?
This could work with a bit of customizing , Thanks Tulamide !!
I am now trying to get rid of the top bar above the list of names so I can place this beneath the PNG and the dropdown list will appear below. is there a line that i can remove to get rid of that ?
Found it, done !
I am now trying to get rid of the top bar above the list of names so I can place this beneath the PNG and the dropdown list will appear below. is there a line that i can remove to get rid of that ?
Found it, done !
-
lalalandsynth - Posts: 600
- Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 12:48 pm
Re: Bitmap dropdown list ?
This is a slight issue , is it possible to modify this so you can close the menu again by hitting the main knob if you dont select anything ? Also , not as important , close it also if the mouse leaves the area of the knob and the menu so you cannot open multiple menus at the same time?
-
lalalandsynth - Posts: 600
- Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 12:48 pm
Re: Bitmap dropdown list ?
Pretty cool , just to to solve the clicking on the png to close the dropdown in case you decide not to change anything.
And the little offset of the light gray banner on top of the fonts when I go to the lowest one.
And the little offset of the light gray banner on top of the fonts when I go to the lowest one.
-
lalalandsynth - Posts: 600
- Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 12:48 pm
Re: Bitmap dropdown list ?
BTW, found out why my little meters will not work most of them time.
The stock " meters " seem to have a faulty ASM Ballistics module.
Replaced with an envelope follower and it works fine.
Well...fine, they dont disappear, feel they miss a few hits here and there.
They do however work Full size with the original module.
DISCLAIMER: I am working on the alpha version.
For now
The stock " meters " seem to have a faulty ASM Ballistics module.
Replaced with an envelope follower and it works fine.
Well...fine, they dont disappear, feel they miss a few hits here and there.
They do however work Full size with the original module.
DISCLAIMER: I am working on the alpha version.
For now
-
lalalandsynth - Posts: 600
- Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 12:48 pm
Re: Bitmap dropdown list ?
Looking really good!
That's made such a difference to your GUI.
Cheers
Spogg
That's made such a difference to your GUI.
Cheers
Spogg
-
Spogg - Posts: 3358
- Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:24 pm
- Location: Birmingham, England
Re: Bitmap dropdown list ?
It feels good to see, that you were able to create it from just a few hints from me and a basic fsm from Spogg. Which should tell you that you are cabable of way more than you trust yourself to do. Remember, you were willing to pay for something you could then create within hours!
So, be more self-confident! Or, as Nike used to say: Just do it!
So, be more self-confident! Or, as Nike used to say: Just do it!
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
26 posts
• Page 2 of 3 • 1, 2, 3
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 75 guests