If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
Logging Data (not by me)
11 posts
• Page 1 of 2 • 1, 2
Logging Data (not by me)
Here's a very good example of using Ruby to log data continuously , many thanks to Carl & support
- Attachments
-
- Ruby Data Logger.fsm
- (6.71 KiB) Downloaded 1429 times
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe."
Albert Einstein
Albert Einstein
-
JB_AU - Posts: 171
- Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 11:01 pm
Re: Logging Data (not by me)
Hi.
Nice logger.
Just one problem with it - when it gets time, its not very accurate. How to fix this data logger so instead of getting real time it just counts from zero in milliseconds?
Thank you
p.s.
I am really lousy on any normal programming languages (including ruby) so that is why I am using FlowStone.
Nice logger.
Just one problem with it - when it gets time, its not very accurate. How to fix this data logger so instead of getting real time it just counts from zero in milliseconds?
Thank you
p.s.
I am really lousy on any normal programming languages (including ruby) so that is why I am using FlowStone.
- GLIC
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 3:00 pm
Re: Logging Data (not by me)
type 'time' into the toolbox mate
does that help?- trigger it at 250hz with Ruby for accuracy,
or whatever for a demo period
does that help?- trigger it at 250hz with Ruby for accuracy,
or whatever for a demo period
-
nix - Posts: 817
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am
Re: Logging Data (not by me)
nix wrote:type 'time' into the toolbox mate
does that help?- trigger it at 250hz with Ruby for accuracy,
or whatever for a demo period
It does not help because Time module as well communicates with Windows and not accurate enough.
I am triggering (pushing data) with actual data received from a Phidgets board at what ever rate it has, so time stamp from Windows is not accurate enough. If from the beginning of log Ruby itself was counting time and stamping it at the rate of data input from Phidgets board it should be fine.
- GLIC
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 3:00 pm
Re: Logging Data (not by me)
here is ruby time->
what do we need to do here- do u have a schematic?
I can try and do the requisite automation, but I don't have the electronics
what do we need to do here- do u have a schematic?
I can try and do the requisite automation, but I don't have the electronics
-
nix - Posts: 817
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am
Re: Logging Data (not by me)
nix wrote:here is ruby time->
what do we need to do here- do u have a schematic?
I can try and do the requisite automation, but I don't have the electronics
Hopefully file attached makes more sense what I am trying to achieve.
If to compare time signature from 1st column (generated by Ruby get time) to 2nd column (generated by Ruby tick) obvious that there is some kind of latency fluctuation.
3rd column is just generated random number to represent data coming from sensor.
So how to modify data loggers Ruby code in order to replace 1st column with just a simple timer. I don`t trust external module to represent time for this task, because seems like there is some kind of delay issue between modules.
And its looks like Ruby is eating more resources than something built with primitive modules.
- Attachments
-
- Ruby Data Logger mod.fsm
- modified example
- (141.82 KiB) Downloaded 1087 times
- GLIC
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 3:00 pm
Re: Logging Data (not by me)
The question is, why do you think you need a timer/counter/etc running totally unrelated to the phidget prim? That's not the way to log data from Phidget prims. They are green prims, which means, they are event based. They pass a value as soon as the phidget hardware sends it. So just store them in a buffer in RAM (for example as a string). You can then regularly save the buffer to a file, without working on milliseconds. For example, the file could be stored once each minute. That's also less stressfull for your computer.
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Logging Data (not by me)
tulamide wrote:The question is, why do you think you need a timer/counter/etc running totally unrelated to the phidget prim? That's not the way to log data from Phidget prims. They are green prims, which means, they are event based. They pass a value as soon as the phidget hardware sends it. So just store them in a buffer in RAM (for example as a string). You can then regularly save the buffer to a file, without working on milliseconds. For example, the file could be stored once each minute. That's also less stressfull for your computer.
So how I will know time of event happened without timestamping it? If I running experiment, I need to know exact time (in miliseconds) when event did happened so I can compare experiments results after. Its pointless for me to have data points without timeline.
- GLIC
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 3:00 pm
Re: Logging Data (not by me)
GLIC wrote:tulamide wrote:The question is, why do you think you need a timer/counter/etc running totally unrelated to the phidget prim? That's not the way to log data from Phidget prims. They are green prims, which means, they are event based. They pass a value as soon as the phidget hardware sends it. So just store them in a buffer in RAM (for example as a string). You can then regularly save the buffer to a file, without working on milliseconds. For example, the file could be stored once each minute. That's also less stressfull for your computer.
So how I will know time of event happened without timestamping it? If I running experiment, I need to know exact time (in miliseconds) when event did happened so I can compare experiments results after. Its pointless for me to have data points without timeline.
If you mean the exact time, when the hardware did something, the answer is never. No matter the preciseness of a timing system. This is due to the event system used.
If you mean the exact time, when Flowstone passes a new value, that's done easy by triggering the time prim. That's the internal system clock, down to milliseconds precisely. You won't get any more precise than that.
A bit more info:
Green isn't time based. It's event based. So there is no timing at all.
Ruby runs at 100 Hz. You get a time value only precise to each 10ms.
Blue runs at sample rate (for example 44100 Hz), but the input/output is buffered (often times to 10ms or more), so it won't be more precise than Ruby for your specific application.
The system clock runs on a quartz and is the most precise timing measurement you can get. At request it will pass the exact time (unbuffered).
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
11 posts
• Page 1 of 2 • 1, 2
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests