If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
send data beween applications
19 posts
• Page 1 of 2 • 1, 2
send data beween applications
Hi guys i was wondering if there is a good way of passing a string between 2 FlowStone applications or dll's
what i want to do is send a file address from one .exe to another and have it load the referenced file into a wave/mp3 player!
possible? Ruby?
thanks! - Jay
what i want to do is send a file address from one .exe to another and have it load the referenced file into a wave/mp3 player!
possible? Ruby?
thanks! - Jay
- Jay
- Posts: 276
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 5:42 pm
Re: send data beween applications
The simple way I would try is via some local text file (one exe saves data, second exe reads them).
But would be interesting to see two apps communicating directly (p2p) via internet.
But would be interesting to see two apps communicating directly (p2p) via internet.
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
- tester
- Posts: 1786
- Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
- Location: Poland, internet
Re: send data beween applications
It can be done with network client <-> server communication. The problem with this solution is: the local IP Address of the computer has to be known. On most systems you could use localhost or 127.0.0.1 as IP, but somehow this doesn't work on my Win8 machine.
- Attachments
-
- program communication (MyCo).fsm
- (32.73 KiB) Downloaded 964 times
-
MyCo - Posts: 718
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:33 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: send data beween applications
Works here, thanks.
Stupid question - both IP's (sender receiver) on your FS are the same? (I needed to change).
No blocking via firewall? (my XP asked if keep blocked or unlock).
Stupid question - both IP's (sender receiver) on your FS are the same? (I needed to change).
No blocking via firewall? (my XP asked if keep blocked or unlock).
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
- tester
- Posts: 1786
- Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
- Location: Poland, internet
Re: send data beween applications
tester wrote:Stupid question - both IP's (sender receiver) on your FS are the same? (I needed to change).
Yes, because these are external IP-Adresses of the PC. In my case, it's the IP address, that my router gave my PC by DHCP.
tester wrote:No blocking via firewall? (my XP asked if keep blocked or unlock).
It's a standard network communication. A Firewall may ask, because the Server is Server (waits for incomming connections)
-
MyCo - Posts: 718
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:33 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: send data beween applications
This is a great question, and an area that I'll be looking into down the line.
Thanks MyCo ... I'll check out your post. This could be a very handy programming technique for
an app I've been thinking about!
Thanks MyCo ... I'll check out your post. This could be a very handy programming technique for
an app I've been thinking about!
- RJHollins
- Posts: 1571
- Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm
Re: send data beween applications
Okay, it's nothing I worked in the past with, so forgive me the questions.
If there are separate computers, and transitory webpage - how to make two apps communicate with each other on p2p basis? From what I understand, running app would have to send it's ip to the webpage (how to arrange that?), and another running app would have to receive that ip via the same webpage (how to arrange that?), and then they could communicate like in example above (limitations? something to pay attention to?). I wonder if anyone tried to make it.
Another option that would be interesting for me, is to use skype for getting ip. I think.
If there are separate computers, and transitory webpage - how to make two apps communicate with each other on p2p basis? From what I understand, running app would have to send it's ip to the webpage (how to arrange that?), and another running app would have to receive that ip via the same webpage (how to arrange that?), and then they could communicate like in example above (limitations? something to pay attention to?). I wonder if anyone tried to make it.
Another option that would be interesting for me, is to use skype for getting ip. I think.
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
- tester
- Posts: 1786
- Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
- Location: Poland, internet
Re: send data beween applications
MyCo wrote:It can be done with network client <-> server communication. The problem with this solution is: the local IP Address of the computer has to be known. On most systems you could use localhost or 127.0.0.1 as IP, but somehow this doesn't work on my Win8 machine.
@MyCo
you can use the broadcast IP 255.255.255.255, on client side, it should work.
obvious use it in udp, it spreads the data across the network, on all the ip, so to speak,
but on the specified port, the server recognizes that will use them.
-
digitalwhitebyte - Posts: 106
- Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:20 am
Re: send data beween applications
Yeah broadcast just works with UDP, the problem with UDP is, it's a "send and forget" protocoll. So no matter what you send out, you'll never know if someone even received something.
-
MyCo - Posts: 718
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:33 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: send data beween applications
MyCo wrote:Yeah broadcast just works with UDP, the problem with UDP is, it's a "send and forget" protocoll. So no matter what you send out, you'll never know if someone even received something.
Can't this be made in both directions with schematic based roger-over confirmation?
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
- tester
- Posts: 1786
- Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
- Location: Poland, internet
19 posts
• Page 1 of 2 • 1, 2
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 56 guests