If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
Time limits for demo's
47 posts
• Page 1 of 5 • 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Time limits for demo's
Hey guys, ive been thinking of some limitations, like the one already in FS for VST demo's. I want to create a time limit for a program of mine. So you know the ones "30 day trial" ect.
I know I can do this in Ruby
but this can easily be bypassed by changing the windows time. Its too easy if you get what I mean.
Has anyone here successfully done something like this? Dont get me wrong I dont want it to be FULL proof but a little more than just changing the system time/date . . .
I know I can do this in Ruby
- Code: Select all
now = Time.now
but this can easily be bypassed by changing the windows time. Its too easy if you get what I mean.
Has anyone here successfully done something like this? Dont get me wrong I dont want it to be FULL proof but a little more than just changing the system time/date . . .
- Drnkhobo
- Posts: 312
- Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 7:13 pm
- Location: ZA
Re: Time limits for demo's
Slow ramp/slide.
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
- tester
- Posts: 1786
- Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
- Location: Poland, internet
Re: Time limits for demo's
i like the ramp idea , could be used for just working 10 minutes after loading a plugin or starting an exe..
-
Nubeat7 - Posts: 1347
- Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
- Location: Vienna
Re: Time limits for demo's
Couple questions ...
Is the 'ramp' timer 'additive' ? In other-words, if an time threshold is set ... will each successive runs continue incrementing until the final [max] time is reached?
2nd ... and possible limitation, when the DEMO times out, if the app is replaced with a new or archived version, won't the ramp time start fresh ?
Thanks for any insight.
Is the 'ramp' timer 'additive' ? In other-words, if an time threshold is set ... will each successive runs continue incrementing until the final [max] time is reached?
2nd ... and possible limitation, when the DEMO times out, if the app is replaced with a new or archived version, won't the ramp time start fresh ?
Thanks for any insight.
- RJHollins
- Posts: 1571
- Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm
Re: Time limits for demo's
1. Set ramp (either via stream using code, oscillator or de-zipper, or via green using slide prim or timer or windows time calculations).
2. First time threshold reached - triggers switch, that turns off the whole application/output (one trigger switch, bo go back).
The ramp will start from zero each time you start the app, but what nasty is - you need to start the app over and over again.
Among other solutions, you can give some voice-over (built in loop wave), that is added to sound output. Or you can build a distractor, similar to one that is added in demo mode for VST.
2. First time threshold reached - triggers switch, that turns off the whole application/output (one trigger switch, bo go back).
The ramp will start from zero each time you start the app, but what nasty is - you need to start the app over and over again.
Among other solutions, you can give some voice-over (built in loop wave), that is added to sound output. Or you can build a distractor, similar to one that is added in demo mode for VST.
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
- tester
- Posts: 1786
- Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
- Location: Poland, internet
Re: Time limits for demo's
just a NOP assembly operator to elude this protection.
don't waste your time in simply protection, use your time to make better and better code.
don't waste your time in simply protection, use your time to make better and better code.
- Tronic
- Posts: 539
- Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 12:59 pm
Re: Time limits for demo's
Tronic wrote:just a NOP assembly operator to elude this protection.
don't waste your time in simply protection, use your time to make better and better code.
So your suggesting that if that single operator is replaced with a NOP command ...
Then, when the app is then run to test the crack, we should initiate a 'format drive' command ?
You may be right ... that is better code.
In the meantime, it would be nice to offer a similar 'demo' function that, some, 99% of all software gets released as. A way for a potential buyer to audition, and if they want, to purchase a full working version.
- RJHollins
- Posts: 1571
- Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm
Re: Time limits for demo's
RJ - I don't understand something. Observing what you were creating in last months (and how you were approaching SM/FS boards), this one should be very easy for you to make on your own, in literally no-time. Make an example for us, so we can point you - what and how you can improve it. I encourage you that you enliven your own flow of creativity. Perhaps, first of all - define your strategy, to what degree you wish to be intrusive in limiting your demo, and then follow these assumptions step by step.
My advice - do something simple, and forget about complex solutions; not worth of your time. If your buyers are crackers, then you are in no positions to dictate rules. If your buyers are regular users, then they will encounter the limitation and decide to buy, because "this is what regular people do".
Additionally - you can disable (remove, hide or modify) the preset manager from saving or loading external presets. If there are many tabs and options - good enough for me.
My advice - do something simple, and forget about complex solutions; not worth of your time. If your buyers are crackers, then you are in no positions to dictate rules. If your buyers are regular users, then they will encounter the limitation and decide to buy, because "this is what regular people do".
Additionally - you can disable (remove, hide or modify) the preset manager from saving or loading external presets. If there are many tabs and options - good enough for me.
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
- tester
- Posts: 1786
- Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
- Location: Poland, internet
Re: Time limits for demo's
...
- Attachments
-
- RJ.fsm
- (479 Bytes) Downloaded 939 times
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
- tester
- Posts: 1786
- Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
- Location: Poland, internet
Re: Time limits for demo's
Thanks for the replies !!
I dunno about this whole topic now
It seems that if there is a way (and there IS) people will get past it.
I suppose its down to the individual & how much time you want to put into it.
I dunno about this whole topic now
It seems that if there is a way (and there IS) people will get past it.
I suppose its down to the individual & how much time you want to put into it.
- Drnkhobo
- Posts: 312
- Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 7:13 pm
- Location: ZA
47 posts
• Page 1 of 5 • 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 91 guests