If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
How to compile Ruby from source on Windows for FS3
Re: How to compile Ruby from source on Windows for FS3
DWB.. What changed? I am feeling a little lazy today..
- VPDannyMan
- Posts: 118
- Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 4:50 am
Re: How to compile Ruby from source on Windows for FS3
see the UPDATE section
-
digitalwhitebyte - Posts: 106
- Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:20 am
Re: How to compile Ruby from source on Windows for FS3
thx DWB for the guide.
- Tronic
- Posts: 539
- Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 12:59 pm
Re: How to compile Ruby from source on Windows for FS3
Thanks DWB...
- VPDannyMan
- Posts: 118
- Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 4:50 am
Re: How to compile Ruby from source on Windows for FS3
Hi guys
Im trying to follow the tutorial and build the ruby source but i am running into the wall when getting to the make part could someone take a look and tell me in which idiotic way I am doing things wrong? ive never done this before!
Thanks
Im trying to follow the tutorial and build the ruby source but i am running into the wall when getting to the make part could someone take a look and tell me in which idiotic way I am doing things wrong? ive never done this before!
Thanks
- Jay
- Posts: 276
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 5:42 pm
Re: How to compile Ruby from source on Windows for FS3
== Build examples
* Build on the ruby source directory.
ex.)
ruby source directory: C:\ruby
build directory: C:\ruby
install directory: C:\usr\local
C:
cd \ruby
win32\configure --prefix=/usr/local
nmake
nmake test
nmake install
* Build on the ruby source directory.
ex.)
ruby source directory: C:\ruby
build directory: C:\ruby
install directory: C:\usr\local
C:
cd \ruby
win32\configure --prefix=/usr/local
nmake
nmake test
nmake install
-
digitalwhitebyte - Posts: 106
- Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:20 am
Re: How to compile Ruby from source on Windows for FS3
@Support, I'm just checking in to see if there has been any progress on fixing the "Ruby copying itself every time you run a plug" flaw..
Did you manage to get it statically linked instead of the DLL being copied?
Thank you
Did you manage to get it statically linked instead of the DLL being copied?
Thank you
- VPDannyMan
- Posts: 118
- Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 4:50 am
Re: How to compile Ruby from source on Windows for FS3
embedding ruby statically, could give difficulties in supporting external libraries.
I think instead we should adopt a system that let the user the ability to embed his version of ruby interpreter,
and and its external libraries, when you export a vst or an exe.
When you launch it will extract the folder chosen by the user to contain the whole file.
surely, others will say that they do not want to have files other than the exe or vst,
but seen as external libraries give way to expand the operation of ruby,
it is almost a choice, forced to have a system as explained above,
otherwise you are always limited and only to a ruby maimed.
and especially have the ability to perform loops and infinite cycle without colliding with the FS thread.
I think instead we should adopt a system that let the user the ability to embed his version of ruby interpreter,
and and its external libraries, when you export a vst or an exe.
When you launch it will extract the folder chosen by the user to contain the whole file.
surely, others will say that they do not want to have files other than the exe or vst,
but seen as external libraries give way to expand the operation of ruby,
it is almost a choice, forced to have a system as explained above,
otherwise you are always limited and only to a ruby maimed.
and especially have the ability to perform loops and infinite cycle without colliding with the FS thread.
-
digitalwhitebyte - Posts: 106
- Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:20 am
Re: How to compile Ruby from source on Windows for FS3
Yeah, but in that case can't we just have it so that we install it? The user would then just have to install your plug and that's the way it is. No more single DLL distribution. I am not a fan (at all) of having the plug copy the Ruby DLL every time it is ran. Even though, there is nothing malicious going on, that technique does not sit right with some users and potentially even virus scanners may find it kind of funny that a program copies a DLL file. A data file or even a graphics file I can understand, but copying a DLL, since its an executable is different..
Anyways DWB, I thought initially that you could include your own DLL as well, that made sense to me, I didn't realize it was hard coded into the app. If this copying has to continue, then at least you should be able to copy the DLL to your own custom folder, and calls to it should be made directly. However, I don't think ruby will allow that?
Its a bit of a mess really because the options are so limited on which way Malc can go.
Anyways DWB, I thought initially that you could include your own DLL as well, that made sense to me, I didn't realize it was hard coded into the app. If this copying has to continue, then at least you should be able to copy the DLL to your own custom folder, and calls to it should be made directly. However, I don't think ruby will allow that?
Its a bit of a mess really because the options are so limited on which way Malc can go.
- VPDannyMan
- Posts: 118
- Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 4:50 am
Re: How to compile Ruby from source on Windows for FS3
the ruby interpreter DLL can be installed anywhere, the important thing to run it
is to pass it the exact paths of where to find the various libraries that will use.
The only attention is to choose appropriate folders depending on the system in use,
For this reason Malc chose to copy the ruby interpreter, in the folder
C: \ Users \ [UserName] \ AppData \ Roaming
with regard to the safety ruby is compiled with its manifest file,
then the antivirus and the system will check if it is safe,
all the more as with any program that uses special resources
the user will have a message of elevation of privileges to perform .
But again, the important things are how to give the user the possibility to embed also its libraries,
and export them into its own folder, if not already present, in the same way as it does now for the ruby library.
I have already made something similar, but of course, for now it is an experiment work around.
you would think that by now the only app that installs are almost never a single file,
and step required is to expand the SSE instruction, I think it's time.
otherwise the real developers will never be lured by playing with FS.
But my words are only of personal discomfort
is to pass it the exact paths of where to find the various libraries that will use.
The only attention is to choose appropriate folders depending on the system in use,
For this reason Malc chose to copy the ruby interpreter, in the folder
C: \ Users \ [UserName] \ AppData \ Roaming
with regard to the safety ruby is compiled with its manifest file,
then the antivirus and the system will check if it is safe,
all the more as with any program that uses special resources
the user will have a message of elevation of privileges to perform .
But again, the important things are how to give the user the possibility to embed also its libraries,
and export them into its own folder, if not already present, in the same way as it does now for the ruby library.
I have already made something similar, but of course, for now it is an experiment work around.
you would think that by now the only app that installs are almost never a single file,
and step required is to expand the SSE instruction, I think it's time.
otherwise the real developers will never be lured by playing with FS.
But my words are only of personal discomfort
-
digitalwhitebyte - Posts: 106
- Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:20 am
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 68 guests