If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
need help with smooth draw for sequencer
7 posts
• Page 1 of 1
need help with smooth draw for sequencer
you all know the stock steplfo sequencer and the cool smooth curve..
so i adapted this a while ago into ruby but only with the bars but no smooth curve so i use the old one for this...
but i also want to do the smooth in ruby specially because the original is using a ramp, a float array to poly and an analyzer lot of stuff which is using audiostream cpu power, sadly i couldnt find a solution and i have no idea if it is possible and how..
i just could get a nice curve on the values but got lost on smoothing the spikes...
any help on that would be appreciated
thanks
so i adapted this a while ago into ruby but only with the bars but no smooth curve so i use the old one for this...
but i also want to do the smooth in ruby specially because the original is using a ramp, a float array to poly and an analyzer lot of stuff which is using audiostream cpu power, sadly i couldnt find a solution and i have no idea if it is possible and how..
i just could get a nice curve on the values but got lost on smoothing the spikes...
any help on that would be appreciated
thanks
- Attachments
-
- smooth draw.fsm
- (46.25 KiB) Downloaded 904 times
-
Nubeat7 - Posts: 1347
- Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
- Location: Vienna
Re: need help with smooth draw for sequencer
What about reversing the order on the beziers one?
-looks pretty close, it just smoothing in the wrong direction.
IMO you could keep trying, I think you will get the bezier.
edit-sorry for confusing things,
the behaviour was different from what I remembered.
So- it's very close. Will keep playing.
btw- the curves you have drawn are very cool,
swapping out values makes them do all sorts of interesting things.
edit2- One argument for using the stream to draw,
is that it is the same operation as is applied on the audio.
edit3- Here is a mod on the beziers->
Will try and implement optional 2 point steps now, instead of points.
-looks pretty close, it just smoothing in the wrong direction.
IMO you could keep trying, I think you will get the bezier.
edit-sorry for confusing things,
the behaviour was different from what I remembered.
So- it's very close. Will keep playing.
btw- the curves you have drawn are very cool,
swapping out values makes them do all sorts of interesting things.
edit2- One argument for using the stream to draw,
is that it is the same operation as is applied on the audio.
edit3- Here is a mod on the beziers->
Will try and implement optional 2 point steps now, instead of points.
-
nix - Posts: 817
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am
Re: need help with smooth draw for sequencer
thanks nix, brought me a big step further, here is a direct comparsion of the stock and the actual ruby version with better bezierdrawing
it pretty close on smooth factors till 0.8
it pretty close on smooth factors till 0.8
- Attachments
-
- smooth draw_beziers hack1.fsm
- (44.9 KiB) Downloaded 931 times
-
Nubeat7 - Posts: 1347
- Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
- Location: Vienna
Re: need help with smooth draw for sequencer
nix wrote:edit2- One argument for using the stream to draw,
is that it is the same operation as is applied on the audio.
so i took the smooth methode and used it for the array and look here, it works
thanks for putting me in the right direction!
- Attachments
-
- smooth_draw_beziers_working.fsm
- (45.42 KiB) Downloaded 910 times
-
Nubeat7 - Posts: 1347
- Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
- Location: Vienna
Re: need help with smooth draw for sequencer
That's beautiful NB!
Will integrate in Entrancer.
I was applying your optims,
and ran into an issue with envelopes/voice management.
So I have fixed that,
it made the sequencer screwy and wouldn't release one voice.
Back to emplacing the optims,
this one is a gem IMO.
Will send a pm in the next couple of days,
but what I have in mind is ASMing the stock envelope.
I can try learn,
but do yous want one?
That's neat you used the function in Ruby,
that filter works equally well as a Ruby codebox
TY!
Will integrate in Entrancer.
I was applying your optims,
and ran into an issue with envelopes/voice management.
So I have fixed that,
it made the sequencer screwy and wouldn't release one voice.
Back to emplacing the optims,
this one is a gem IMO.
Will send a pm in the next couple of days,
but what I have in mind is ASMing the stock envelope.
I can try learn,
but do yous want one?
That's neat you used the function in Ruby,
that filter works equally well as a Ruby codebox
TY!
-
nix - Posts: 817
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am
Re: need help with smooth draw for sequencer
thanks nix,
hope you can fix the envelope issue..
here is the final version of the steplfo including bars and smoothcurve (and fading colors )
i also filled the smoothed area with color..
the 2 types "positive" and "positive/negativ", like you know it from the stock one, are available too
the only thing missing are the value steps (stepsV)
hope you can fix the envelope issue..
here is the final version of the steplfo including bars and smoothcurve (and fading colors )
i also filled the smoothed area with color..
the 2 types "positive" and "positive/negativ", like you know it from the stock one, are available too
the only thing missing are the value steps (stepsV)
- Attachments
-
- stepseq_with_smooth.fsm
- (38.73 KiB) Downloaded 1007 times
-
Nubeat7 - Posts: 1347
- Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
- Location: Vienna
Re: need help with smooth draw for sequencer
Here is just the drawing- without the mouse controls.
This is the component I have replaced in my synth,
I use a method with no loop to draw the bars,
and mouse controls are in there.
The looped bars were crashing frequently,
but I am happy enough with them now.
Thanks very much NB,
The envelopes issue is dealt with but I had to ditch the Assembly version.
-
nix - Posts: 817
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am
7 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 70 guests